We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Close to John Hopkins University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hotel Close to John Hopkins University”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is located right across the street from John Hopkins athletic stadium. The hotel doesn't have much which makes it special. There are only bus connections to the downtown area. Beyond the restaurant in the lobby, the closest food is about 4-5 blocks away. Other than that the hotel gives you a nice place to sleep but you can hear things in the hallway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    238
    179
    78
    30
See reviews for
406
118
92
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Heating/cooling problems- room would not warm up beyond 66 degrees. Staff called an Engineer on staff who replaced the filter and overrode the thermostat settings- fixing the problem as much as was possible (without being able to redirect air away from sleeping area). Dim lighting. Cookies are not an enticement to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-a-bit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel room is clean but dated. Bathroom was small. Bed not very comfortable. It is convenient to Johns Hopkins. Nothing special about this hotel. Front desk staff was pleasant.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in Baltimore. Although it is not very near the Inner Harbor, it is near Charles Village and almost on Johns Hopkins Homewood campus. As a frequent traveler, I appreciate good customer service and the Colonnade offers just that. Alvin greets you at your car with a smile, helps with your luggage and sees you to the front desk where staff standouts like Sheryl and Terrell see that you have accommodations to suit your needs and preferences. All topped by the famous Doubletree warm chocolate cookie!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just13me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We needed a hotel near Johns Hopkins, and didn't want to spend a lot since we were just spending a night. We walked in and were very impressed by the beautiful lobby. Our room was larger than a typical hotel room, and CLEAN! We had a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant. The staff couldn't have been nicer. This hotel is a fantastic value. We will definitely stay again if we are in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and your business. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to having you a guest again. Please feel free to contact me directly or any of my staff for any future needs. Thanks again.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I don't usually choose Doubletree but a colleague I was traveling with recommended it and I was very pleasantly surprised. Everyone from the bellman who welcomed me when I pulled into the driveway to the waitress at breakfast the next morning was pleasant. The room was comfortable and sparkling clean. Overall quite a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acouplefoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I am so pleased you were able to experience the Doubletree hospitality as our guest here at the Colonnade. We also hope this will be the beginning of many future vists to the Colonnade and I hope you are a member of Hilton Honors. Thanks again.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandeville,la
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very old but very elegant hotel. We stayed in the Loyola suite. Big,comfortable and elegant. Great balcony . We ate in the restaurant for dinner. Very Nice. Breakfast (continental ) seemed skimpy. Not many choices. Overall,a very pleasant stay. Close to Universities .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your response and your business. I assure you, your comments are read and shared will all departments, Thanks again.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#28 of 66 in Baltimore
557 reviews
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Hotel Brexton
#26 of 66 in Baltimore
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Property: Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Address: 4 W University Pkwy, Baltimore, MD 21218-2387
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing