We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, hidden in plain sight.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2011

At the time we booked our stay, the Hampton was about $100 less expensive than nearby hotels. We made our reservations anyway, wondering what the catch was. There wasn't one! It's a comfortable, clean hotel. The staff has found the "sweet spot" between friendliness and professionalism.

The rooms seem to have been renovated in the recent past. The furniture is modern (but not to the point of being alien), and the bedding looks and feels fresh. Even the elevator is quick, with very soft starts and stops. If having a nice view or avoiding traffic sounds are important to you, asking for a particular room location can help. For the best view, ask for a room on the highest floor available on the front of the building (or at least the side). To try and avoid noise, I'd suggest the back of the building, which doesn't overlook a street. Keep in mind, though, that this is a city, and you're bound to hear something.

The location is excellent. This little Hampton occupies a wedge of land that's only 2 blocks from the Inner Harbor, and if you're going to a Orioles or Ravens game, the stadiums are directly across the street. The convention center is only one block away. If you're looking for a good restaurant, there are at least two on the same block.

Workout facilities were minimal, but there was a dedicated workout room with equipment in excellent condition. I didn't use the pool, but it appeared to be on par with everything else.

Great stay at a great price. We'll definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Best view/quietest room are mutually exclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redshift9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

Good hotel directly across the street from Camden Yards.

Basic room with really comfortable beds. Room also has large LCD television able to hook up an external device (computer). No refrigerator or microwave in either room I stayed in.

Their Internet provider is AT&T. Both times I stayed here both the wired and wireless connections were awful. Very, very slow speeds. They should not be able to call it high speed. Brought it to the hotels front desk staff both times. They should look for a different provider/have a faster connection speed for the quantity of rooms that they have.

Parking is valet only. $26/day with in/out privileges. Not a big deal, because only needed my car a couple times during the stay. They have hardly any space onsite. If you don't want to valet, there is self park for $28/day at the hilton across the street.

Free breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urontv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Very large rooms, clean, surprisingly quiet considering its location. Breakfast was above average but not outstanding. Employees seemed happy and were helpful. Adequate exercise facilities, nice pool and hot tub both on the basement level. Remember to take into account the nightly parking fee... currently 26 per night... Valet only

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Everything was outstanding-friendly, helpful staff, quiet, clean and, well equipped room

The breakfast was inadequate

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I booked 10 rooms because our FIRST Robotics Team 1699 was competing at the Baltimore Convention Center. The convention center was about 2 blocks away from the hotel, so it was very convent. We had 14 students, 4 junior mentors(students that had graduated but came to help us out and cheer us on), and 7 mentors. Our rooms were spacious with queen size beds. Everything was spotless. Ladies you know how hard it is to keep snow white white. In this hotel they had snow white coverlets on all the quilts, and they were snow white. There wasn't a spot on any of them. The rest of the hotel was just as clean.

Every morning we had a hot breakfast that was served from 6:00 am to 10:00 am. These breakfasts consisted of eggs and either a sausage, ham, canadian bacon or bacon and some kind of home fries. There was also the choice of fresh fruits, dry cereal, donuts, muffins, bagels, coffees, teas, juices, and milks.

Some of our students had birthdays, so I brought cupcakes and frosting to celebrate. We did not eat all of them, so the put the frosting in the hotel refrigerator so we could use it the next day.

Two days before we arrived it occured to me that we had some students that were allergic to feathers. This hotel had feather pillows and quilts. I caled and requested that 5 of the rooms not have feathers. They were not sure who would get what room, so they took them out of all the rooms, and anyone who wanted feathers could just ask and they could get them.

We spent most of our time at the convention center and Inner Harbor, which is about 2 blocks from the convention center. We went to the Aquarium and several restaurants, and a few of the mall shops. We had a great time and we won the regional.

I can not say enough good things about this hotel. They bend over backwords to make everything you want and need happen.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catslmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This hotel turned out to be such a great deal all the way around. We were going to see Les Miserables at the Hippodrome, so we got a great discount for this Hampton Inn through the Theatre's website. Then we were also able to get half off admission to the Sports Museums by saying that we stayed at this Hampton Inn. Easy walk to the Light Train stop at Camden Yards. (Took the Light Train in from the airport for $1.60 each person!) Very comfy room. Slept very well on great beds and pillows. Not the room that I had booked, so the manager graciously refunded the entire bill due to Hampton Inn's "Satisfaction Guaranty Policy"! Hampton Inn rocks!
Very nice free breakfast options, including a waffle station.
Spotlessly clean and quiet.
If we are lucky enough to come back to Baltimore, this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JILLYFISHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Granted us an early check in after relocating from another hotel that was having heating/cooling problems. Fresh, clean, brightly decorated with comfortable furnishings...cool baseball glove chair in the lobby! Breakfast very conveniently arranged - not stumbling over other diners for service...lots of seating in breakfast area. Very efficient staff in breakfast area. Parking attendants are prompt and so pleasant! Smiles all around, helpful loading and unloading luggage and offering directions around town. Room was quiet, comfortable and spacious. Pool/ hot tub area was beautiful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooperswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Baltimore
#29 of 67 in Baltimore
2,652 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 67 in Baltimore
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $92 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, and University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can enjoy spacious accommodations and in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a free hot breakfast and WiFi access. Guests can recharge with a workout in the 24 hour fitness center or a dip in the indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing