We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, clean and comfortable, if website says fridge in room, make sure it's there, ours wasn't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, clean and comfortable, if website says fridge in room, make sure it's there, ours wasn't”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Liked the included breakfast very much. Lots of room to relax while waiting for room to be ready. Valet was funny, personable and just great. Pool wasn't open until five so that was a bit disappointing as we couldn't swim in the morning. There was a lifeguard which was superb, safety first. Website stated that our room would have a fridge but it did not. Liked the fact that there were microwavable meals available for purchase in the lobby if one was too tired to go out and eat; I assume there was a microwave at guest services, there was none in our room. The staff was friendly, the room was very clean, tv's in good working order etc. Bathroom was very nice and for the time of year, the room was a good price, about the same as other nice hotels in the area but with the included breakfast, that made our decision. Breakfast was really good, fresh fruit, eggs, hot and cold cereals and so much more. Coffee, hot chocolate and tea in the lobby was much appreciated and plentiful at all times. Able bodied people can walk to most tourist attractions from here and the free buses in the area are simply awesome. If you are one to not like valet parking, you might change your mind with this one, the attendant had a great sense of humour and bent over backwards to help us several times and was worth the price. He is an asset to the hotel as his is the first face you see.

Room Tip: There was traffic noise but not too bad. Not sure if this could have been avoided. Other than that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with all my team and particulary the valet attendant. I would like to assure you that we are in the process of adding fridges and microwaves to all our guests rooms.
Thank you again for staying with us.
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    393
    82
    30
    7
See reviews for
484
301
81
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My family and I were able to get a great rate through Priceline. We didn't know what to expect since it was located right across from Camden Yards, but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was very pleasant, there were freshly baked cookies in the lobby, and the rooms very very clean. The most important thing to be about a hotel is the bed and the AC and both were great
:-) We were able to blast the AC as cold as we wanted to and the beds, although small, were very comfortable. The free breakfast in the morning is simple but good and it's nice that they offer it in a city where everything else costs money. The parking is a little steep at $29 a night, but we found parking for $14 a night and simply took one of the free commuter busses to the Camden Yard area and walked a block to our hotel. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Baltimore. Oh, and there's also a small indoor pool/hot tub which is nice after a day of walking! We couldn't have asked for more for a quick 2 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singx19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at a Hampton property in June and decided to try this hotel in Baltimore .
Everyone on staff was excellent and very caring . Our room was great ,breakfast was excellent . The food choices were outstanding .
The valet staff was excellent as well. We checked out earlier today .They inquired where we were going and gave us excellent directions .We will definitely return the next time we are in Baltimore.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor .We heard no noise at all .We had 2 wonderful nights of sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank len16107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the nice feedback about our hotel and staff. I am so glad to hear that your family had a pleasant stay with us. I will pass your feedback to all my team
We look forward to extending our best hospitality to you and your family in your next visit to Baltimore
Thank you
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palos heights
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location, clean room, wonderful breakfast. We will be back when the new Horseshoe opens or for a Orioles game. Hotel is right across the street. Keep up the good work. The staff are friendly and attentive. The only draw back is the pool is located in the basement.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deby p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a nice review about my hotel on Trip Advisor! I am thrilled that you found the staff friendly and helpful. Thanks for your business and I would love to welcome you back to my hotel on your next visit to Baltimore
Than you
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle,
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This Hampton Inn is about as luxurious as you can get for a Hampton Inn. We were in a 2 queen studio suite. The room was huge. There was a couch, a little sink and fridge area, 2 beds, and a large closet. The windows are enormous. The staff was great- always smiling, and offering to give directions. It is literally across the street from the baseball stadium, and next door to a few baseball centric bars- there was an afternoon game when we stayed, so you could feel the festive mood in the air. You are about ten minute walk from Inner Harbor, but it's a nice walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J Eliza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for filling out a nice review on Trip Advisor about my hotel! We love hearing from our happy guests! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our large guest rooms and the location being right next to Camden Yards!
Best Regards
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooretown
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Can't get much closer to Camden Yards for a ball game than this hotel. If you are coming to stay here on game night I would suggest getting here early. The area around the hotel gets blocked off (you can still get in...just a pain), Tons of vendors and the Pickle Pub attached to the hotel is packed. Very close to the harbour area. Hotel is nice and breakfast was great. Valet parking is great but too expensive. $20 is plenty for valet parking, not $29 plus tax...the hotel gouges its guests in my opinion. Valet guys were great though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
I wanted to thank you for taking a moment to write a nice review about my hotel on Trip Advisor! We love hearing from our happy guests! It was so nice to hear that you had a good stay .Thanks for choosing our hotel.
Thank you
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Bring ear plugs if you anticipate sleeping while LG HVAC unit is running. THe wall thermostat was missing, but the controls on the unit itself did not accurately maintain the temperature selected. If comfort and quiet during the nights rest is something you expect, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hampton Inn Convention Center, MD. I am sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Per our telephone conversation, I thank you for giving us the opportunity to resolve the issue.
Thank you
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Baltimore
#28 of 66 in Baltimore
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing