We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn, great location, filled with charm and grace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1840s Carrollton Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn, great location, filled with charm and grace”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just spent the weekend with friends and had just about the perfect experience. Our room was gorgeous, but there were so many options for gathering and relaxing indoors and on the lovely courtyard we spent little time in it. The staff is extremely accommodating and welcoming. A shout out o all, especially Josh!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merylstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    107
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
84
582
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for one night on a mini road trip returning from DC to Jersey. This B&B surpassed all of our expectations. We reserved the day before and received a 30% discount off the regular rate, a real deal (you have to mention the deal when you reserve). Guests have a choice of multiple breakfast dish options -all freshly homemade- and served in the beautiful downstairs main dining room, the outside courtyard or your room. The Inn is walking distance to Little Italy restaurants and Fells Point. We were lucky enough to find street parking and felt perfectly safe leaving the car overnight. The staff were all very hospitable and friendly. Baltimore Art Museum is totally worth staying overnight for when you have this type of accommodation! Will definitely return if we are ever in Baltimore again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Equestrian Room (one of the cheapest at $155) and it was spectacular. Electric fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmiranda354354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nicely appointed rooms with period decor. Very helpful staff who served breakfast on brick patio (or in dining room). Conveniently located on edge of "Little Italy" section of city. Coffee brought to room in morning is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Rooms facing patio are quieter. All have gas fireplace which is romantic. Bathrooms almost lavish
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We found this inn on the web. From the moment we arrived we experienced nothing but luxury. The staff was extremely helpful,the room beautiful and the inn is located just a short walk from Fells Point. Breakfast in the courtyard is an elegant way to start your day. This will definitely be a repeater.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Caton Room. What an elegant room. We heard lots of noise when we first arrived so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law gave us a gift certificate which we used to get away for our wedding anniversary. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The Inn is centrally located so we parked our car and didn't move it for two days. Breakfast in the courtyard was relaxing. The food was great. (We had the fresh fruit both mornings!) We stayed in the Patriot Room which was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable. Our next trip to the 1840s Carrollton Inn might include our three grown children!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekd0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I made a last minute reservation with the 1840 Carrollton Inn for my daughter & myself. I was picking her up from college & wanted to break up the trip home & treat her to the B & B experience. We shared the Liberty Room which was charming! We walked to Fells Point for dinner & drinks which was a lot of fun. The following morning we were served an amazing breakfast and even had coffee sent to our room beforehand. Overall, a fantastic experience and the perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocklander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I are locals who got a Groupon deal here as a gift. We had a wonderful evening. Like stepping out of The Wire into Downton Abbey. Beautifully furnished rooms, plenty of privacy, and a delicious breakfast the next morning. They even let us leave our bags at the front desk after check out while we went on a little walking date.

Only criticism is that you can still hear noise from the street (cars, drunk people, etc.), but that comes with the territory in downtown Baltimore. Otherwise, a total escape from the day-to-day grind that Charm City can be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LowMaintenanceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,470 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
980 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840s Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840s Carrollton Inn

Property: 1840s Carrollton Inn
Address: 50 Albemarle St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4602
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1840s Carrollton Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Jonestown, the 1840s Carrollton Inn is just blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point. Luxury rooms and suites are decorated with boutique furnishings and artwork and feature whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1840s Carrollton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840s Carrollton Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing