We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner for four”
Review of Woodberry Kitchen

Woodberry Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Woodberry Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 2,035 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union Avenue
Transit: We are conveniently located at the Woodberry light rail stop. Just exit the light rail and walk up Clipper Park Road and find us on the right hand side.
Description: Woodberry Kitchen relies on longstanding relationships with the growers of the Chesapeake to provide the ingredients that nourish and delight our guests. At our table, you join us in supporting sustainable agriculture that respects the abundance and traditions of the region while helping to ensure its future. Housed in a renovated 1870s foundry nestled in historic Clipper Mill, Woodberry Kitchen offers a warm, rustic setting featuring an open kitchen and patio seating during the summer season. Owners Spike and Amy Gjerde are committed to providing our guests with exceptional service and fare, earning Woodberry Kitchen recognition by Bon Appetit, The New York Times, and Gourmet. Come join us, whether for a snack along with local wine or beer at the bar; an impromptu supper with friends; or a private celebratory feast in one of our dining rooms.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dinner for four”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It took us 2 weeks to get a reservation but it was worth it. Service was great and food was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    245
    115
    42
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quirky location, outstanding meal!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were near the Woodberry Kitchen to look at an antique table in a warehouse nearby. We practically stumbled over this restaurant. Service was outstanding and the food was fresh, imaginative and largely organic. Foodies in the area should definitely make the pilgrimage to this unusual adn interesting neighborhood for a spectacular meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Celebration With Friends”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I recently made a reservation for a large group of friends to dine at Woodberry Kitchen. I had not been in a few years and it was as good as I remembered. When we arrived, we were greeted by the beautiful fall flowers and decorations on the patio. We were pretty early and none of our party had arrived yet so we sat on a bench by the outdoor fireplace on the patio and had a drink. What a pleasant space!

When it came time for our meal, everything was excellent as usual! Everyone in our party was happy. The service was attentive and the food was amazing. I finally tried the CMP for dessert and it was great! A few in our party were celebrating special occasions - birthday, anniversary, etc. I had let them know ahead of time. They brought out a plate with ice cream and a cookie and on the plate written in chocolate was "Happy Birthday XXX" or whatever was appropriate to what they were celebrating. Nice touch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustMe985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Delicious food served by candlelight- steak was so juicy and it was served with creamy mashed cauliflower.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for Burnch”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have now been to Woodberry Kitchen twice for brunch. Once with just my husband, and once with my husband and parents. Both times were great experiences. My mom is a picky eater and she loved their burger. Just this past Sunday my husband and I went. We shared an apple fritter (which was very good, but came out just warm and was definitely not "fried to order" like the waiter said). I had the breakfast pizza with potato, cheddar cheese, sausage, picked peppers and an egg. It was excellent- good, wood-fired crust. My husband had the blood sausage, which he really enjoyed. It came with mashed sweet potatoes and felt there could have been more of them. Fortunately my pizza was too big for me to finish so he had a lot of my crust.

Service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodberry Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Woodberry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing