We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Good As Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked to stay in this property first because of the excellent reviews, second because of the convenient and safe location and third because free off-street car parking and wi-fi is included. Prior to our arrival, we discovered that it would suit us to check in very early. We called the innkeeper who very obligingly said that we could turn up early and that they would make sure that our room was ready. Prior to arrival, we had been asked to pay half the cost of our stay. Given that this is a small property, we felt that this was reasonable. We were however somewhat surprised that we had to pay the balance immediately upon arrival and before we were shown to our room and that in addition, that we had to sign to say that we would pay for anything that we damaged. Fortunately, there were no accidents! We were also surprised to learn that we would need to turn up for breakfast on the hour or the half hour and not after 9.00 a.m. We stayed in the Edgar Alan Poe Room. It was extremely spacious and comfortable. A great deal of thought had obviously been put into its decoration. Unfortunately, a number of channels on the TV did not work. We reported this to the person in charge and were told that the owners would be informed. However, the problem was not rectified during our stay. Given that there is no sitting out area for guests, we spent time in our room but not looking at what we had hoped to see on TV. The breakfast menus were impressive although not necessarily to our personal taste. The person in charge was very pleasant but, apart from one brief encounter, we did not meet the owners. While this property had many good points, it was the most expensive of those in which we stayed on our trip and we did not feel that the premium was justified.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bnb_Owner_Baltimore, Owner at Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We feel heartsick that we were not able to live up to the expectations of these guests.

Most of our guests prefer when we get all of the payment and paperwork out of the way upon arrival so that the entire rest of your stay is as carefree as possible. Just as hotels and other accommodations do, we ask that you sign off saying you agree to all of our policies including being responsible for unusual damages. Though it happens with great rarity, there have been times this needed to be enforced. It helps us to inform guests that our home/B&B should be treated with respect and care. Unfortunately, not all are as mindful as these wonderful guests were.

We are happy these guests found their room spacious and comfortable. The television not getting all of the channels is troubling as our assistant checked on it and it seemed to be working fine. We are sorry that when you were using the remote it did not seem to give you all of the channels you were anticipating.

As the owner, I must apologize that these guests felt that I did not spend enough one on one time with them. These guests happened to be staying the two days where I was doing some added work in Annapolis, Maryland for an additional 8 hours each day. I was also in the midst of planning the details of my commitment to my partner legal in the state of Maryland by marrying him at the courthouse him on the day of your departure. Not trying to make excuses. I only feel it necessary that guests understand that we are more than innkeepers. We have full and well rounded lives beyond innkeeping made possible only by having two wonderful assistant innkeepers that help us run the show.

We always ask guests if they have any dietary preferences. We want to ensure that what we bring to you at the table is something you will adore. We wish we had known what these guests' food preferences were so we could meet these expectations as well. If we inquire and are not told, we cannot ever entirely succeed.

Pricing is dictated by comparison to other accommodations in the city, our location, our costs, the city lodging tax and state sales tax and the extras we include in the pricing (parking, wifi, homemade snacks, beverages, in-room snack basket, in-bathroom toiletry basket, DVD library to use in the TV with built in DVD player and more are all included in the room rate.) We are certain that these details are all very different here at Scarborough Fair than they were for any other property these guests visited.

All that being said, we still wish these guests had been more satisfied with their stay. We are not perfect all of the time. But we hope from that you can see from the over 400 perfect scores we have earned here on TripAdvisor.com, we are exceedingly close.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 543 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked a stay in the Hickory Vale room so we could be close to where I was taking a huge exam. We wanted to explore Baltimore afterwards and wanted a place that was centrally located to restaurants and attractions. However, we did not want to be just a number and stay in one of those chain hotels. We wanted to have an experience and make some lasting memories. Making memories is just what this bed and breakfast gave us. The little details of this place is what truly stands out. Beautiful decor, scrumptious treats, and cozy bedding made our stay both enjoyable and unforgettable. The owners are welcoming, and truly cater to their guests. Since I missed Saturday morning breakfast I was left a beautifully prepared gourmet meal in a brown sack. The homemade granola is unbelievable. Halloween is my favorite holiday and the decorations, which the owner hand crafted in front of us, are remarkable. We played the Baltimore bingo and got a great prize for playing! We regret having to leave, but the red velvet pancakes topped with cream cheese, fresh fruit, and raspberry syrup were a sweet way to say goodbye. We will definitely return to this charming place again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndBmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I chose this place based on the review from this site. I was not disappointed. The room was wonderful. The food was amazing. The locale was perfect. The hospitality was everything you could ask for. I am out of adjectives. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. I am starting to save now for my next trip and I will make sure it includes another stay in this beautiful place.

Room Tip: The Brothers Grimm room was very comfortable and roomy. We did not notice any street noise, althoug...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Can't really say more than what has already been said, but my wife and I loved this place. It is a little pricy, but its charm, hospitality, and location make it worth the cost. It's perfectly situated between Camden Yards and the Inner Harbor in a safe historic neighborhood. Every hotel in the area seem to be expensive, so the extra money is well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place is incredible! My husband and I stayed here last week for our wedding anniversary, and we're already picking out dates for when we can go back. All of the staff that we met were incredibly friendly and helpful. My husband has Celiac disease, and we thought it would be impossible to find a B&B where he really enjoy a full gluten free breakfast. We were so happy to see that Scarborough Fair offered gluten free food. They didn't only provide food for him at breakfast (which was AMAZING both mornings we were there), but they had snacks out in the afternoon/evening. There were both gluten-filled and gluten-free options. My favorite gluten free food was the organic white corn meal waffles with bananas foster sauce. I never would have guessed that they were gluten free because they had an incredible texture that is hard to pull off. The other guests had no idea that they were gluten free and they were also raving abut them. We also loved the complimentary beverage closet. It's so nice to have cold bottled water (and various sodas) to come back to after a day walking around the city. We stayed in the Hickory Vale room, which was so cute and comfy. The 2-person whirlpool tub (and every other part of the room and building that we saw) was spotlessly clean and a wonderful feature, as was the adjustable rain-like shower head. Other fun features were the Baltimore bingo sheet, the complimentary local snacks (Crab-flavored chips, cookies, and candies), and the goodies for sale in the lounge area. We ended up buying 2 of their ceramic mugs, their homemade chocolate crabs, a Christmas ornament, and some other things to commemorate our stay. Finally, the sheets on our bed were so luxurious, that we are going to our a set from them. Overall, the best away-from-home experience I've ever had, which is saying a lot considering I'm a fairly frequent traveler, in the US and abroad. I am positive this will be our go-to romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is an awesome B&B place - not a soulless hotel! Free parking included, that really helps. Perfect service provided from Barry and his staff, being very thoughtful hosts. Delicious breakfasts with yummy and fresh ingredients, you can't ask for more. The Edgar Allen Poe Suite was gorgeous, furnished authentically to the author's stories, the whole place's interior shows a great love and passion for details, which we very much liked. Compared to many other inns exceptionally clean. Located close to the Inner Harbor and many attractions is a real advantage. The free bus transportation on the "Charm city circulator" (purple line stop right next to the inn) helped to explore also other parts of the city. We also started our day trip to Washington D.C. with this bus and the train from Penn Station, just perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Edgar Allen Poe Suite, beautifully furnished.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juergen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wonderful location near the harbor and downtown on Federal Hill. Parking is included in room rate and since everything is walking distance and inn is on bus route, getting around couldn't be easier. Breakfasts were very fresh with generous helpings. Only complaint is air conditioning is very uneven throughout the inn, so some guests were too warm while others were freezing. We stayed in the Hickory Vale room on the ground floor. Upside was that we had our own entrance onto a side street and a fabulous jacuzzi tub, downside was it was one of the coldest rooms and there was noise from the adjacent dining room as soon as the first guests came down to breakfast. I will definitely go back, but reserve a different room.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have more or less AC if traveling in the warmer months dependingon your preference.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyMamaSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
990 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,521 reviews
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast

Address: 801 S Charles St, Baltimore, MD 21230-3904
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range: $169 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 2 blocks of the Inner Harbor, this 1801 Georgian Style Bed and Breakfast has been welcoming guests for nearly 20 years. Walk to most major attractions, including Camden Yards & Ravens Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, restaurants and shops, the National Aquarium and more. Free Parking, Full Cooked Breakfast, complimentary beverages, afternoon homemade cookies. Spacious bedrooms have private baths (some with jacuzzis and fireplaces). Located in Federal Hill neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Fair Bed And Breakfast
Scarborough Fair Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing