We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2008

My family was having a wedding in Baltimore, so a large group of us rented rooms at the Springhill Suites.

Parking is a real problem (the hotel provides expensive valet parking). There is more reasonable parking around the corner at the intersection of E. Baltimore and South St. Some folks in our large group had problems getting their cars back when they needed them.

The hotel lobby is very nice. Overall, the staff was great: nice and friendly (with the exception of one check in clerk).

The checkin time was 4 pm (a bit late in the day). We contacted the hotel the day before check-in to ask for an early check-in (everyone wanted to get shower and dress for the wedding that evening), and they assured us that they would have our room ready around noon. Unfortunately, when we arrived at about 2 PM the room was not ready, and the staff was unable to give us a time that we could check in (apparently they were short on maids). At around 3 PM, they were finally able to get us into the room (after we sat in the lobby facing them for an hour).

The room (10th floor) had a sitting room and a bedroom (king size bed) that were open to one another. The room was nicely clean when we arrived. The sitting room had a small refrigerator, microwave, a small couch and two soft chairs. They also had a couple of nice flat screen TVs. Bathroom was nice, with the shower-toilet separated from the sink-mirror area. Closet was on the smaller size. The vent for the room was set into the wall and was offset by about an inch from the wall - a strange arrangement for a rather nice room.

Breakfast at 8:30 AM on Sunday was rather crowded with a number of breakfast items that were out. With some patience, they resupplied.

Overall the experience was very nice with the exception of the parking and check-in problem.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pabl01neum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 465 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2008

To give 5 "dots" or whatever they are, I think perfection is key. Springhill Suites was a great place to stay, but not without some faults. First of all, make sure you can make your way around Baltimore and around the Inner Harbor area (or just familiarize yourself while you are there). The directions placed the hotel on a main one-way street and it was actually on a cross street intersecting the main one, which was a little confusing. Valet parking is near-required to stay here unless you want to park your car a few blocks away and haul your own luggage to the place (not recommended)! You will pay a price though; $28 a night for the service. Check in was very easy and we were greeted warmly by the staff. Our room was SUPER comfortable and pleasant. My g/f was very pleased and she can be hard to please at times so that should tell you something. 2 x flat screen TVs in the room (king suite), a microwave, a fridge, and all the other little things you'd expect were present. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET!!! Also included broadband "wired" internet if you don't have wireless capabilities. I will have to say that at night things were a tad bit noisy. I'm a pretty heavy sleeper at times so I wasn't bothered but the misses is an extra light sleeper. The hotel is right in the heart of downtown and sirens at night, yelling on the street, and some construction could be heard, even though we were 6 floors up. So for this reason (also, no view of anything but other buildings surrounding the immediate area, which was a bit disappointing) as well as the enormous valet parking price are what will make me take this one down a notch. All-in-all, I was extremely satisfied with the comfortable stay, the great location (despite the noise, we were walking distance to all the great downtown restaurants and tourist attractions), and the great service for a great price. Definitely recommended for a stay in downtown Baltimore!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dragonOL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

This was our first trip to Baltimore for the AST Dew Action Sports Tour. The hotel was beautiful. The room we stayed in had 2 flat screened TVs, plenty of room and it was very clean. We traveled with a teenage son, and he enjoyed the complementary breakfast, which says a lot considering how much he can eat! The property is located within walking distance to the Inner Harbor and Camden Yards. However, a cab ride to Camden Yards is only $5, which we found out after a long day at the event. I highly recommend this hotel and I can be quite particular about where we stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TJ3370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

An old converted bank building just up the street from the Inner Harbor. Easy to get to driving, valet parking makes unloading and checking in a breeze.

Very personable staff.

Attractive rooms. Going for flat screen TV's on walls made living room TV watching layout a little awkward, but a nice suite.

A/C wasn't working real well, but we didn't know this until after we returned from dinner and then the hotel wasn't able to get it checked before bedtime. They volunteered to discount the room. So while we had to open the windows which didn't work all that well overnight and listen to Baltimore sirens, it was OK.

Would recommend a lower rather than higher floor. Nothing to see higher except pigeons and abandoned buildings.

Good complimentary breakfast.

Very convenient to Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willtravel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I stayed at Marriott’s SpringHill Suites during a business trip and was very pleased. The hotel was originally a bank. The old vault is still intact and is quite beautiful. It is located in the basement, along with the laundry and exercise rooms, a must see if you visit. Each morning Marriott's breakfast was available for guests.
My room was clean, newly remodeled, spacious and beautiful. The bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve slept on during a business trip! Flat screen televisions were located in both the sleeping and sitting/work areas. Internet access was free and easily accessible. The hotel was within walking distance to both the Inner Harbor shopping/tourist area and convention center. I had read some complaints about the noise from this particular hotel. It is nothing more than what you would expect to hear while staying in a large city…sirens, etc.
I can honestly say that I found this hotel to be one of the nicer ones I have stayed at while on business in the Baltimore area. The front desk staff was exceedingly friendly as was the bartender who was always there to help with directions and helpful dining tips. The cleaning staff did a fabulous job. In my opinion you can’t go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RedPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

What a beautiful property. The elegance and over welcoming staff is one to remember. I have traveled to Baltimore often and have stayed at all of the full service hotels. SpringHill Suites rooms are huge. They are like a studio apt. with 2 flatscreen TV’s.
The staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable. You can tell that because it is a smaller property, you really get personal service. I met the GM and the Director of Sales. They made me feel like they knew me for years.
I will never stay at any other property unless they are sold out.
The full buffet breakfast and the historical vault make it all that more memorable.
Give them a try, you will never lay your head anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kellex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

This hotel advertises a king sized bed and sofa bed. The sofa bed is a twin size and not made up with linens. We checked into the hotel with our two children @ 10 PM. When I called the front desk to ask why there were no linens on the bed, they responded by asking me, "well, why on earth would we put linens on the bed if the bed is going to be folded up?" We also needed a rollaway for our second child, since the sofa bed is a twin size. The first sofa bed wreaked of body odor. The second was brand new and fine. The location of the hotel is very good. Breakfast was adequate. The room itself was clean. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leah888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Downtown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hotel RL Baltimore Inner Harbor by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 120 E Redwood St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1207 (Formerly SpringHill Suites by Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#34 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#34 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $88 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites by Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor Downtown Hotel provides spacious suites 25% larger than comparably priced hotel rooms with complimentary internet and a daily breakfast buffet. We are a short 10 miles from the Baltimore-Washington International Airport (BWI) and within walking distance of Inner Harbor and the Baltimore Convention Center. The SpringHill Suites Baltimore Hotel is near several of the area's most exciting points of interest including Harborplace Baltimore, Ravens Stadium, The National Aquarium, Camden Yards and Harbor East. SpringHill Suites is located on the Purple Line, which provides free transportation to Penn Station and the historic Mount Vernon and Federal Hill neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Springhill Suites Baltimore Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing