We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Thin Crust Pizza”

Joe Squared Pizza & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Squared Pizza & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 2,007 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Thin Crust Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Joe Squared was a surprise. It didnt look like much, but not in a genuine way. I figured it was a contrived look because of its location in the Power Plant Live! area (a gathering of bars/clubs in the Inner Harbor area). I also figured the food would be just as contrived, commercial frozen dough with bland flavor. I was happily wrong.
True to its name, all of the pizzas are square. Its made with an extremely thin crust over a charcoal flame. At first, the charcoal taste was a little off putting, imparting a slightly unpleasant smokey flavor. As the pizza cooled though, the taste grew on my wife and and and we ended up satisfied. The atmosphere was casual and the service very good. Overall, the food was very good.
Definitely hit this place up for a late night snack while bar hopping at the Power Plant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pickyeater973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    60
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average pizza for an average price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This review is actually for Joe Squared Pizza II. It is located by the Port Discovery Children's Museum.

The restaurant is small on the inside and doesn't have much space. We walked over from the Children' Museum for lunch and had a 16" pizza with pepperoni. The service was fine and timely. I was excited by how thin the crust was on the pizza. Then I was disappointed to find that it had a charred, blackened flavor from the charcoal pizza oven. I wouldn't have minded the charred flavor had the crust been crispy, but it wasn't. I've had much better pizza. Overall, if you need a quick lunch and you are at the Children's Museum, this will work for you and not break the bank. I just hope there is a seat for you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aolejer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My fiance and I were going to a concert at Rams Head to see a concert, so we decided to grab a bite to eat and a few drinks. I recommended Joe Squared since it was right in walking distance, and after reading all of the hype reviews, I thought we would love it!!
We walk in, the place is pretty small and there is really no place to stand to be seated.
We wait about 10 minutes to be seated, takes about 10 more minutes for someone to take our drink order. We both had beers and they were priced very nice!! We ordered the Sesame Garlic Wings for an app. They were very good! We also ordered the Hawaiin Pizza. When our pizza arrived, it looked delicious. It was loaded with fresh ingredients, unfortunately it looked alot better than it tasted. It was slightly cold.The fresh cilantro was overbearing, very little sauce and cheese. I was very disappointed. We then decided to order a bowl of soup to share instead. We ordered the bacon and corn chowder. It was tasty and had a great flavor.
Now......The service..ughhh..our waitress was not with it. We had to ask for the check three times, I almost felt like she didn't want us to pay!!! Overall, It was okay...We may be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ang413777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great pizza, nice variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice thin crust pizza. Lots of options. Cheap dinner for the inner harbor area. Service better than average and a good beer selection too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stopped in while hanging out in Baltimore and I would say it is worth the trip the food was great had a little bit of everything while there. The beer was cheap and cold so for that it is worth the visit. Finally the staff was very nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Squared Pizza & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Joe Squared Pizza & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing