We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay and a heck of a value so I would stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Near Pimlico Racetrack
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay and a heck of a value so I would stay here again.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

First the neighborhood. Not the worst nor is it the best that I have ever stayed in. I am a Caucasian male and I did not have any problems or feel any problems were to occur checking it at midnight. This is Baltimore folks. This is a multicultural ethnic neighborhood. Don't let it bother you and it shouldn't bother you. The check in was quick and cordial. It has a 2 story inside corridor layout which is quite convenient. The rooms were nicely remodeled. The mattress looked new. Some of the natural wood furniture could have used a refinishing. My room was spotlessly clean including the carpet. It included a desk, a sofa and an upholstered chair. The air works well and the room was quiet. Definitely one of the better of the brand that I have stayed at. When I need to stay in this area again I will stay here again. I do not feel that the neighborhood is a deal breaker. This is Baltimore folks.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    6
    11
See reviews for
4
4
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was traveling for Baltimore Comic Con last weekend and I found this surprisingly nice despite the reviews. Please don't let the other reviews lead you away this is a nice mom and pop Econolodge that is within walking distance from the Baltimore Subway station at a very nice price. The breakfast was very nice with bagels, coffee, and cinnamon pinwheels as well although the only extremely minor downside was the orange juice from the dispenser was noticeably watered down from the taste but at the price that isn't a major issue. The TV was a standard tube TV with some movie channels but this never really phases me because I am always using my tablet. Barring these miniscule issues this is one of the best Econolodge properties I have stayed at. I don't know what hotel the others who have left reviews here have stayed at but I would definitely stay here again.
Very friendly staff nice clean room keep up the good work. This is definitely a nicer alternative than the Rodeway Inn in midtown if you don't mind a little 20 minute subway ride downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzz86us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed for two nights while apartment hunting with my boyfriend; we were relocating from Chicago. The hotel itself is just fine and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Even the people in the neighborhood were quite nice. However, it was rather obvious that two young, professional, gay, white males DO NOT belong in this location. We used public transport to get everywhere; I now know what it's like to have EVERYONE stare at you while you walk down the street. I didn't see any white people the whole time. I normally feel pretty comfortable being the minority, but definitely not the only. I witnessed a drug deal from my room. I got about 8 hang up calls. Left first thing in the morning. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baltimore hotels

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First off, I'm not a picky traveler and I realize that when you buy with a Kayak or Priceline that you're going to get what you pay for. HOWEVER...the pictures on travel websites do NOT accurately portray this horrible, run down, dangerously located property. We were supposed to stay at the Red Carpet Inn, paying for a non-smoking pet friendly room, only to find out they don't allow pets and the rooms aren't non-smoking. My hubby checked the room out while I waited in the parking lot with the doors locked (with people screaming and fighting with each other) and said we couldn't stay there. The door didn't close all the way and it stunk to high heaven of cigarette smoke.

So, the guy at the front desk, who was very snarly, didn't speak English, didn't understand anything I was asking, shuffled us off to the Econo Lodge property behind the Red Carpet Inn. Apparently, it's the same company. They're non-smoking and pet friendly. We asked to have a new receipt to state the change and he wouldn't do it and said to come back. We checked into the Econo Lodge with no paperwork and the guy just handing us a key. I asked for a receipt and he said I'd have to get it from the Red Carpet. We'd deal in the morning.

The room there was okay. Didn't smell and I could at least sleep there without keeping one eye open. It was pet friendly, so our two cats were good. Until.....one of them started playing with something...a packet...looked like a bag of M&Ms. NO...it was a pack of rat/rodent repellent. The package was compromised and I didn't know if my fur baby had done it or if a resident rat had done it. So, off we go to the Pet ER thirty minutes away. Two hundred dollars later, we had to have our baby's stomach pumped to make sure he got no rat poison. He's fine -- thank GOD! -- and the next morning when we checked out, we tried to complain to the manager. Not one to be found. We got a hand written receipt from the Red Carpet Inn saying we'd stayed there, but that was it. When I tried to explain what had happened and I was forming a complaint, the guy acted like he didn't understand me at all. Pretending not to speak English.

This was such a frustrating experience! I'm still waiting to hear from Red Carpet/Econo Lodge about reimbursement for my pet's vet bill since their "pet friendly" hotel had RAT POISON in the room.

DO NOT stay here. Not alone. Not as a family. Not as a couple. Not as a business person. Never. Don't do it. Pay more money and stay somewhere else...or just keep driving. This was a horrible experience and someone WILL be reimbursing us for what happened.

Horrible customer service, questionable clientele, nasty section of town. Avoid at all costs. I'm not exaggerating.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marley_h_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I fall pray to this one for the low price n hasty booking. This is the worst place to stay. unsafe neighborhood, unclean room n rest rooms. All that is still manageable. But this place is a nightmare, u have completely naked, drunk girls running amuck in the corridore, people shouting and banking their doors, pimps, drug peddlers trying to make a business. thank god i was not shot or robbed, but I could have been so sure. I could sleep with the noise and the un-safe feeling. The beds were dirty (may be bed-bugs), had stains, hairs and holes from cigarette... It was a nightmare n will never again be here or recommend anyone to be there.

Room Tip: Just dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Located just outside of the Park Heights neighborhood, this Econo Lodge is not the ideal vacation spot. Driving down from Boston, we decided to crash here on our way back from DC (trying to cut time off the drive). There is considerable poverty in this area, but the people around town were not a problem. I'm more likely to have my car broken into at home than here. We found the staff to be helpful and kind after an initial mixup with our online booking.

The room was HUGE, with a large king-size bed, an entire couch and a lot of floor space. A mini-fridge, microwave, and TV are also available. I could easily fit my entire life in this room. My boyfriend found the bed uncomfortable, but I thought it was great (I was also dead exhausted). Even in the non-smoking room, however, the scent of old cigarettes did linger throughout the hotel. If you are especially sensitive to this, you may want to book elsewhere. Embarking early on a 8 hour drive, I appreciated the complimentary breakfast (coffee, juice, and carbohydrates) which was simple but gratifying.

All in all, I won't seek out this area again, but considering the service and the size/cleanliness of the room, I would say this was a pretty good value.

Room Tip: Non-smoking king is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This place smells... literally.
The cigarette smoke can be smelt from the moment you walk in at the counter, breakfast room, hallways and even a stale smell in the (non-smoking room). The building is old, half hour drive from central Baltimore in a not so great area of town.
Breakfast was OK, but happy to leave. Interestingly, one of the more expensive places I stayed in yet not as good as some of the cheaper motels. The staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
Americas Best Value Inn
#49 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#51 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Pikesville
#2 of 4 in Pikesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#27 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Near Pimlico Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Near Pimlico Racetrack

Property: Quality Inn Near Pimlico Racetrack
Address: 4200 Primrose Ave, Baltimore, MD 21215 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Quality Inn Near Pimlico Racetrack 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Near Pimlico Racetrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Baltimore
Baltimore Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing