We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruben Dip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ale Mary's

Ale Mary's
Ranked #345 of 2,007 Restaurants in Baltimore
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ruben Dip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Strange decor. Bartenders and waiters were so helpful.
The cheesy tots were amazing. Three types of cheese with ranch.
Ruben dip - omg craving that now. It was delicious. I Have never seen something like that on a menu so I had to try it. It was soooooo good!

The beer selection is great too.

I would come back here for that dip alone.

Helpful?
Thank Likethetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pub food, fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I live a block from Ale Mary's and over the 8 years I have lived here, I have probably visited Ale Mary's 100 times, at least. I don't understand where the negative reviews come from. The food is consistently good and very reasonably priced. For example, on Thursdays, steak night, you get a 10oz New York strip, mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli for $10.95. And lately, they have decent bottles of wine for $13! Everything else off the menu is consistently and solidly good. This is bar food. The place is a bar with really good barfood and its busy. The fact that the place is bursting at the seams with customers every night at dinner time should tell you something. I have eaten in just about every bar and restaurant in Fells Point and, without hesitation, my first choice is always Ale Mary's. Sure you can get a fancy meal at Charleston, Cianghele, or Roy's, but if you are looking for good food and good drinks that won't set you back a couple of c notes, Ale Mary's is the place you want to be.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaltoMan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
“BREAD PUDDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great atmosphere and the best homemade bread pudding I've ever had. Came here with my fiance and we loved the character. Classic 40s music plays in the background, leg lamp from the Christmas Story on the bar, and religious little artifacts line the wall. It's laid back, no craziness going on so if you're looking for that had somewhere else. If you want a place that feels warm and attentive bartenders, Allison was ours and she is very nice, go to Ale Mary's!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orangeraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Exactly what a good corner bar should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nice clean corner bar. Great food, drinks and service. Staff here is outstanding, friendly, observing and fast. Beer selection great. Prices reasonable. Food and portions fantastic as well. We had buffalo wings, seafood pie, ribs platter, salmon sandwich, KK bread pudding. All were very good and hearty, large portions. We all cant wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nthemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic sandwich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a crowded, noisy bar with great food and a lot of beer choices. I had one of the on-tap beers (which was excellent) and one of the best sandwiches I've had maybe ever! It was too big to fit in my mouth, so be prepared for messy! I thought the Tator Tots were - well - Tator Tots - not my favorite. Desserts were really good! I enjoyed this place a lot - hope to go again next time I'm in Baltimore.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ithakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ale Mary's also viewed

 

Been to Ale Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing