We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brunch with interesting dishes, tasty varied ingredients and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodberry Kitchen

Woodberry Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Woodberry Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union Avenue
Transit: We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.
Description: Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future. Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Brunch with interesting dishes, tasty varied ingredients and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The interior is a converted warehouse space with high ceilings. The welcome and service seemed genuinely friendly and efficient. The menu shows thought has gone into combinations. Flat bread (basically pizza) with maple sausage meat, potato, egg and caramelised onion was well balanced, well cooked and just plain tasty - much better than it reads or looks. Farm beans were slow cooked in an iron dish with various goodies, marinated spring cabbage and cheese cornbread. For dessert steamed chocolate brownie was actually coulant textured but tasty.

A gripe is that crab was the only seafood option for brunch and the desserts lacked any dishes that held back on sugar eg. an offering based on fruit. While this may be typical, their efforts to source ingredients generated expectations. For drink I ordered a glass of cider and the cocktail glass portion for $10 is a rip off - I did query that the portion was correct. Unfortunate as there are some interesting wines and beers listed at fair prices. At least I'll know next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    233
    102
    40
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Farm to Table with Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This restaurant is truly a hidden gem in Baltimore. Reservations are definitely required, but worth the wait. The entire restaurant runs like a well oiled machine and dining there is truly an experience. We've been to both dinner and brunch and both are outstanding. The concept of the owner is farm to table, so the menu changes daily depending on what's available. This results in impeccably fresh and local ingredients. What sets the Wooberry Kitchen apart is what the chefs do with those ingredients.The only word that fits is superb preparation. Start to finish, every meal is a culinary experience. The staff is friendly but never intrusive. Even the coffee is an experience, thanks to the expertise and attention of the Barrista and her team. I highly recommend this restaurant for a unique and memorable dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fishboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had dinner at Woodberry Kitchen with a colleague while at a conference in Baltimore. A few native Baltimoreans raved about this spot, and they were right on the money. My entire experience there was great -- from the food and service, to the atmosphere and decor.

HIGHLIGHTS:
- Crab cake (done in wood-fired oven; only offered in-season) w/ roasted seasonal veg
- Maple ice cream
- Ingredients = organic, local, sustainable

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pgully3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

It is always a pleasure to dine here, whether it be w/ a reservation (you need one, well in advance) or simply at the bar, impromptu. The food is nearly always incredible: fresh, comforting, straight from the farm. The staff is friendly and not too overbearing. The ambiance is very comfortable but...well, loud - as is such the trend these days in new restaurants with tall ceilings and wood floors. But that's just a small part of a usually wonderful experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely place, terrific food, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife has some food allergies and we called ahead to be certain if they could accommodate her. They said yes and when we arrived, our reservation had been flagged and the waitress inquired about her special food needs. The small bread sampler was quite good and the butter properly soft (I hate places where the butter is straight from the fridge and is like a yellow ice cube to try and spread.. We both had a steak dish so there is not much to say except the meat was spectacularly tasty and exquisitely tender. The associated vegetables were very tasty, altho they could have been warmer. Presentation was superb.
My Irish coffee was superbly presented; the coffee in a French press and separate whiskey, bourbon cream (like Baileys's), brown sugar and whipped cream - the best in my recollection.
The only down note was my wife's dessert - tasteless pumpkin ice cream was bad tasting chocolate sauce. The waitress offered to replace it with any other ice cream.
Service was truly top notch; the waitress was attentive, very helpful and personally charming.
(She was also quite beautiful which didn't hurt the ambiance at all)

We'd return in a minute, but skip the desserts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodberry Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Woodberry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing