We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1840s Carrollton Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff and experience was simply amazing. We had a wonderful time at this very special historic landmark. It's within walking distance of very nice restaurants and entertainment. The breakfast that was included really hit the spot. The rooms are even nicer than the website and have very high quality furniture. We are going back again!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Annapolis suite, highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGMTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 876 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

The location was great. Parking was a bit of a hassle, but I expect that downtown. The staff were courteous and moderately engaging. Our room was great! The bed was comfortable and the sheets were sumptuously superb! My only reservation was our breakfast the following morning. It arrived on time, but parts of it were cold and the poached yolks in my eggs Benedict were hard. This, albeit small, was very disappointing to me. Overall great experience, would recommend for. A downtown getaway.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hokieburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Carrollton Inn. Everything about the room was beautiful...the decor, the linens, the fireplace. The bed couldn't have been more comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a coffeemaker in our room but they offered to bring us a fresh pot anytime and told us just to let them know and they'd be happy to deliver it. We enjoyed our breakfast in the courtyard. There were so many options to choose from...I went with raspberry pancakes and eggs benedict and was not disappointed. Delicious! I was a little worried about the parking situation, but we were able to pull up near the entrance to unload our car during check-in. Then we were given a voucher for a nearby garage. It was a great rate and the garage was not more than a couple blocks away. Not bad at all! Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This rustic romantic getaway nestled just a stones throw away from Little Italy, was the perfect contrast for my wife and I as we returned from our destination wedding in Mexico. The Independence Room rich in its historic charm has the court yard as its view. The flat screen TV's offered a link to the current days information. The breakfast in suite was fantastic.

Room Tip: Pay the price for the larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family enjoyed a one night stay at the 1840's Carrollton Inn (Scholar's Room) for some sightseeing in the Inner Harbor. The staff was very accommodating in helping us navigate the city and get to where we needed to go. The room and bath was beautiful and very clean. The linens were luxurious and I got the best night's sleep that I had in a long time. Our room was so quiet and I was amazed at how quiet the whole complex is, especially when you realize just how close you are to everything. It is a serene retreat away from the busyness of the city. The breakfast was incredible and brought right to the door. They provided soft drinks and water and our room had popcorn and a microwave, which was a big hit w/ our kids. It was so nice to actually find a B&B that welcomes children under 12. We much prefer the feel of a B&B over a large hotel. Our bathroom was large and our boys enjoyed the whirlpool tub, even though all the jets were not working properly. Thanks for a wonderful stay - we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great evening at the Carrollton Inn. We were treated excellent, the room was fantastic, the romance package the offered was a big hit with my wife!

We woke to an excellent hot breakfast and coffee at our door which we enjoyed on the porch overlooking the courtyard.

Could not have asked for a better experience or better customer service. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed one night at the 1840's Carrollton Inn for a romantic anniversary treat. Although my husband and I weren't fans of Baltimore, this wonderfully charming inn made our trip extra special. We stayed in the Scholar's Room and it was fabulous. Beautifully appointed, with a huge, extra-comfy 4-poster bed and a huge bathroom with a 2-person Jacuzzi tub. The innkeepers and staff were warm and welcoming and our room faced the courtyard which was really lovely. We chose to have breakfast in our room and it was super delicious. In all honesty, we can't say enough good things about this place, and might even return just for a luxurious night away.. For anyone visiting Baltimore, the location is very good, within 4-5 block walking distance to Fells Point and the National Aquarium. It's also across the street from Little Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pommefranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,633 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#11 of 66 in Baltimore
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840s Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840s Carrollton Inn

Address: 50 Albemarle St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4602
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range: $159 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1840s Carrollton Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Jonestown, the 1840s Carrollton Inn is just blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point. Luxury rooms and suites are decorated with boutique furnishings and artwork and feature whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your 1840s Carrollton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840s Carrollton Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing