We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent curry and Tom Yum soup”
Review of Thai Elephant Wok

Thai Elephant Wok
Order Online
OR
Order Online
Ranked #294 of 2,271 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $5 - $17
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 2, 2018

This was the perfect spot for a warm Tom Yum soup and green curry on a cold and windy night. The restaurant itself is nothing fancy--quite basic really. It doesn't hold a lot of people.

There's a pretty extensive Thai menu with lots of the standards: Pad Thai, Tom Yum, curries. Given that it was a new place I went with the tried and true: Tom Yum and a green curry. I've been to Thailand many times and the soup was just like one might have in Bangkok. It was aromatic and full of Tom Yum flavor The broth was delicious.

The green curry was packed with good stuff: eggplant, lemongrass, basil, chicken, coconut milk. Lots of basil flavor. My only recommendation: it could have been spicier.

Overall: above average Thai food!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Originally came here with low expectations, but back again today. The first time, I was pleasantly surprised. Back again for duck curry, my new favorite.

Restaurant was empty, server was pleasant. No complaints.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank D-Poq81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

This is a tiny restaurant in a very old brick building. It is not very clean, but ok. They have a lot of choices on their menu, prices are comparably high. Some of the food wasn't hot and we got food at different times. The food was good (red curry) to mediocre (chicken satay that was cold and had a flavor of chlorine).

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank AW334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

The food here was quite tasty and service friendly. It was a bit slow during peak hours so plan ahead.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Z7974VWsarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016

The location is less than ideal, but I just happened to be staying at a hotel just a block away. I've had a lot of Thai food, and this restaurant is pretty authentic.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Elephant Wok also viewed

 

Been to Thai Elephant Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing