We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was the perfect hotel for our trip to Baltimore to see the Orioles vs Yankees and other Inner Harbor sites. The hotel is so close to the stadium you can hear the annoucer calling batters to the plate!!! Buffet breakfast was fully stocked each a.m., free popcorn in afternoons, and fresh baked cookies in the evening. (24 coffee/tea in lobby as well.) Staff very friendly and rooms spacious and clean. Only downside was odd pool hours (5pm-10pm) which didn't fit into our schedule. Short walk to Inner Harbor as well. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you don't want evening noise when the O's are in town, request a room away from the stadi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    377
    78
    25
    7
See reviews for
464
275
73
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My family just returned from watching a Yankee/Orioles series. This hotel is very clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They have a wonderful free continental breakfast in the morning. They also had in the afternoon free popcorn, juice and sometimes fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. The pool was only open from 5-10 pm but that was ok because they had a lifeguard on duty too. This is a great hotel especially if you are coming to see a baseball game, all you do is walk across the street and into the ballpark. We could also see the Ravens stadium too from our window. I suggest that you pay to have your car keeps in the valet parking. These guys also did a great job with moving all the cars around. To get to the inner harbor you can walk its about 15 minutes or you can go around the block and take the free shuttle.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport,NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

If you plan on going to the Orioles game and that is it this is the hotel for you. It is directly across from the stadium and right next door to a few pubs that have cheap beer and food before the game.The rooms were very clean.
The downside was the pool hours during the week day are 5 pm-10pm! My kids were so looking forward to swimming before the baseball game and in the morning before check out and was unable to because of the pool hours. We went to the front desk to ask where the pool was as my kids are standing next to me in their bathing suits, they told us on the bottom floor and never mentioned the pool hours until we saw the sign on the pool door. You think he would of told us that before sending us down there. The free breakfast was not the greatest either and extremely busy,we had to bring our food up to the room to eat, there was no room to sit.
If you want to see a ball game and that is it then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yanksfan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valatie, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We spent St Patrick's Day week-end at the Hampton in Baltimore. The hotel was great. They upgraded our room at no extra charge. Our room over looked Camden Yards. We parked at Camden instead of using the valet parking. It was just a short walk to the hotel. We could see our car from our room.The location was great. We walked to everything. Breakfast was good. Every night they put out cookies, popcorn, and pink lemonade. It was nice coming back to a treat. I love Hampton Inn's. We plan to go back and will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrill999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids aged 2.5 and 9mo) stayed in this hotel for one night, prior to going on a cruise departing from Baltimore. We almost always travel with our kids, so keeping them happy (=well fed and rested) is extremely important. Hampton's Inn accommodated us very well: a crib that we requested was already set up when we came, as well as was a sofa bed for my elder daughter. When we asked reception for directions to the nearest grocery store to buy a carton of milk and yoghurt for the kids, she actually went to the hotel's kitchen and grabbed us some. It is not often that we see a hotel/etc going out of its way accommodating family with little kids, so we were quite impressed with the service.
Otherwise, the hotel was clean and located a walking distance from downtown, so we'd definitely stay there again. Also, there is a great simple restaurant on the same block as the hotel is (kind of around the corner), called Potbelly's. Excellent sandwiches/salads/soups/milkshakes for great prices.
Our only negative experience was the taxi ride from the hotel to the ship the following morning. When checking out, we asked for a taxi, and a hotel taxi driver (with a hotel name tag) came right out. My husband asked if he charges taxi rates, and the driver said yes. The ride to the port was really short (10 min max), and he charged us $25. When after the cruise we took a regular taxi back from the ship to the hotel area, the ride cost $10. Lesson: just ask the hotel to call you a regular taxi!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arenteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here 1 night because it was across from the ballpark and 2 blocks from University of Maryland Medical School. The room was lovely - faced camden yards. We felt safe in this area and we walked to the Inner Harbor from here - about 20 minutes. Breakfast (free) in the morning was great and we saw that the lobby is a baseball field! Valet parking is expensive but so is all other parking in downtown.

Room Tip: Looking out at the ballpark is fun, but we couldn't see inside the park even on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hippolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here on business for four nights. Everything about the hotel was terrific. Our room was clean and orderly, as were the public areas. The room was made-up everyday and was a pleasure to return to. The location is also great. It is literally a baseball throw from Camden Yards and just down the street from the football stadium. From BWI airport you can take the light rail to the hotel, although you will have to walk about two blocks, from the Camden Yard stop or the convention center stop. It is an easy walk to get to the convention center from the hotel and the walk to the Harbor is not that far. The hotel offers a free breakfast buffet every morning, which is more than adequate. There are also a number of places for lunch and dinner right nearby, although the music can be loud - highly recommend Franks and Nicks. We found the staff extremely helpful and courteous. This hotel was a great find for value and convenience in Baltimore.

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyprovence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing