We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just returned from a weekend stay, Hotel was easy to find coming off the highway. It is only valet. I had a great deal of 124.00 wheel in deal. I booked a few weeks earlier.We had a large spacious king room with a pull out. I liked the lay out of the room, it wasn't the typical, which made it so roomy. It was very clean and have plenty of towels. Breakfast was the normal HI foods. Omletes, steak/egg, ham/eggs and french toast were the hot selections. It was good. The area was crowded. The ice machines on 5 and 6th floors did not work the whole time. The pool had a lifeguard on duty. They also offer free laundry facilities with detergent, that was a nice touch if you need to do wash. Just outside the door is a bar with some good deals from 3-9 daily. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello vikster1,

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to make sure you have everything you need, so I'm sorry for any inconvenience caused by our temporary setback with the ice machines, but I'm glad they were back in service quickly. Our breakfast certainly has a lot of options, I'm glad you enjoyed the free laundry and that our location was convenient for you. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    387
    81
    28
    7
See reviews for
475
293
81
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a standard chain hotel in roughly comparable to a British brand like Premier Inn. It is located directly across the road from the baseball stadium.The room, bed and furniture comfortable, clean good quality and by English standards the room was enormous. The only thing missing was a wardrobe to hang clothes and tea bags as well as coffee bag might have gone well with the coffee/tea maker (although you could take some from the breakfast buffet area with no problem). Free wi-fi was a boon and worked well and, as there was quite a good desk and a lot of space, I ended getting quite a bit of work done

Breakfast was a rather limited by quite acceptable buffet, although the breakfast area is quite small and get a bit crowded in the morning.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Inner Harbour area when the larger hotels and convention centres are.

There a couple of sports bars/pubs right by the hotel packed on the evenings when there were baseball games which looked a bit rowdy and gave the area round the hotel a slightly seedy feel, but, unlike a British pub packed full of drinking football fans, in reality it was all pretty safe and unthreatening.

Staff were polite and efficient

Room Tip: Consider a back-facing room to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello ProfessorY,

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your candid feedback and that you provide a different perspective on our hotel. I'm sorry you weren't able to find the closet. It is located behind the large mirror on the wall near the bathroom. It is often overlooked, but provides a good amount of hanging storage.

I'm glad that you found our baseball fans to be spirited but not threatening. We are certainly glad you chose our hotel for your stay and hope you would consider coming back for another visit!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is the second year we have gone to a Baltimore Orioles/NY Yankees game at Camden Yards. Being a Hilton Honors member has put us right across the street at the Hampton Inn. The room we had was spacious, clean with plenty of fresh towels. Staff friendly and attentive including valet parking service. Will definitely be going back next year. Breakfast items plentiful, but have had better eggs and meats in other Hamptons and Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jtbird57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello jtbird57,

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Baltimore and Camden Yards. I also want to thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm going to review the menu and preparation instructions with our team to make sure we are delivering the kind of breakfast you expect from Hampton Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. Staff was very good. Breakfast every morning but not much protein beyond eggs ( which weren't great) and yogurt. Eggs had cheese mixed in and was salty. Just ate breakfast there 2x. If you enjoy make you own waffles, cereals, danish, muffins etc for breakfast then you'll be happy. On 4th floor looking down on to Green St and power station. Could hear street traffic. Air conditioner unit(Trane) was super noisy. Every time it turned on it gurgled. Also, black out blinds didn't overlap so there were rays of light waking me up along with the gurgling and traffic. That said, I was still able to get about 5 hrs of good sleep every night which is adequate for me. Would have liked to get an additional 2 but the above noise etc woke me up. Room was clean. No in room safe. Safety deposit box at front desk. There was a baseball game every day that we were there. Lots of activity around the hotel as a result. 3 bars that cater to baseball crowd adjacent to hotel. If you're coming to go to Camden Yards then the hotel is conveniently located. Although, I really wouldn't want to try parking or even getting to the hotel by car on game day. Nightmare. Walking thought the crowd of people was bad enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Island411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Island411,

Thank you for a very complete review of our hotel. I appreciate your attention to detail. If possible, I would like to speak directly with you to get more information about your stay so we can make sure we address the noisy A/C unit in that room. Please contact me here at the hotel or respond to the direct message I've sent you.

Again, thank you for your review. Please let me know if there is anything else I can help with.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have stayed here numerous times and always satisfied. The hotel is always clean and the staff are always friendly. The complimentary breakfast is very good. Location is fantastic. We have stayed here to go to Johns Hopkins Hospital and it is the most convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very good hotel, optimum value, good services, clean, good location. Pool, gym club. Nearby the Hilton at 5 min from the Convention center, in front of the Baseball stadium. I recommend it for a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Alberto B,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you think we are a great hotel at a fair price. We understand that you have many options when you come to Baltimore, so we work hard to make sure you enjoy your stay here at our hotel. We hope to see you again!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff welcomes you with an opened door and a smile. The rooms were very spacious and clean. I have never found a better bed in a hoteI. I wish I could have taken it home with me. I cannot wait to go back next year for my next convention

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello Alison H,

We can't wait for your next convention either! We love having you here! We'll be right here with our arms open, ready for your next visit!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Baltimore
#28 of 66 in Baltimore
2,482 reviews
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing