We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
NewJersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine for Overnight Stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My daughter and I recently spent 1 night at this hotel. We were traveling to look at colleges in the area. We booked this particular hotel because of the pool (we thought it would give her a nice place to relax after touring schools). Unfortunately, the pool was closed for renovations during our stay. I can't blame the hotel for that, it was just a disappointment. I should have called to verify. So instead we took the hotel free shuttle to the inner harbor. Shawn our driver was so nice and friendly. We chatted all the way to the harbor and he made some suggestions as to what we might like to see. He was very knowledgeable about the area. We really appreciated his info. He is an asset to the hotel!
The hotel itself is right off the highway near a truck car wash and the back of a McDonald's. The view from our room was the back of either row houses or apartments. We kept the curtains closed while we were there. When we first arrived and were going to our room on the 9th floor we noticed a very bad smell in the hallway (almost like a dirty diaper). The smell was there when we came back in the evening but was gone in the morning after the cleaning crew came through. Maybe it just was something that needed to be cleaned or thrown away. Fortunately, there was no odor in our room. The room itself was average but clean.. The staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was the usual....sausage patties, scrambled eggs, waffles, toast, juice, yogurt, fruit. Again, the woman working the breakfast area was very nice and friendly.
When we first pulled in my daughter was not thrilled with the area, too industrial for her but, the staff made up for it and our stay was enjoyable. By the way, I met the manager in the elevator and he was also friendly and asked about my stay. I told him we were disappointed about the pool and he seemed genuinely sorry that it was closed during our visit but that they have to renovate it every 4 years. I felt that he really cares about his guests and hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetCampbell, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize for your daughter's disappointment when the pool was closed for maintenance, but I'm happy to hear that Shawn made up for it with his excellent customer service.
The unpleasant odor on your floor was caused by a clogged drain on the ice machine and our maintenance staff took care of it as soon as it was reported.
Our guests are our number one priority, so it's nice to hear when everyone from our shuttle driver to our restaurant waitress to our General Manager showed you how much we care. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    353
    179
    101
    99
See reviews for
403
262
51
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mineral, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel because of the value, the indoor pool, and the free shuttle to the inner harbor. My family (my husband and two young daughters). Upon arrival, I wasn't impressed with the staff at the front desk. They weren't rude but not overly friendly either. Most hotels the front desk staff is friendly and inviting. Once we got to our room, we turned the tv on so the kids could unwind while we got settled in. The picture was fuzzy. I looked at the back of the tv and saw the cable was falling apart. I called the front desk and a worker came within minutes. He brought a new cable and got us up and running within minutes. He was super friendly and very nice!
The pool is nice and the kids loved it! The lifeguards are laughable. Both times we were the lifeguards on duty spent the time chatting on their cell phones and walking around. Seems like a waste of money to pay them to chat away. My husband found something gross floating in the water but of course the lifeguard was too busy chatting to assist us. We had to take care of it ourselves.On our last day there we went down in the morning to swim one last time and were upset to discover the pool was closed due to some sort of maintance being done on the pool. We didn't see anyone working on the pool so that was puzzling. We were very disappointed since this was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel.

Overall, I would say this is a good value for the money. The free shuttle service is great. The driver was friendly and nice. The hotel restaurant is descent for hotel food. The food isn't awesome but isn't terrible either. The service is good enjoyed the wait staff. The free breakfast is good. Again, it isn't awesome but it wasn't awful either. We all were able to fill our tummys without spending extra money on breakfast. The room itself was clean and overall nice. The beds were pretty comfortable. If we ever travel to Baltimore again I would consider this hotel because of the overall value. Look around for best western coupon codes online, I was able to find one to get an even better rate when I booked directly through the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetCampbell, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value our guests' opinions and take them very seriously.
I'm sorry the Front Desk staff did not extend a warm welcome when you arrived. This issue has been addressed with the Front Desk Manager and he will share your review with them. We have also looked into the lack of response from the lifeguards and their cell phone usage while on duty.
Unfortunately, the pool maintenance is necessary for the comfort and safety of our guests; we apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.
We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

While the hotel's location may not be in the most attractive area, the hotel provides good service, good food, and comfortable accommodation. Good value too.
Used the hotel shuttle (free) to take a trip to Inner Harbor, and I must commend the lady driver for her friendly and flexible service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetCampbell, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It means so much when a guest takes the time to share his thoughts of his experience with us. Social networking is now used by many people when planning a trip, so we appreciate your "good" thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PASADENA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I recently attended a Red Hat convention at the Best Western. I would like to compliment the hotel staff for their friendly, polite and helpful manner of helping hotel visitors. The show at Toby's was excellent. Even if you want to attend the show you can also do that. We were involved in decorating a ballroom for an evening event and several times the staff came to our rescue and got us the necessary equipment we needed and made helpful suggestions for anything else we needed. They removed our decorations in the late night hour so that we didn't have to stay up to the wee hours doing it. The food was excellent at all of our event lunches/dinners and also in the Tradewinds Restaurant. The one thing that I like about the Best Western that is when you attend an event there you can leave your car and you don't have to return to it until you are ready to leave the event. Every thing is available to you at the hotel. You can stay here and visit many attractions in the Baltimore surrounding area too. , The handicapped rooms were spacious and easy to get around in as several of our ladies with special needs were comfortable. Having our convention there next year and looking forward to it already.

Room Tip: For the past few years we have gone to this convention, we have been pleased with the accomodations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetCampbell, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It's always nice when a guest points out the other side of our business which is Banquets and Catering. From the dishwasher to our Food & Beverage Director, they all work hard to provide the guest with a great meal and excellent service. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with guests who might be considering our hotel. We look forward to seeing you for next year's Red Hat Mardi Gras event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here while on business in Baltimore. The hotel is very easy to get to from the airport and not too far from the inner harbor/downtown though the surroundings are a little rough. The hotel has a dinner theater and a restaurant as well as an attached bar. The restaurant was having their weekly live jazz night when I checked in and while I didn't stay for food the entertainment was definitely great. The rooms are a little dated, looks like there was a partial reno done some time in the recent past. TVs are old CRTs with poor picture quality and the tub leaked throughout my stay but the unit was otherwise clean. Beds were fairly firm but not uncomfortable, good pillows and blankets. Given how inexpensive the stay was I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetCampbell, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We find that a lot of business travelers appreciate the convenience of our location right off I-95 and the fact that we offer free parking. Although the recession did slow down our renovations, we are getting back on track and the TV's in all sleeping rooms will be replaced by the end of the year. Our "Jazz-z Tuesday" has been a big hit with our hotel guests, so we appreciate you pointing out how much you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town on business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed overnight before leaving on a cruise out of Baltimore. The hotel is very nice and the staff was very accomodating. The hotel management did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible including arranging transportation to and from the port.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a place to stay close to the cruise port this is it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetCampbell, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We appreciate it when guests take a few minutes to write a review. We also like to think we offer the best deal for guests cruising out of Baltimore so "Thank You" for sharing your opinion on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5625 O'Donnell Street, Baltimore, MD 21224-4630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#35 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel & Conference Center is conveniently located off I-95 with plenty of free parking. We offer a complimentary scheduled shuttle to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore Convention Center and Johns Hopkins Hospitals. As seating is limited, guests are required to sign-up for this service at the Front Desk. Room amenities include a microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ironing board and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hotel Baltimore
Best Western Plus Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Hotel Baltimore
Best Western Baltimore
Baltimore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing