We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish Delight”
Review of Cazbar

Cazbar
Reserve with OpenTable
Cazbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 2,048 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Saratoga Street
Description: The Cazbar is Baltimore’s first and only Turkish Restaurant located at the heart of the Historic Charles Street District. We feature authentic Turkish cuisine in a warm and inviting atmosphere. We are open daily for Lunch and Dinner. Join us on Friday or Saturday nights for our exotic Belly Dancing shows and our new lounge. In addition, we have two very unique and beautiful banquet rooms that can accommodate an intimate dinner for 2 or a gathering for 100. If you’re in the mood for something light, visit us at our Kebap House in Columbia, Maryland. For corporate, residential, or hotel catering, please contact me at chef@cazbarbaltimore.com I invite you to join us for a unique dining experience at the Cazbar. -Haluk Kantar Chef / Owner
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This might be a small place but it packs a wallop gastronomically . It was like visiting one of the restaurants in downtown Istanbul: the food was as authentic as it was delightful. For dinner, the appetizers were excellent; the entrees were better. The lamb dishes we had were cooked perfectly. Despite the fact that they were very busy on a Saturday night, we were not rushed in any way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    95
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE me some Cazbar”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Sultan Platter (small for 2 people, large for 4 people) is an absolute bargain at $65 (small). The mixed Meze plate includes babaganoush, hummus, and a few other cold Turkish mezzes that are fresh and delicious; the bread they provide to eat these with is also very good. Then the main course comes with the works – lamb, beef, salmon, kofte (minced lamb), and shrimp. The rice they give is some of the best rice I’ve ever had, and the portions are very generous. You’re almost guaranteed to have leftovers to take home. And for dessert you get rice pudding. Seriously, for about $32.50 per person, I challenge you to find a better deal for the quality and quantity of food in a large metro area. I love it here. The service is also excellent. The servers/waiters are generally younger (early 20s) and are attentive, friendly, and courteous (you don’t have to go very far to find people that age that don’t care about their job). Absolutely wonderful experience. I’ve been 3 times in 2 months and will be back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wish we had known about the belly dancing...”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Yup, on the weekends they have belly dancing! Unfortunately we missed out on the show but fortunately we didn't miss out on the food! Our waitress was awesome and made excellent recommendations since it was everyone's first time having Turkish food. The Sultan's Feast is a perfect first time meal to share and try a little bit of everything. We'll definitely be back again and next time we'll make sure to take part in the belly dancing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IAmTSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expected it to be good. Exceeded expectations.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I loved this place. We ordered a variety of hot and cold mezze (small plates), and everything was delicious! Portions were bigger than I expected from small plates, making this a good value as well. Service was excellent, and the atmosphere was fun and casual, but not loud. If I lived in the area, I would definitely be a regular.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twin_Cities_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great food, excellent service,
I grew up in Europe and I am familiar with Turkish food. The dishes were pretty authentic. My boyfriend is extremely picky but he liked all the dishes he tried. We will be back soon with family.
The service was very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valerievoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cazbar also viewed

 

Been to Cazbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing