We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1840s Carrollton Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Carrollton for 3 nights just this past week. I cannot say enough about the beautiful accommodations, the incredible staff and the wonderful breakfasts! The inn is ideally located near the city's many attractions. The attention to details are amazing. Annette and Sharon were so sweet and accomodating. We cannot wait to schedule our next trip, would not go any place else in Baltimore!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    101
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
72
555
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I always stay here when traveling to Baltimore (several times a years). The rooms are wonderful, and the breakfast is great. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemphisBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband and I got married in the Carollton Courtyard and used City Lites in the 1840s Ballroom Buidling for our reception, and our families and us stayed at the Carrollton Inn for the occasion. Everybody was amazed as to how amazing and charming the rooms were, as well as how they were able to deal with the craziness of the wedding!! My husband and I LOVED our bed, it was SO COMFORTABLE! Anyways, the Inn was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful, and we definitely recommend staying at the Carrollton Inn to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjvajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My wife and I found an inconsistent experience at the 1840s Carrollton Inn. As previously arranged, we arrived on a Friday night around 7 after navigating through the traffic nightmare that is Baltimore. Along the way we discovered that the inn was located just a few blocks from a series of strip clubs and other seedy establishments, which were packed with pedestrians and police presence. We soon arrived at the inn, which has no real parking other than a tiny gravel lot that warns of towing but doesn't identify the owning establishment (ultimately we parked in a garage). When we got to the front door, we found it locked, requiring us to be let in by someone on the inside. We rang the bell, and a voice came through the speaker that they would be "right there." A solid 5-10 minutes went by without any further contact. We just stood on the street, looking at each other and at the drug addict that was screaming at imaginary foes as he walked by us. Apparently they only have a single individual on staff in the evening, so if you happen to arrive when they are busy with another guest, or in another part of the inn, then good luck to you. There were apologies all around, but the fact remains that newly arrived guests need to be able to actually enter the establishment. Remote buzzing, pre-arranged single use key codes, two people on staff at all times - there has to be a better way than this. We felt abandoned and extremely unsafe, and it tarnished the entire experience.

Staff were primarily polite, though there were a few moments that struck us as odd, like resetting the tables in the dining room while we were still eating breakfast. It gave the impression that we were eating too late (we weren't) and that they wanted to get on with their day already.

Inside, the inn is beautifully done. Our suite was spotless, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. WiFi was supposedly available, but we never got it to work despite following the instructions. The fireplace was electric only, and the blower stopped working after a few minutes.

The outside noise problem should not be overlooked. If your room faces Lombard Street (as ours did), be prepared for unbelievable banging noises whenever a truck goes over the bump at the intersection of Lombard and Albemarle. I'm a sound sleeper, but was awakened 3-4 times by the trucks running at all hours of the night. The other flavor of noise comes from the pedestrians. Those returning from Little Italy will walk down Lombard all night, often drunk and loudly carrying on. The noise penetrates the walls and windows as if they weren't even there. You could easily follow the conversations outside while in bed on the 2nd story. It may very well be that some rooms experience little or no street noise, since the inn wraps around a corner and has both inward and outward facing rooms. But for us in our room, it was a real downer.

The proximity to Little Italy was convenient. We got a nice dinner, and it's easily within walking distance. Breakfast was fine - essentially met expectations. We have had fancier breakfasts from B&Bs, this was closer to what you might expect from a room service order in a nice hotel. It was fine, just nothing to blow your socks off.

In summary: if you're looking for tranquility, this is not it. If you're dead set on staying in the city, can arrive before dark, and can sleep through the noise, then you might have a winner here. But for us, we won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbking092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbsweetie, Public Relations Manager at 1840s Carrollton Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at 1840s Carrollton Inn and share your recent experience. We do wish to acknowledge your comments and concerns.

Guest safety is one of our primary interests and it is disturbing to hear that you did not feel safe and welcomed upon arrival. As we are located in a heavily-populated and busy urban area surrounded by nightlife and restaurants, we do have at least one innkeeper on premise 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to attend to guest needs. We do keep our main entrance locked to protect the security of our guests during their stay. At check-in, they receive a key card for access to their rooms and the Inn’s entrance. We ask guests requesting a late arrival to advise us of their anticipated check-in time or to call if they are running late so that we can insure the presence of an innkeeper in the lobby area when they do arrive.

We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration as we continually strive to exceed guest expectations and provide exceptional accommodations and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed for our wedding night and the whole experience was phenomenal. The room was beautiful; the bed was comfortable and the tub fit two people. The breakfast was delicious and there were many options to choose from. I highly recommend the Carrollton Inn. I could not have hoped for anything better!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADP0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We can't add to much from what is already said....Room 102 was gorgeous!!!
Breakfast in the courtyard was delicious!! Staff extremely friendly!! Location perfect for Inner harbor, Harbor East and Little Italy.
One of the nicest rooms we have every stayed in!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuneYourPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We had a wonderful, helpful welcome upon our arrival at the Inn, and the innkeeper couldn't do enough to help us with restaurant and touring information. Likewise at breakfast (in their lovely outdoor courtyard), the service was warm, friendly and accommodating. The room amenities were plentiful - refrigerator (with free water bottles), microwave, whirlpool bath, and a TV in each room of our 2-room suite. We stayed in the Diplomat Suite - a quiet first-floor room opening unto the courtyard. The Inn is just a very short walk to Little Italy restaurants, and to the downtown Baltimore attractions. Check out their website when reserving for specials like the Room of the Month or Suite Savings - we received a $100 discount that way.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Pier 5 Hotel
#10 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840s Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840s Carrollton Inn

Property: 1840s Carrollton Inn
Address: 50 Albemarle St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4602
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1840s Carrollton Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Jonestown, the 1840s Carrollton Inn is just blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point. Luxury rooms and suites are decorated with boutique furnishings and artwork and feature whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 1840s Carrollton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840s Carrollton Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing