We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Chef.”
Review of Jack's Bistro

Jack's Bistro
Ranked #103 of 2,047 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canton
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Thank you Chef.”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I like to find good food when I travel. Something different. Something to challenge me a bit. Jack’s did all that. Get there early to find a seat at the bar because by 6pm it was packed… on a Wednesday! The first thing they get right is half priced wine bottles before 6pm. Can I take the unused portion home? Of course we’ll cork it for you! A good deal on wine became a steal at half price. The same offer extended to other drinks and they had some crazy concoctions available from the talented mixoligist.
My appetizer of muscles, lemon grass, jalapenos, fish sauce and shallots was a spicy contrast in flavors. I’ve never had anything quite like it and I enjoyed it immensely. The main course was Malaysian Laksa which include shrimp, chicken, noodles, boiled egg and cilantro in a wonderfully savory sauce. Quite filling and delightfully intriguing taste combinations. I kept trying the broth to understand its complexity because it was good enough to stand on its own. A large portion and I could not finish it all.
Finally, I have this completely arbitrary classification for fine dining and that is if they carry Madeira. Many place carry port as an after drink but that does not quite tickle my fancy as a nice Madeira. Of course it was on the menu and an already fine experience just transcended into a higher plane.
Sure it’s a neighborhood bar with a restaurant but the whole experience is everything I look for in a culinary adventure. At only $58 for my bottle of wine, appetizer and main course I would have paid twice that. Thank you Chef for introducing me to new flavors and dishes. I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank energydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    27
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food to Die For”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Jack's Bistro looks like a dive from the street, but the food is beyond wonderful. I had the sous vide duck, and it was delicious. My guest had perfectly-cooked fish. The sauces were so good. Desserts are not their thing, so go to the neighborhood gelato joint afterwards.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Birthday meal!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Small but seated right away in prime time (6:45 Saturday night), parking was available 2 blocks away on the street and our waiter assured us we would be ok (and he was correct). Quick service considering they were packed and the food was very good. Side of brussels sprouts were extremely appetizing and the crabcake was completely crab! (not used to that in PA!). Great value and we would absolutely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Good”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

First, try the homemade tonic! Second, try the Meat and grits appetizer and/or the chocolate mac and cheese! Both really really delicious! We arrived early, got a table right away, servers were awesome!!! We come to Baltimore every year and will definitely be back!

Helpful?
3 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, md
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Funky atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Four of us ate at Jack's before going to a movie at Harbor East. You can only make reservations for parties of 5 or more, so I was a bit worried since Jack's is pretty small. But at just a bit before 6pm on a Saturday we were able to get seated immediately. There is a good deal of street parking nearby.

I was the designated driver, but everyone else had the phenomenal sangria, which had nutmeg and other spices in it. We had a variety of dishes, which were all good but the menu changes rapidly. I had grilled kale salad and a spicy Mediterranean shrimp disk both excellent. One had the Bistro crab cake which was nothing special. The others had various appetizers, including a smoked tomato, some kind of cheesy grits and the baked oysters - all great.

The service is friendly, funny and fast - all in all one of the top places we've been to in Baltimore and definitely at the top of the list in Fells Point/Canton.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jpescatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing