We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place to stay to catch a game”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I just returned from a quick trip to Baltimore to catch a Red Sox-Orioles game. I booked at this hotel months ago because it was the most affordable place I found that was this close to Camden Yards. The staff was incredibly friendly, the place was very clean and safe, and the bed was really comfortable. Its location is perfect for Camden; you literally walk out the front door, cross the street and you're at the ballpark. The only caveat is that you should know overnight parking is $26; however, it's a small price to pay to be sure your car is safe. I plan on returning next year for another Red Sox-Orioles series, and I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrystalbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Beautiful room, comfortable bed, clean, quiet, great view. The only thing missing was a refrigerator in the room. The pool is also really small. Good exercise room, though. If you want to go to a baseball game, it is literally across the street from the stadium. However, if you want to ignore that it's there, you won't hear it and it won't bother you. The price was better than most other hotels for what you got for it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traverseforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The long and short: • 15 minute walk to Inner Harbor fun. • $26/ day parking • Walk out of hotel and right into Oriole Park fun -- literally steps to park • Clean, good service, basic room • Better than average breakfast -- fresh fruit salad, waffles, bacon, scrambled eggs, above-average coffee • Decent, albeit small, pool and fitness center although sign says pool doesn't open until 5 p.m. on weekdays -- don't know if that is accurate • Would definitely recommend although at $189 a night + parking I would consider it an "excellent" value

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SciGuyMrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Hampton Inn at Camden Yards was awesome. We stayed here to visit Camden Yards and see Orioles games, and also to visit the Baltimore Inner Harbor area.

The hotel was very very clean. The lobby area was nice (baseball themed.) There is a very good breakfast every morning. It includes bagels, pastries, english muffins, yogurt, cereal, waffles, and three hot items. (Hot items ranged from home fries, omelettes, porked ham, bacon, and bagel toppers during our stay.) There is also juice and coffee. In addition it seemed that the hotel provided cookies and baked goods at night which was nice.

The room was VERY spacious. We had a two bed studio. There was so much room. It had a fridge, microwave, desk, and a pullout couch (but don't count on the couch for a very good sleep. The person who slept on it said it was not comfortable at all.) The beds were comfy, and the bathroom and the vanity area were clean.

The pool is small, but it's nice. There is also a jacuzzi. In addition, there is a lifeguard on duty at all times. There is also a fitness area and a laundry area. I also used the business center, but if your counting on the computer to send business reports or something along those lines, I would be careful. The computer was sort of slow and very inconsistent.

The walk to Camden Yards is literally 30 seconds across the street. Right next to the hotel is Pickles Pub. The pub puts up tents and has a big bbq before every home game. The crowd is nice but they are loud. Camden Yards is amazing, I suggest you take the tour as well. Orioles.com has more info on the ballpark tour.

We visited the inner harbor area for the afternoon. It's very nice. We went to the Maryland Science Center. While nice, it's definitely geared towards younger children.

(Tip: The lifeguard gave us very good words of wisdom. When you step out the hotel main lobby door, go the left, NOT to the right. The neighborhood to the right of the hotel is not so good. To the left, (towards Pickles Pub, etc.) is nice.)

There is a $26 a night valet. There is basically nowhere to park in Baltimore. Keep in mind that your vehicle will likely be parked offsite a few blocks away. Remember to take your belongings, but if you forgot something the hotel will send someone to go get your stuff. Also, you need to call the lobby 15 minutes prior to getting your vehicle, so keep that in mind when planning your day.

In all honestly it does not make sense to shell out extra bucks to stay at the Hilton or Marriot in this area. The Hampton Inn @ Camden Yards was super clean, modern, and everything seemed very new. The location across from the ballpark could not be beat.

Have a great time, and if you have any questions about the hotel feel free to send me a message and I'll try to answer it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Check in went smooth; staff was helpful. Hotel looked new. Parking fee of $26, but it was reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. Top floor facing front of hotel, 2 Queen beds was perfect - quiet, very clean (and I am extremely picky). Beds were very comfortable and no problems with adjusting a/c in hotel room. Our stay was on a Wed. night so maybe the bar/restaurant next door could be noisy on the weekend, but we never heard any noise. Theme of hotel is baseball being across the street from Camden Yards - tastefully done. Lower level had nice pool, fitness area, laundry (I think it was complimentary-soap, etc.) Complimentary breakfast was nice-they did a nice job keeping it replenished and clean. Small business center was nice. Close to Inner Harbor -walking distance 10 min away. Felt very safe walking to the harbor. Hop, Skip, and a Jump to Convention Center. Had dinner at Moe's in the Italian section of town and took the restaurant's free shuttle back to hotel ($10 tip for 3 people). Would definately recommend and would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FindYourPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I spend about 75 nights a year in hotels so I've seen it all. This Hampton ranks right up there with some of the best hotels I've stayed in. If you're going to the baseball game the hotel is literally steps from the ballpark. I had a studio suite on the second floor, corner room with four windows and lots of light. It had a nice king bed, desk with plenty of work room, nice flat screen HDTV, fridge, pull out couch and everything was fairly new. The standard breakfast comes with the room, but I didn't get down to experience that. There are two pubs right next door to the hotel and from what I hear Pickles Pub is a great place to go. The walk to the Inner Harbor is about 10 minutes and during the day I felt safe. The only negative I experienced was my room on the second floor was very noisy. I slept fine, but if you have trouble sleeping at night due to sirens, street noise, etc, this might not be the hotel for you because there was LOTS of it! I believe there is a hospital nearby because ambulences were coming and going all night. Overall it was a great stay and I would go back next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

recently spent a quick overnight here and would return without hesitation. our room on the 8th floor was enormous .. king studio overlooking the stadium with a wet bar/refrigerator/microwave, pullout couch and flat screen tv.

the location can't be beat as it's right across the street from the ballpark and with breakfast included (and an indoor pool!), you really can't go wrong.

very clean, perfect location, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#15 of 67 in Baltimore
1,186 reviews
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Hilton Baltimore
#29 of 67 in Baltimore
2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $91 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, and University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can enjoy spacious accommodations and in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a free hot breakfast and WiFi access. Guests can recharge with a workout in the 24 hour fitness center or a dip in the indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing