We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 16 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Scarborough Fair during our commitment-ceremony weekend. We first looked at the B&B because it was just around the corner from our venue (American Visionary Art Museum). After visiting the website, we were in love with the place on its own. The thematic rooms, scrumptiously described food, and LGBTQ-friendly environment sealed the deal. What was even more amazing was how awesome the place is in person! All of the staff were generous with their time and energy and we loved having a quiet place to rest at night. If you want a place with character and quiet (and delicious food!!), this is the place for you! Oh! And p.s. having a parking space in downtown Baltimore at night is great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anya32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    32
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
307
42
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Round Hill Room, which was very roomy and comfortable. We really enjoyed the fireplace also. The 2nd night got a bit chilly, which I was glad for since I did want to take advantage of it! ...We toured the historic ships in the Inner Harbor, and the following day the museums-the location of Scarborough Fair was excellent for both, as well as any dining places. We enjoyed the breakfasts that were cooked for us by Barry. Everything was delicious, as well as unique. I am a pumpkin and sweet potato fan, and totally enjoyed my pancakes and waffles. I hope to get back again!!

Room Tip: if your looking for a romantic room with a fireplace and jacuzzi, the Round Hill Room is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed 2 nights 1 -3 Nov in the Edgar Alan Poe Room which was very nice and spacious for 2 people with en-suite bath. The bed is a numbers bed which is remote control and you can adjust left/right said of mattress to suit.

We got there and the house was decorated for Hallowe'en and they'd really made an effort to make it fun. We were greeted by Connor who showed us to our room and explained about breakfast and the fridge for pillaging the pantry - which is a great idea, there was drinks available all the time and often home made cookies.

Barry's breakfast were good and filling everything made fresh and a good choice of side items.

I have read some other reviews that complain about sirens or road noise, this is not the fault of Scarborough Fair B&B - they are in the city and some noise should be expected (isn't the noise and excitement part of why you are staying in a city the first place?) This B&B is in a brilliant location, an easy walk to Inner Harbour and free circulator bus stops and packed with bars and restaurants just steps away down the street - so whats a few siren noises - its the same noise so would hear anywhere you stayed!

We would def. stop there if we return to Baltimore, the prices were good and when we worried our plans may change due to H Sandy Barry was very fair about not charging if our flights were cancelled - thank you.

Thanks too for the delish cupcakes that were in our room on arrival - nice touch and appreciated. X

The only reason I haven't gave it 5* is because I save that for blow your mind places, but this is a great little B&B and we will be back.

Room Tip: Edgar Alan Poe room was cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRav100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

my husband & i purchased a 'living social' deal online for Scarborough Fair b&b several months ago, and booked our weekend for mid october. i checked out the reviews online, and was amazed that they had received so many (over 300!) positive reviews, and hardly any negative ones. the b&b is located in the most adorable neighborhood, Federal Hill, in Baltimore. it's very residential & quiet and the charm & character of the homes is fantastic. it's lovely just to take a walk around the neighborhood. and just a very short walk away, are a bunch of fabulous restaurants, shops & the Cross St Market. it was really nice to have food options that close to our b&b so we didn't have to walk down to the insanely busy harbor when we wanted to eat.

upon arrival, we were greeted with the incredible aroma of hot apple cider. it was such a cozy touch! the b&b was decorated for Halloween and had a very autumnal & warm feel. Connor met us at the door, showed us around, and was very helpful in recommending local attractions & restaurants. we found our room, Hickory Vale, to be perfect! decorated in white & blue with gorgeous antique furniture, we felt very at home. the bed was comfortable, the gas fireplace was such a romantic touch, and the huge jetted tub was phenomenal. we had no complaints. besides the hot cider that was available all weekend, there were freshly baked cookies, tea, coffee, and a fridge filled with juice, sparkling beverages, soda and water available in the dining room at all times. very generous!

Connor proved to be extremely friendly & helpful all weekend and we relied on him for every question we had regarding what to do in Baltimore. i really can't emphasize enough how much we appreciated Connor. he was wonderful! Lauren served our breakfast, and she was delightful as well. and oh, the breakfast. to die for!!! gourmet, unique and absolutely scrumptious!!

yes, Scarborough Fair b&b was a perfect weekend getaway, and we plan on returning next fall!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Scarborough Fair B&B is my goto destination when I am in town on business. The rooms are spacious and very well decorated; each room has its own theme. The breakfast dishes are amazing, especially for the price, and the dishes are rotated to ensure that each breakfast is a new and refreshing experience. Barry is an amazingly warm and inviting host, and he does an outstanding job of making his business feel like home for his guests.

Overall, I have found the Scarborough Fair to be the best place I have ever stayed in any city that I have visited. I honestly cannot find any fault with the experience other than the occasional floor creak from hallway foot traffic due to the age of the structure. Honestly it just makes the place feel even more like home.

Amenities include:
* Fresh snacks and refreshments during the day (get them while they last... the cookies are amazing)
* A mini-fridge with beverages
* Themed rooms, playfully decorated
* Large bathrooms with "rainfall" style shower-heads, some have large jacuzzi style tubs
* Continental style breakfast for those on the go
* Optional extra homemade breakfast dishes for those who want the true bed and breakfast experience. I highly recommend springing for the breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

cute place, clean, cozy, and owners have really though of everything one would need to enjoy their stay. will definitely be staying there every time i'm in Baltimore, and highly recommend you try it out also!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Scarborough. It is perfectly located to walk to the inner harbor, shops, the aquarium and numerous restaurants. The owners have paid attention to little details in the room that make the stay a step above the rest. We stayed in a room with both a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace... a real treat! The rooms were generous with just the right space to put your things during your stay. The breakfasts were delicious and gourmet with a seasonal flair. They were very helpful and knowledgeable in directing us to restaurants in the area that suited our desires. We would highly recommend this B & B!

Room Tip: A few rooms have jacuzzi tubs and a gas fireplace! A true treat on a cool fall night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JilzChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#1 of 61 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Regency Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
Pier 5 Hotel
#13 of 61 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast

Property: Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast
Address: 801 South Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21230
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 2 blocks of the Inner Harbor, this 1801 Georgian Style Bed and Breakfast has been welcoming guests for 10 years. Walk to most major attractions, including Camden Yards & Ravens Stadium, Baltimore Convention Center, restaurants and shops, the National Aquarium and more. Free Parking, Full Cooked Breakfast, complimentary beverages, afternoon homemade cookies. Spacious bedrooms have private baths (some with jacuzzis and fireplaces). Located in Federal Hill neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Scarborough Fair Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Fair Bed And Breakfast
Scarborough Fair Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing