We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find located directly across from the Johns Hopkins University campus.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

A real find located directly across from the Johns Hopkins University campus. You would expect to pay much more for a hotel of this quality. Staff is friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Our room was large and comfortable Toiletries are from Crabtree and Evelyn. We had asked for a blanket instead of a comforter when we made our reservations, and it was already made up on the bed when we checked in. We had a tasty and generous brunch at the club like atmosphere Alizee hotel restaurant. We'll stay there again whenever we visit Baltimore.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maconnais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

Two blocks from the hand center. Great place. Clean, easy to get to. great service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ting B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Johns Hopkins University invited a guest to one of our seminars. When our guest became ill overnight, the Inn at The Colonnade did everything imaginable to make this guests' stay as pleasant as possible given the circumstances. Chasity Michailov was outstanding! We tip our hat to you Chasity! Top notch service and people and I recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brogo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Colonnade and we had a wonderful experience there. The room was very nice and spacious and looked like it had been recently renovated. The hotel was also very clean and maintained well. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The location was also very convenient and close to many attractions. The hotel restaurant was also excellent and the food was wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherisiple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Recently stayed at the Colonnade. I must say I was extremely impressed with the staff and overall appearance of the hotel. It is obvious that the employees put their customer first and they take every opportunity to ensure your stay is the best it can be!! First rate!!The rooms look like they have been recently renovated. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I will start by saying that I see a lot of effort from employees at this property and this is mostly the saving grace. Room was little worn down, but acceptable. Main issue is this property is not polished, there appears to be a slightly lax method of maintenance which the owners/managers have determined is best overcome by "great costumer service" from what I can tell. Ok, fine...but funny how people dont think about that when the property runs like a well oiled machine. THis one doesnt. To be fair, this is only a 3* hotel, but that should only be reflected in the amenities, not the subtle feel that there is a little neglect in upkeep and "polished" nature of the property.

Here is some examples:
1) walking in, there was a janitor spraying plants next to the elevator with some kinda chemical shine spray....didn stop as I walked by. Kept spraying as I walked through a cloud of who knows what. Who does that? Next time, look behind you and spray when there is no one within 50 feet of the elevator...or do it at night.
2) tub drain plug...took 5 minutes to get to stay closed both times I used tub. These little details should be checked. Also, electric lock was erratic.
3) BIG ONE: $160 per night for a room and I am watching a $1000 HIGH DEFINITION flat screen tv with an ANALOG signal. AN ANALOG SIGNAL? Why? Many of the lower channel numbers were clouded with snow. Unacceptable. Spend some money on digital and HD channels.
4) BIG ONE: A loud trash truck was operating for at least 5 minutes right outside my room at THREE IN THE MORNING. Woke both me and my GF up and we watched the truck from our window, laughing and shaking our heads. WHO DOES THAT OR ALLOWS THAT AT A HOTEL? Seriously.
5) Pool was out of commission. Apparently closed permanently? I asked the front desk upon arrival what was going on and commented that a good portion of the reason we chose the location was the pool WHICH HAD PICTURES ON THE WEBSITE AND IS LISTED AS AN AMENITY. This is false advertising. Unacceptable that this isnt immediately noted on the website the day the pool is closed.
6) Gym: The elliptic trainer was broken. Nice...but didnt surprise me. Called front desk and kinda got a disinterested "ok".

Bottom line is this: I stayed here 4 nights from Jan 16th and was lucky enough to pay $70 a night becuase I KNEW going in which hotel it was via Hotwire. But even at that discounted rate, I still chose this hotel. Overall, ok, its satisfactory, maybe deserves slightly more than a "poor" rating, but if I had paid $100 more a night (which is about the cheapest you will see at the normal rate) I would have left with a pretty sour taste in my mouth. To many little things need to be addressed. As is it, it was functional and a place to sleep, but little more. Management needs to stop saying "sorry" to people who have complaints (plenty on here) and make it so the complaints are actually reduced.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moogmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Recently spent two nights at the Colonnade when I dropped off my son at Johns Hopkins. Excellent location, right next to the athletic facilities of the Homewood Campus of Johns Hopkins University across the street.
Comfortable rooms, very helpful friendly front desk personnel and the General Manager, Stephen Nyitrai was, was extremely helpful and considerate in straightening out a messed up reservation and relating charges. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaminggirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#25 of 67 in Baltimore
636 reviews
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Address: 4 W University Pkwy, Baltimore, MD 21218-2387
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $122 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing