We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The staff are friendly and efficient and the rooms are clean. This is a basic hotel with basic amenities aside from the suite layout of the rooms, i.e., separate sitting area and bedroom areas.

The hotel is in a converted bank where the vault was turned into a conference room with the original vault door intact (quite impressive). There are also beautiful marble staircases that remain. However, much of original beauty was covered with bland paint or hidden behind ugly walls (e.g., the ornate cast iron and marble staircase that runs the height of the building). It's a shame that so much charm and character were covered up with bland neutrality.

The Good:
The shower heads are high enough for for someone 6'2" to shower comfortably.
Nice room layout.
Nice staff.
Clean.
Within easy walking distance of the Inner Harbor - two blocks.

The Not so Good:
No room service.
Thin doors - all hall conversation sounds like it's in your room.
The free hot breakfast is all carbs except for the little containers of peanut butter. While they advertise eggs, none were available during my stay. Go elsewhere for a balanced breakfast.
Tiny bar area - not a big deal as there are many nearby watering holes.
If you like good coffee, ignore the in hotel "coffee." The in room coffee makers are designed to make single cups using specially packaged coffee and cannot be used to brew your own. However, there is a Starbucks and Caribou in walking distance.
The desks in the rooms cannot be comfortably used for extended periods because the desk chairs are far too low and cannot be adjusted. Using a laptop on the desk keeps one's arms and wrists at a very uncomfortable angle.

The Bad:
Parking is $32/day. There are cheaper local garages but they have no re-entry privileges. Consequently, if you plan to use your car during your stay, the hotel parking is cheaper.
There is no signage concerning parking. Pull up to the small hotel entrance and wait for a valet to appear. Valet parking is the only option.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mashuganah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 465 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

I just returned from a visit to the SpringHill Suites. We stayed in a king studio suite on the 10th floor. The room was a nice size, with a small sitting area and a fridge/microwave. I was attending a convention at the Baltimore Convention Center, and it was an easy walk to the Convention Center (less than 10 minutes). The area is convenient, there's a 7-11 and CVS close by along with a huge variety of restaurants and shopping.

I found the room to be quiet without much noise from the street, in spite of it being a busy business and tourist area. There are nice big flat screen TV's in the room and internet is included!

The building is beautiful, particularly the lobby. The staff was wonderful including the front desk staff and the housekeeper who worked on our floor.

The breakfast was good-- nice variety and it's really nice to have breakfast included, as well as complementary coffee brewing in the lobby throughout the day. There is a small business center located in the lobby where you can print a boarding pass or use the internet.

The only disappointment I had was in the beds. They were definitely in good condition and seemed relatively new, but they were much more firm than I have come to expect from a Marriott. I noticed that the sheets often popped off the corners of the bed and that the mattress cover sort of slid around on the mattress when I changed positions. The sheets were comfortable and the pillows were plentiful which was great!

There are lots of Marriott brand hotels in this area, I think the Springhill is a great value for business or leisure travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bklynKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I am a frequent guest of this hotel and enjoy the location and staff. The workout center isn't the greatest but it has most of the popular cardio machines.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillBaltimore, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor and most importantly, thank you for being a frequent guest. We appreciate your business.

We are currently reviewing proposals for a possible expansion of the exercise room. Our hope is to expand into the adjoining meeting room and adding a weight center.

Thanks again for your review.

Jason Curtis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We had a great weekend at the Springhill Suites. The service was top notch from the moment we pulled up. Valet parking greeted us, loaded our bags on a cart & met us at the front desk to escort us to our room. We felt like VIP's.
The room was clean & comfortable. Our son was super excited about his "magic" bed that transformed from a couch to a bed in a matter of minutes. He even helped to make it with the sheets & blanket from the closet. He felt super special too that he had his own TV. There is a microwave & mini-fridge in the room for snacks & drinks. Just be aware that there ARE NO UTENSILS so if you bring any leftovers back from restaurants for "mid-night snacking" be sure to bring some with you.
We were also able to par-take in the complimentary breakfast buffet each morning. The food was great!! Our son just loved the blueberry muffins & "make your own waffles" station.
The hotel is only a couple blocks from the Inner Harbor & once we checked in we walked everywhere. Plus the weather was spectacular for mid-March so we got really lucky.
On our last day there we were going to the National Aquarium but with check-out at noon we wondered about being able to come back later for our bags. The front desk clerk was so helpful. He tagged our bags for us & kept them in the back room until we returned later that afternoon. He even kept our leftovers from dinner the night before in the fridge for us.
This was a great place to stay with a super friendly & accommodating staff. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolphingirl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while in Baltimore for a wedding. It was very centrally located, only a few blocks from the church and reception and the Inner Harbor.

The room was huge! My husband and I shared a room with my parents and there was plenty of space for everyone. There was a sitting area with a desk, plus a kitchenette and a bedroom area. The sink was outside the shower and toilet, so that was helpful when everyone was getting ready. There was even a cute little nook thing that had nothing in it, but worked great as an extra changing space. The ceilings were so high it made the already large room seem huge. The closet was a little awkward, as the door was small but the closet was deep, so anything that went in the back was hard to get to. Also, the TV for the sitting area was hanging on a wall that faced another wall, and we all thought it had to swivel out, but it didn't so it was hard to see from the couches and the chair. It should either be moved or put on a swivel.

The hotel was really cute, and we loved the old touches like the marble staircases and the old mail box. You could tell it was an old building, but it was restored very nicely. The valet guys were very nice, they helped my husband carry our luggage upstairs and they also gave us directions when we asked. Check in was quick. Breakfast was pretty good, but I've had better in other Springhill Suites. It was lacking hard boiled eggs and cottage cheese. There was pretty much no options for anyone not looking to load up on carbs.

We walked to the Inner Harbor from the hotel and it was a quick couple of blocks. Definitely a must see while staying here.

Overall a good stay in a quaint hotel. I would recommend this place and stay here again if I ever am in Baltimore again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I stayed at the SpringHill Suites with my daughter for a college visit. The hotel lobby is lovely - I'm not sure what was there before the SH suites, but the windows, marble and other old architectural details are in keeping with an upscale hotel.

The suite was very pretty, but a bit quirky layout. The seating area was comfortable and good sized with a nice tv, kitchenette and desk. But, the light switches were not connected with any of the lamps, and it took awhile to turn on the lights since many were not controlled by the wall switches. Our room had a bit of a smokey smell, but when we inquired at the front desk, they reassured us that the hotel was non-smoking. I'm not sure if the scent was from the cleaner, a bit musty, or the result of a previous guest that lit up despite the rules. While the front desk offered to change our room, we had unpacked and decided to live with the odor.

The sleeping area was a very good size with very comfortable beds and linens. But the bathroom opened up to the bedroom and since there was no door to the vanity area, there was no privacy and very difficult to be quiet while others were sleeping. Maybe a pocket door would be a good solution. Otherwise - the bathroom fixtures and other appointments were very nice.

Breakfast was ok - seems like the eggs could be upgraded to traditional scrambled eggs and that cut up fruit could be offered. Seating was adequate. Elevators were quick and we never had to wait.

The location was great - a couple of blocks from the Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Where2gonexttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night while attending a function in Baltimore. My husband is a Gold Marriott Member and we actually had a free certificate for a category four or lower Marriott hotel. This hotel was chosen because it fit the category level and was closest to the function we attended.
Check in was a breeze. Walking through the lobby we noticed the architecture of this hotel. It was originally a bank and still retains a lot of it's charm. We had a large corner suite on the fourth floor. There was a separate sitting room with couch, coffee table, desk and a small kitchenette (Microwave, sink, fridge, coffee maker). The bedroom was quite large as well. No view to speak of but that didn't bother us. The Bathroom was unremarkable but fine. Room was very clean (except for fingerprints all over the fridge).
One elevator wasn't working while we were there which I think slowed things down a small amount. The bar was pretty small and basic open from 5-11. The breakfast served in the lobby area seemed to be well stocked. I would have liked to have seen real coffee cups instead or in addition to paper ones. There was a small "market" in the lobby where you could get some food items if needed.
Valet was efficient-a little pricey to park at $32 per day but they did inform us there was a public car park around the corner and could park for free all day on Sunday on the street. One of them even ran down the block to hail us a cab.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Downtown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hotel RL Baltimore Inner Harbor by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 120 E Redwood St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1207 (Formerly SpringHill Suites by Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#34 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $88 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites by Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor Downtown Hotel provides spacious suites 25% larger than comparably priced hotel rooms with complimentary internet and a daily breakfast buffet. We are a short 10 miles from the Baltimore-Washington International Airport (BWI) and within walking distance of Inner Harbor and the Baltimore Convention Center. The SpringHill Suites Baltimore Hotel is near several of the area's most exciting points of interest including Harborplace Baltimore, Ravens Stadium, The National Aquarium, Camden Yards and Harbor East. SpringHill Suites is located on the Purple Line, which provides free transportation to Penn Station and the historic Mount Vernon and Federal Hill neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Springhill Suites Baltimore Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing