We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fabulous”
Review of Salt

Salt
Ranked #112 of 2,026 Restaurants in Baltimore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great from A to Z. All the elements are there for a grest night out. Don't miss the Tuna, it's awsome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    64
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Salt is a Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Despite the challenge of parking, our evening out at Salt was fabulous. We had an early evening reservation during Restaurant Week so we lucked out on getting a fairly close parking spot across from Patterson Park. The food was delicious. My husband had salmon tartar and swordfish and I had the heirloom tomatoes and goat cheese ravioli which was topped with a corn sauce -- not something you expect to find on a menu but a combination that tasted great! For dessert my we had the silver queen panna cotta and the goat cheese donuts with coffee ice cream -- heaven! I also recommend the cherry lime Rickey cocktail. The wait staff was attentive and informative. Overall a great dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cammieBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
1,031 reviews
784 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Small place, but good food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First, I like Salt's duck fat fries because not only is it great, but the dipping sauces that come with the delicacy is clutch.

I've had the boar shoulder and the swordfish before and both were scrumptious. At one point, Salt also had a rock fish special, which was pretty excellent as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner during restaurant week”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our first visit to Salt with the new chef and it was during restaurant week. The food portions were smaller and not the same quality as on our previous visits (3+). Our waiter seemed a bit pushy about getting our order in - it was not relaxing at all. The best part was we found a parking space quickly. Parking is an issue in the neighborhood.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarlaMc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fit for Foodies”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Have been to Salt five or so times, and every time the meal has been very good. Interesting flavor combinations, good variety, lots of seafood and game. The menu changes, which is nice, and there are a few staples not to miss--like the duck fat fries. Last visit was the coriander pepper crusted tuna (delicious and perfectly cooked) and mushroom ravioli (also delicious and very rich). Cheese plate as a starter was nice--good selection of cheeses, as well as fruit and candied nuts as accompaniments. Also a great place to enjoy drinks and dessert. If you are a foodie, and enjoy small, intimate, hip places with good food and drinks, definitely give Salt a whirl. Only downside is that parking is on the street and can be very hard to locate on busy nights.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing