We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Inner Harbor visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Completed our second stay at this Homewood; we're Hilton HHonors members and this is a particularly unique Homewood, sharing the building with the Hilton Garden Inn. Super location at the east end of Inner Harbor, next to Little Italy. Everything harbor-related is walkable, including Orioles Park. (We were on a Red Sox Road Trip.)

Panoramic view suites are amazingly large - apartment sized large. We had one last year; this time we opted for a standard 1BR suite and were fortunate to get 1153, at the end of the hall. This suite has a "corner" feel like the panoramic suites, with I think an even better view (partial water view from the bedroom and living room.) The woodwork was a little worn - could use new varnish - but kitchen counters and breakfast bar looked relatively new. The suite was immaculately clean and the linens were in good shape. Good HDTVs, comfy sofa and chair, big windows to enjoy the harbor and city views. Fluffiest, softest towels of any Hilton property we've used before. Soft but comfortable mattress, and about 10 pillows (why can't you get standard poly fill pillows at Hiltons? They're always those goofy down or fake down squishy types. Hate 'em. Minor quibble.)

Right now the breakfast lounge is out of service for renovations (on our last stay it was closed due to water damage - maybe we're bad luck.) This currently works in guests' favor, as breakfast for both Homewood and Hilton Garden Inn are being served in the HGI's restaurant area. The cooked-to-order eggs, waffles, pancakes etc. that HGI guests pay for were complimentary for Homewood guests due to the change (the standard Homewood buffet should be back in their own lounge by mid-June.) Breakfast choices were of a little better quality than in other Homewoods, except for the coffee which was just as awful as always. (Don't panic. There's a Starbucks steps away from the lobby.) The staff was extremely friendly, as always. We didn't use the "light supper" of pasta, salad, beer/wine and soft drinks - went to the ball game instead. That's served Monday-Thursday and the menu is posted on each suite's fridge.

This time we skipped the $22 self- and $34-valet parking and used the open air lot a block away, on the corner of Eastern and President (heading towards the hotel on President, turn Left on Eastern and immediately left into the lot.) We paid $24 total for Sunday 4PM through Tuesday 9AM. The lot is monitored but not manned 24/7 - there's an honor box for when nobody's there, with posted rates. Remove all valuables from the car, as you should anywhere.

The hotel has an agreement with the Maryland Athletic Club rather than its own pool/exercise room. I used the club for cardio equipment and my husband used the lap pool. The club is open early AM (5:30 I think during the week) and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. Hotel guests enter the club from the 2nd floor (the HGI side,) check in at the desk and can use any of the equipment as well as attending classes, space permitting. They ask you to not use the members' locker rooms, and let members fill the classes first, but otherwise it's full access. Loads of new equipment in excellent condition. Although the pools are specifically for laps or pool aerobics, families can (and did) use them, but logistically it's a little odd - club towels can't be removed, and it's a long walk. A more family-friendly feature is the Harbor East movie complex on the other side of the health club, with digital screens and discount matinees. And there's a Haagen Daz on the other side of theater. Ice cream and a movie, with a white chocolate latte after? Now that's a great hotel location!

This continues to be one of our favorite Homewood properties, for location and staff friendliness. Considering it's a major city location, you get a lot for your money. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a suite-style property in downtown/Inner Harbor area.

Room Tip: 1BR suites at the end of the hall farthest from the elevators (like 1153) have a great view - like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpecialK01030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delens, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your visit to Baltimore. I was excited to read your comments during our morning team huddle and I am pleased that you enjoyed the central location so much! We hear terrific feedback about our secured parking and partnership with MAC and your additional hints are very helpful. Our Homewood Lodge renovation completes just this weekend and we look forward to the unveiling next week. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor for your next visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel was nice, in a good location. Got a smoking room which had no ash trays. Left a note for the maid asking for an ash tray, but still nothing. Room was good, but the services had some opportunities. Room had some stains and cigarette burns on night stains (maybe they didn't have an ash tray either). Overall a bit disappointing for the money spent. No fresh towels, sink in bathroom had some pieces fall off, needs a little maintenance and help in maid service department.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delens, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your visit to Baltimore. I am sorry that we did not fully exceed your expectations. I appreciate the frustration in having to request an ashtray on multiple occasions. I have shared your feedback with the hotel management team so they can use the feedback for re-training. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back in the future for a truly extraordinary visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Homewood Suites in Baltimore this week. Our family was 2 adults and 4 children. We were in room 1051 which is a corner non smoking suite with two double beds and a sofa bed in the living room. This room was in a very quiet end of the hallway with no other rooms nearby.

I will make a list of the good and bad points of this hotel.....

Good:
1.Location to the Inner Harbor is excellent....close enough to walk to the Aquarium, Camden Yards, etc.

2. free breakfast......the food included coffee, juices, cereals, milk, yogurt, fresh fruit, make your own waffles, bagels, pastries, breads, and some hot items like eggs, potatoes, oatmeal, bacon etc.

3. our room was really clean when we checked in and no bedbugs (I checked).

4. Valet employees were very kind and informative.

Negatives:

1. Parking choices are valet for $32 per night and you can take your car in and out as often as needed, we left ours parked from check in until check out or you can pay $23 to park and it costs each time you move it.

2. pool, while it was nice and warm it was a hassle getting to use it. The pool is located in the MAC fitness center which is attached to the hotel and has paying members. Adult hotel guests can use basically all equipment, classes etc at the fitness center for free. Children are limited to one smaller pool. To get to the fitness center you have to take the hotel elevator to the 2nd floor, then walk through the breakfast area, the library area, other hallways, and the Restaurant in the Hilton then another hallway to get into the fitness center, once in you need your hotel key and you need t sign in, Then you need to walk through the room with the treadmills etc while everyone stares at you. then you get to the pool area, you have to shower before going in the pool and you CANNOT leave with the towels that are provided. Having 4 children in was a hassle and we only did that one evening.

3.Hotel Employees and Staff could have been more friendly. We stayed in Falls Church Va for 7 nights at the Homewood and the staff actually seemed to like there jobs and seemed to care about their guests. Today while checking out the one clerk waited on me while the other one stood at the counter yawning.

4. Both nights I had to call the desk for more towels, we had 6 people and were given 3 towels.

5. I thought after the 1st night, our room could have been cleaned better. We are not messy and basically make the beds ourselves and do a lot of the cleanup.

Overall we had a nice stay, but I am not sure that the cost of staying here is worth it. Between parking, tips, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nighs recently.
Great location next to Little Italy.
Walking distance to Inner Harbor and Fells Point. The free city shuttle bus, the Charm City Circulator stops near the hotel though we chose to walk to all attractions.
The hotel was very nice and offered a full breakfast everyday. The room was large with a nice view towards the Inner Harbor. There is a great Latin American
restaurant, Talara, next to the hotel.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We loved our stay at this consistently friendly and reliable Homewood Suites hotel. The service was friendly and excellent. Very responsive to all our questions and needs. The location is great. We parked our car and never took it out during our entire stay in Baltimore. It is pricey but if you have little kids (baby-8 years old), it's convenient, clean and quiet. The pool at the MAC is wonderfully warm and fun for the kiddies. The gym is huge and offers lots of classes for adults. This is our second time at this hotel and we love it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherofthree31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Nice, clean with Huge rooms and attached to monstrous Fitness center - Be Aware - the pool is NOT kid friendly - once it has 20 kids in it, they close the pool and your kids will be told to wait in the lobby. Parking on street lots $10/day - dont get ripped off parking at hotel. Charles St garage is 3 blocks away - and its $3/day.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank SueSheeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delens, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your visit while staying in Baltimore. I appreciate the feedback regarding the swimming pool. I will certainly share them with the Wellness Center team. I am glad you enjoyed the size of the All Suite guestrooms and I hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our family stayed here from Good Friday thru Wednesday. The front desk staff was very helpful. Kudos to Jasmine and Sharon on check in and Jasmine and Lamarr upon checking out. They were extremely nice which is a plus. Breakfast everyday is good especially with kids. You can get made to order omelets, french toast and giant waffles. All were good. The staff in the dining area were also very efficient and helpful because sometimes you may have to wait a few minutes for a table, but they handle the crowds well. The gym is extremely nice and it was a nice perk that Arod was there for a workout and my kids got autographs! The location is awesome so close to Aquarium and shops and the Water Taxi. Having Whole Foods and CVS a block away was a nice thing. If we ever get back we will use this hotel again. The room was comfortable and had 2 TV's and kept very clean so thanks to the housekeeping staff also.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor, it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boyceake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delens, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the details of your visit while in Baltimore. The All-Suite property is very comfortable for family travelers and I am pleased it worked well for you. The central location between Little Italy, Fells Point and Inner Harbor also works well for "little legs"! Thank you for your feedback on how the busy breakfast was handled by the team and for details regarding the Guest Service attendants - I look forward to reviewing thse details during our next team huddle.

Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Homewood Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore

Address: 625 President St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $141 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Homewood Suites Baltimore
Hilton Baltimore
Homewood Baltimore
Baltimore Homewood Suites
Baltimore Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing