We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed here mid-August to help our daughter move into the dorms at Johns Hopkins. Arrived late (midnight-ish), quick check-in. Went to our room on the second floor--smelled VERY strongly of cigarette smoke, in the hallway & room. Asked to have our room changed, I'm sensitive to the smoke. The (I'm sure they don't call them bellhops anymore, but I don't know what they do call them) guy went down to get our new room key while we chilled for a sec & ate our cookies. Second room, on the third floor was better, but still seemed a little smoky. Otherwise room was fine, clean, lots of towels. Staff was always helpful & seemed cheery.

For those who didn't find restaurants nearby (besides the fast foodish, student type things)--there's a pretty good Italian restaurant on W 39th St, about a block away in an apartment building. Maybe a little dressy, but very friendly, and generous portions.

In retrospect I'm not sure if the cigarette smoke was due to previous patrons smoking in the room. The hallways always seemed a little smoky to me (but I'm pretty sensitive to it); I wonder if there's a heavy smoker in the condos/apts above, or if workers were smoking near the air vents somewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepeanddizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

Checking in was friendly, fast and easy. The room was absolutely beautiful. They have a wonderful restaurant on the first floor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Oh, where to start with this hotel!! First off, we checked in very late, near to midnight. The check in process was quick and the valet was exceedingly helpful. Then, the problems began. As soon as we stepped into the elevator, we were hit with an overwhelming stench of marijuana. It followed us up to the third floor, and down at least 2 hallways! Horrible! When asked about it, the valet just said they should be charged a $250.00 fee for smoking in the room. ?????? Our 6 year old kept saying how bad the place smelled. We finally escape the smell down the hall our room was in, which was a relief. Had it not been so late, we'd likely have left.

We enter the room. Hubby and valet unload the luggage cart, the rest of us (me, 6 year old son, 2 year old daughter) kicked off our shoes. The carpet was wet. We asked the valet about it, he said perhaps the tub overflowed. We said, what if it was the toilet that overflowed? Called the front desk, was told they had no idea about it. So, we needed another room...who knows what was on that floor and our kids would be playing on it.

Off to another room. We had paid for a one bedroom suite. The new room was just a regular room. Not to mention next door to some extremely loud people, who I suspect was the source of the marijuana smell. Completely unacceptable.

Off to room number 3 on the night. Same thing, not the suite we paid for. Explained to the valet that we paid for a bedroom, and we wanted a bedroom. OK, hang on, I'll be back.

Off to room number 4. SAME THING! Not what we paid for. Finally call the front desk, and got the manager on duty. Upon a suggestion from my husband, he upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite at no additional cost for our trouble. We asked that it be away from the partying, and informed him of the smell in the hotel, and he just said he was aware, but there was nothing he could do. Really, nothing? He said he'd put us on the other side of the hotel. Since it was late, again, we decided to stay.

New room, room number FIVE on the night, was a nice room, more than we paid for, we finally settled in and got the kids off to bed. It was a late night for all of us.

8AM our phone rings. The general manager wanted to talk about what happened the night before. So, it was after 1AM when we finally got into our room. I appreciate that he wanted to see if we were OK with everything, but you know what time we checked in....call a little later!!! I was very tired and not overly pleasant to him, I must say. Told him to call back later, but he never did.

We were spending several days here, on our way to Ocean City, taking the kids to the zoo and the aquarium. Most of the staff was very helpful. Then, the night before we left, we encountered the life guard. I have never seen a life guard in a hotel before. Ever. It's an indoor pool. We go to swim and are informed that there is no swimming for half an hour due to thunder. Thunder???? What in the world does that have to do with anything, especially inside. Then she said she misspoke and meant lightning. Again, it's an indoor pool! Outside weather does not affect it. There are large doors, that are always open to the outside, but close them! Hello!! Said she was just following the rules. We called the front desk, who said it was OK to swim. Life guard still refused to allow it. Kids are getting upset. She asks us to wait 5 minutes. Whatever.

Finally, we get in the pool. Life guard sits her rear down, never takes her eyes off her computer, and has ear phones in. It is lightning the entire time we are in the pool, which we do not call her attention to. She pays zero attention to any of us. The spas are behind frosted glass. If someone had an issue back there, she would never possibly know about it. I watched her the entire time we were in there and she never once looked up.

We get out of the pool, and I ask her why she didn't close the pool for the lightning. She was like a deer in headlights, had no idea it was lightning, which was the reason she didn't let us swim when we first arrived. She admitted she did not know. Then went on to say she was completely uncomfortable guarding children and didn't even want us there in the first place. Umm, who needs guarding the most?? Children!!! Her job is completely unneccessary, and she just added to our overall dim view of this hotel.

Bottom line, there are far better places to stay in Baltimore and we will not be back to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1blessedmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We reserved 2 rooms for 4 people - one room was OK to good and one was deeply flawed.

To start with the good room - everything worked except the TV remote control was broken.

The bad room had a broken air conditioner compressor so the A/c was horriibly loud. The Hotel moved us to another room but this room had a broken smoke detector so again was horribly loud and the hotel had to move us a third time. In the 3rd room it was quiet enough for us to sleep but the TV was completely not operational.

Breakfast the next morning was a catastrophe as well for two of us. We asked for no peppers in the 2 of the 4 omlets and no hash browns / potatoes on the side in 2 of the 4 servings. Guess what the omlets came with peppers and there were potatoes. On top of the forgetful service there was a large black hair on top of one omlet - not very appetising.

Staff on duty were polite but showed no sense of suprise or shock that 2 rooms in a row were uninhabitable and two TVs were not functional in a normal way. Breakfast received an appolgy but no profound sense of failure. They acted as if this was business as usual.

Only when I asked to talk to the manager the next morning did the Hotel offer any sort of appology or compensation. The manager seemed shocked and described the situation as anything that could go wrong did go wrong for one of the two rooms. He rebated us appropriately for that room.

So the moral of the story is do not act complacent at this hotel if it is not in correct order.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed again at the Colonnade Doubletree and were not disappointed. The hotel is still very quiet and upscale. It's located right across from Johns Hopkins, which was convenient for us since we were visiting. It's not near a ton of restaurants (just Ruby Tuesday's we saw), but that wasn't a big deal for us. We were coming from Richmond, VA and this was a good stop about 1/2 way home and to tour the area some more. Valet parking was very easy and car retrieval was faster than most hotels we've stayed at. Check in was prompt, but Josh, who checked us in, was not very thorough and didn't do a great job. He didn't give us the cookies (uh hello, it's a Doubletree!) and on our breakfast coupon for being HHonors Gold, he didn't write "for 3 people". Luckily, we came back down stairs and a very nice young lady gave us cookies, wrote 3 breakfasts on the coupon (good thing because it would've been a problem) and apologized for the inconvenience. Not a big deal though. The room was renovated since we stayed two years ago and it was very comfortable for the one night. I wouldn't say it was 100% spotless (loudspeaker very rusty, for e.g.) but very clean. Walls aren't the thickest here, but we had no trouble sleeping at all. The bathroom was very nice and had a separate toilet and shower area which was cool. Instead of hanging a cheap-o paper sign for "do not disturb" and "please clean room", outside every room beneath the room #, it displays these messages based on what button you push inside your room, which was cool! Every room even has a doorbell! The breakfast for HHonors Gold is continental only which was just fine. Bagels, english muffins, croissants, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, and cereal were the choices which was just fine for us. Hot items cost money on top of continental and were not cheap so we passed. Valet parking was $24 which seemed like a lot, but this is a downtown hotel. Overall, a very good stay at the Colonnade, maybe not quite as good as last time, but I wouldn't hesitate to choose this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizards119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Nothing went right, from check in to the toilet, and shower, several attempts to correct issues needed. Have to say it showed no sign of being a Hilton hotel. Room smelled like mold too. Some days are just like this, but most hotels try a little harder to remedy their nightmares!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Recently purchased and used a living social deal-great bargain.Never been to Baltimore,but enjoyed the hotel and fine staff .Front desk were extremely attentive.Food great in the hotel restraurant.Only problem was the coffeepot in room not working.Entire staff very pleasany,bed very comfortable-shower enjoyable.Pool times different than advertised,but no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxchasePhila_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#27 of 67 in Baltimore
651 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#14 of 67 in Baltimore
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Address: 4 W University Pkwy, Baltimore, MD 21218-2387
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $101 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing