We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Value if You're Just Passing Through” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #55 of 61 Hotels in Baltimore
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Value if You're Just Passing Through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Located just outside of the Park Heights neighborhood, this Econo Lodge is not the ideal vacation spot. Driving down from Boston, we decided to crash here on our way back from DC (trying to cut time off the drive). There is considerable poverty in this area, but the people around town were not a problem. I'm more likely to have my car broken into at home than here. We found the staff to be helpful and kind after an initial mixup with our online booking.

The room was HUGE, with a large king-size bed, an entire couch and a lot of floor space. A mini-fridge, microwave, and TV are also available. I could easily fit my entire life in this room. My boyfriend found the bed uncomfortable, but I thought it was great (I was also dead exhausted). Even in the non-smoking room, however, the scent of old cigarettes did linger throughout the hotel. If you are especially sensitive to this, you may want to book elsewhere. Embarking early on a 8 hour drive, I appreciated the complimentary breakfast (coffee, juice, and carbohydrates) which was simple but gratifying.

All in all, I won't seek out this area again, but considering the service and the size/cleanliness of the room, I would say this was a pretty good value.

Room Tip: Non-smoking king is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    5
    9
See reviews for
3
3
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

This place smells... literally.
The cigarette smoke can be smelt from the moment you walk in at the counter, breakfast room, hallways and even a stale smell in the (non-smoking room). The building is old, half hour drive from central Baltimore in a not so great area of town.
Breakfast was OK, but happy to leave. Interestingly, one of the more expensive places I stayed in yet not as good as some of the cheaper motels. The staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The area is not nice, that is true. BUT, the hotel felt safe, since all the rooms had doors inside of the building. The staff was awesome! We forgot an iPod on the bed and they sent it to Cleveland to us! Very friendly and helpful service all in all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleq84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

nasty nasty nasty nasty naassssssstyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!! shady shady people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! terrible area worst part of baltimore possible.

  • Liked — some people were nice inside the hotel. that's about it.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jkjk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
Howard Johnson Pikesville
#2 of 4 in Pikesville
3.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Mount Vernon
Rodeway Inn Mid Town
Rodeway Inn Mid Town
#56 of 61 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#45 of 61 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#29 of 61 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 4200 Primrose Ave, Baltimore, MD 21215-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 61 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Baltimore
Baltimore Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing