We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baseball, breakfast and fan friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Harbor, Fl., United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Baseball, breakfast and fan friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have stayed in this facility numerous times and look forward to my next visit. House is clean, comfortable and secure. Staff is always friendly and accommodating to any request. A complimentary breakfast and across the street form Oriole Park, is this heaven ?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello Charles M,

No this isn't heaven, or Iowa for that matter. It's better! We love our location across from Camden Yards. We are glad you love it too! Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to having you back again soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    378
    78
    25
    7
See reviews for
464
278
74
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room was clean and well appointed. The WiFi was strong. The wide array of choices for breakfast, with a choice of newspapers, was included in the price. The staff was very friendly and bent over backwards to be helpful. The location was perfect. It faces the stadium, but was soundproofed and quiet,.
Just letting you know that the closet is behind the large mirror.I poked around and found how to open it. Our friends stayed in a nearby room and thought their room didn't come with a closet! The closet should have a handle on it or some notification.

Room Tip: Just letting you know that the closet is behind the large mirror.I poked around and found how to ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello shelynne,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm sorry the closet door was not as clearly marked as you had hoped. We will look into ways of identifying the door so everyone knows that there is a closet behind the big mirror.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon. We look forward to bending over backwards for all of our guests!

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the desk are horrid. My room was not as requested. Changed rooms and new room had an engineer in there. But Darrell helped me and was 10 times better at CARING about my troubles just getting the right room. He should be given a raise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello KCS1958,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I'm very glad to see that Darrell made everything right for you in your room. I do apologize for the miscommunication surrounding the assignment of your room. We hope you will come back for another visit when you return to Baltimore.

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip which had that been the only thing going on in town would have been great. Unfortunately the Red Sox had just left town with their thousands of fans. I showed up around 2 and was told my room wasn't ready and they would call when it was ready. I had lunch walked around for a bit and then checked back. The room was ready however they never called to let me know. I think this is the first time I've ever checked into a hotel and they haven't had any rooms. The hotel is nice for conferences. I think they could stand to increase the restaurants / bars in the hotel as it is limited for such a large hotel. Rooms were basic but comfortable and in new condition.

Room Tip: Some rooms look into the Stadium which is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello cliff2026,

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback about your visit. I'm sorry to see that we didn't have a room ready for you when you arrived. We work hard to have rooms ready as quickly as possible, so I'm sorry we let you down this time. We hope you will come back for another visit soon. If you know you are coming in early, please give us a call ahead of time so we can make sure you get one of the first rooms available that day.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Hampton Inn is extremely well located. The rooms are updated and very clean. The staff is very helpful and courteous. We will choose this hotel again while visiting Baltimore. Orioles fans are sure to appreciate this hotel as it is just on the other side of the street from Camden Yards.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are facing Camden Yards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanBoy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Danledan11,

Thank you for choosing our hotel! We know you have options when selecting a hotel in Baltimore, but we are happy you gave us a chance to take care of you. I'm glad you liked our rooms. I'm proud to say that we have a few small improvements planned for the end of this year, but I promise those improvements won't disrupt your stay if you happen to be here while we are working on the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This Hampton Inn was very very beautiful with an extremely convenient location (steps from Camden yards). We will stay here again! The only down side was valet parking only. I'm not use to it so I was a bit nervous... but my car came back A-OK and the staff was friendly and I felt safe... I'll do it again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGMcferrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello EGMcferrin,

Thank you for staying with us. I also want to thank you for recognizing the valet staff. They work hard to ensure your stay with us starts and ends well by taking great care of your car. Parking is a bit of a challenge here in the downtown area, but we work hard to make it an enjoyable experience.

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is new and very well maintained. The entire staff is helpful and courteous. It is right at the doorstep of the Orioles ballpark. Although not staying for a game, public transportation( Charm City Circulator) is 2 blocks up and two blocks over. This made the location convenient for our sightseeing needs. It was really kind of fun when the fans set up shop outside the doorstep on game night, 2 bars in close proximity made for a somewhat lively crowd. Rooms were large and bathroom was nice with plenty of towels. Cannot find a fault, would stay there again due to the warmth and professionalism of their employees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello jije,

Thank you for your feedback. The Charm City Circulator really is a great asset to the city that makes so many great attractions convenient from our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took good care of you. We hope you will come back for another visit soon.

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing