We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1840s Carrollton Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed one night at the 1840's Carrollton Inn for a romantic anniversary treat. Although my husband and I weren't fans of Baltimore, this wonderfully charming inn made our trip extra special. We stayed in the Scholar's Room and it was fabulous. Beautifully appointed, with a huge, extra-comfy 4-poster bed and a huge bathroom with a 2-person Jacuzzi tub. The innkeepers and staff were warm and welcoming and our room faced the courtyard which was really lovely. We chose to have breakfast in our room and it was super delicious. In all honesty, we can't say enough good things about this place, and might even return just for a luxurious night away.. For anyone visiting Baltimore, the location is very good, within 4-5 block walking distance to Fells Point and the National Aquarium. It's also across the street from Little Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pommefranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    107
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
84
582
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We first visited the Carrollton Inn last year during the 'Sailibration' at the Inner Harbor. It was very quaint, and the experience was top notch. The staff friendly, and the food fantastic. We stayed in the Diplomat suite, which was gorgeous with a bathroom equally as stunning.

Fast forward to this year, and things are quite different. First, at check-in we overheard an argument between two innkeepers about whose job it was to set up for a particular event. On top of that, our reserved room was not ready so they upgraded us to the Caton Suite. My husband and I could not manage to fall sleep for more than 10 minutes due to the barrage of traffic ouside. (keep in mind this was on a Wednesday night).The next morning, we were delighted to a cold breakfast. Everything was served cold, including the coffee!

To say we were disappointed on our second trip was an understatement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at 1840s Carrollton Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We sincerely apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Our guests' overall enjoyment and positive experience is our highest priority.

Any disagreements between our staff should certainly be discussed privately and we will be sure to address this issue right away. Your complaint regarding street noise heard from your exterior guest room is a valid one and we continue to search for a solution. As far as breakfast service, we are very sorry that your meals and coffee were served cold and have no excuse or explanation for the disappointing service that morning. We will work to make sure that breakfast is consistently excellent.

We apologize once again and hope that you will visit in the future and allow us to welcome you for an experience as positive as your first stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for our 18th anniversary. We loved the style of the room and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast served in the room was amazing. Everything was delicous. You cant beat the location. We walked around the harbor, had drinks and shopped and headed back to the room to relax in the hot tub. What a great experience!! Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabatha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ok, I want to be fair but they ruin my wife and I 4yr anniversary. This was supposed to be a great time in our lives but they ruin the trip and worst failed to resolve the problem. again I will be honest and fair. This was our second time visiting the BB, however they will not be a third. Our first visit 41/2 years ago was good. I actually proposed and the staff help with the arrangements. They were very helpful and I recall them congratulate us several times. Well things have certainly change in the past 4 years. Today you can't get a hello from the staff. The main problem we had after several was we order the romance dinner package delivered in your room. The food was an hour late to the room and only came after we called downstairs to find out what was going on. The lady behind the desk stated "owe you want that now". Mind you it's 9pm the food was schedule to be their at 8pm. Ok we get the food shortly after calling and it's ice cold. Apparently they carter the food and store it in a gift basket in their freezer. When we pulled our 155.00 plus tax dinners out of the basket they literally look like a TV dinner. They are wrap in plastic in a plastic tray. Think Hungry-Man. Immediately we called downstairs and reported the problem, We just paid 155.00 plus tax for two microwave TV dinners. We left the food on the table and went to Mo's seafood instead. The following morning we met with TRACY who was no help, unapologetic, and downright evil. She could care less and refused to provide any type of reimbursement and or assistant. To use her words " that the way it is"!!!! At this point there was nothing we can do but called it a lose and walk around but they ruin what was supposed to be a romantic night. And the sad part they TRACY could care less. Not once did we get a hello, happy anniversary, or I'm sorry, Let's try to resolve this. Instead we was sent packing. The staff TRACY is terrible and we will never return. Thank you MO for the seafood and your best anniversary wishes!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eternal120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at 1840s Carrollton Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with our customer service and the dinner basket delivered to your room. Customer service is the highest priority of our innkeepers as we are a small boutique B&B. It is inexcusable that you were not greeted with warmth and hospitality and treated as family during your stay, especially since you have stayed with us before for such a special occasion. We appreciate your comments and will continue to work to improve our guest service.

The dinner basket you reserved as an added package is provided by one of our preferred caterers. It is a four-course meal with a variety of menu options and includes a bottle of wine. It is clearly stated in the package description on our website that "all hot menu items are warmed in your room's microwave with heating instructions provided." The baskets are freshly-prepared, delivered by the caterer the day of the reservation, and stored in our walk-in refrigerator until the requested time. For future orders, we will be sure to specifically mention that the baskets are fresh and refrigerated, therefore entrees and sides need to be heated in the microwave. We are very sorry that it was not brought to your room at 8 p.m. as requested and that you had to ask our innkeeper to bring it to you.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. We do sincerely hope you'll stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to welcome you with the hospitality characteristic of our inn for an experience exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just spent the weekend with friends and had just about the perfect experience. Our room was gorgeous, but there were so many options for gathering and relaxing indoors and on the lovely courtyard we spent little time in it. The staff is extremely accommodating and welcoming. A shout out o all, especially Josh!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merylstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for one night on a mini road trip returning from DC to Jersey. This B&B surpassed all of our expectations. We reserved the day before and received a 30% discount off the regular rate, a real deal (you have to mention the deal when you reserve). Guests have a choice of multiple breakfast dish options -all freshly homemade- and served in the beautiful downstairs main dining room, the outside courtyard or your room. The Inn is walking distance to Little Italy restaurants and Fells Point. We were lucky enough to find street parking and felt perfectly safe leaving the car overnight. The staff were all very hospitable and friendly. Baltimore Art Museum is totally worth staying overnight for when you have this type of accommodation! Will definitely return if we are ever in Baltimore again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Equestrian Room (one of the cheapest at $155) and it was spectacular. Electric fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmiranda354354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nicely appointed rooms with period decor. Very helpful staff who served breakfast on brick patio (or in dining room). Conveniently located on edge of "Little Italy" section of city. Coffee brought to room in morning is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Rooms facing patio are quieter. All have gas fireplace which is romantic. Bathrooms almost lavish
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,467 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
979 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840s Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840s Carrollton Inn

Property: 1840s Carrollton Inn
Address: 50 Albemarle St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4602
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1840s Carrollton Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Jonestown, the 1840s Carrollton Inn is just blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point. Luxury rooms and suites are decorated with boutique furnishings and artwork and feature whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 1840s Carrollton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840s Carrollton Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing