We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for BGP!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during the Grand Prix. We only live about 20 miles away, but the price was so great that we had to book it. We volunteered with the BMW CCA, so getting a room made it easy for us to get to the corral by 7am each morning and allowed us to take a break during the day to cool off and freshen up.

Ashlie at the front desk was GREAT! She allowed us to check-in super early (about 6 hours early) and gave us a room with a great view of the track. Other staff at the hotel were very nice and professional as well.

Breakfast was light and snacks are available in the afternoon. My only complaint is the parking. The hotel does not have it's own garage or lot, so valet and street parking are the only options. Other garages are available, but a few blocks away.

If the race returns next year, we will definitely come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rose21043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Rose21043,

Thank you for staying with us. Please don't think you have to wait a whole year to come in for another visit! I'm sorry that parking was a little tough over the Grand Prix. Our primary hotel is the Hilton next door, so it is usually very easy for the valet staff to park and retrieve your vehicle. With the track preventing access to the Hilton, we had to use an alternate garage. I know the valet staff works hard to take great care of your car and get it back to you as quickly as possible when you are ready to leave. When you are looking at your next visit, be sure to ask about a rate that includes parking for your first vehicle!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is right across the street from the field. You could not ask for more! Don't expect much from the free breakfast. Breakfast consisted of some type of eggs with cheese and bacon, hash browns and make your own waffles. Breads, cereals, pastries, dry cereal were also available. Very clean hotel & friendly staff. Warning: If driving to hotel on game day, follow the alternate directions. We literally drove in a circle three times. When we turned left onto Washington Street there were so many people on the sidewalks and in the street, we could not see the hotel name. If you pass Pickles Bar, you went to far! It is literally right before the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Michael I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. I'm sorry if you had any problems getting to the hotel. Thank you for sharing a few pointers on getting to the hotel. If you ever have questions about alternate routes that might make it easier, please don't hesitate to contact us here at the hotel for more information.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family stayed at the Hampton Inn for 6 nights. We found the room to be nice and clean. We always had fresh linens and towels each morning and the staff even set up my kids animals like they were sleeping. The kids got a kick out of it. We found the staff to be helpful and the hotel security to be very pleasant and knowledgeable of the surrounding. Pool and fitness center were nice and clean as well. And there is also a laundry center with complimentary laundry supplies which came in so handy with the kids. We look forward to our next stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Sherry S,

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly enjoyed having you here with us. I'm glad you and your entire family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is directly across the street from the ballpark and the rooms are spacious, clean and updated. Pool is in basement level but too warm and humid in the enclosed room to enjoy it. Staff were extremely polite, friendly and accommodating with multiple room requests and changes. Ashley was very patient and professional each time I called. The pubs below the hotel are "party central" but it quiets down very quickly once the baseball game is over. Area is very congested especially within a couple of hours of game time so arrive and let the valet park your car at least 3-4 hours before game time if possible. Best Hampton in the chain!!!

Room Tip: Request high floor for partial view of the exterior of Camden Yards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KKB0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello KKB0611,

Thank you for staying with us! Best in the chain is high praise! We appreciate your comments about the staff. I look forward to sharing your feedback with Ashelie. Thank you for commenting about the noise surrounding the hotel for baseball games. We get a lot of questions about what to expect. We really never notice it, and have very few negative comments about it from guests once they have stayed here and seen it in person. It sure looks like it could be a problem, but we are happy that it isn't!

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Going to a baseball or football game? This is your hotel. Going to the Inner Harbor? Not so much.

It was probably only 10 blocks to the end of the Inner Harbor but it was a LONG 45-minute walk for our two young kids. We probably should have stayed closer into town.

The hotel was beautiful and new. Also very quiet (although I doubt this is the case on game days with the string of bars adjacent to the front door!)

Parking was terribly expensive. Not only does the hotel charge $29 a day, but there is a city parking tax of $5 a day as well. The staff were great though, the valet staff were especially friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the stadium are a great view. I read that rooms facing the back hear the fire truc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello TDNY,

Thank you for posting your feedback about our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry that the walk to the harbor was more than you expected, it's always hard to know what is a comfortable distance, and I can understand it might be long for young children. We have families of all ages stay with us and visit the harbor, so it's good to get your input. We often recommend the Charm City Circulator to move around Baltimore as well. They pick up in front of the Hilton next door and take you right down to the harbor. Best of all, it's free! I'm sorry we didn't do a better job of making you aware of this.

I do apologize for the parking in downtown Baltimore. We do our best to keep our rates as low as possible. I'm glad you were happy with the service the valet staff provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent hotel right across from baseball stadium and down the street from Inner Harbor. We have stayed here many, many times and it is always very clean and comfortable. Staff is very, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Larry J,

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when you come to Baltimore. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location to camden yards, across the street. less then a mile to innerharbor, downtown area. clean and safe area of Baltimore. Staff was very helpful. Easy access from and to highway-95. Plenty of nice resturants within a half mile walk of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Christopher G,

Thank you for your comments. We certainly enjoy our location here with all of the great restaurants and activities so close. It doesn't hurt to be right across the street from Camden Yards either! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#14 of 67 in Baltimore
1,187 reviews
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Hilton Baltimore
#29 of 67 in Baltimore
2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $91 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, and University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can enjoy spacious accommodations and in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a free hot breakfast and WiFi access. Guests can recharge with a workout in the 24 hour fitness center or a dip in the indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing