We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Room in a historic building from the 1800's, with very few of the drawbacks of an old hotel”
Review of Midtown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Midtown Inn
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Room in a historic building from the 1800's, with very few of the drawbacks of an old hotel”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel is located in the Mount Vernon district, which is the happening area of the city with a number of great bars, clubs, and restaurants in close walking distance. The hotel is located in a building that is probably from the 1880's, so expect the room layout to be a bit unusual, and the floors and stairways to be a bit creaky. The ceilings must have been at least 12 feet high. We appreciated the thick carpeting, ipod dock, and comfortable bed. The neighborhood seems recently gentrified, and is great for pub crawling, cafes, and hole in the wall restaurants serving excellent food. The real clincher is the price, only $80.00 for a clean and comfortable room in the center of all the action. This hotel is an excellent choice for European travelers or American urbanites who love exploring new neighborhoods. Ma and Pa Kettle on a road trip from Texas with the brood in tow might not particularly like this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanhny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    21
    13
    51
See reviews for
18
41
42
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Not at all happy with the hotel and the customer service.

1) it said No Smoking but the atmosphere smelled of smoke upon entering the premises.
2) inside stairway needs repair. The carpet is covering up the needed stairs repair.
3) satellite tv only had 4 working stations
4) no clean towels.
5) vending machine only had sodas no bottled water
6) continental breakfast was cereal, milk, juice & bread. I believe the website stated waffles. I could be wrong

The hotel is located in a very good area known as Mount Vernon. It's minutes away from the Inner Harbor. The hotel is located on a bus route. There are good restaurants in walking distance. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you need a cheap & quick place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LATARSHAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baltimore hotels

Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Myself and a friend visited the Rodeway Inn this Christmas as part of a trip in which we stayed at a total of four accommodations. Of all of these places, the Rodeway Inn had the friendliest staff by far and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. As students the affordability was definitely important to us and for what we paid the overall service we got was incredible; clean, spacious and comfortable rooms and an OK breakfast (cereals and toast and coffee and juice), I would recommend the Rodeway Inn to anyone.
Also, the Inn is on the route of Baltimore's free bus service into the city center and is less than a 10 minute walk away from the train station- great location!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I went to baltimore for some few days on a business trip and I was looking for a hotel that is affordable and the quality is superb.I got Rodeway Inn because of the location and i wasn't disappointed ,it is a very nice hotel with friendly staff.I will always return back there anytime am in town.The staff named Tunde was extremely nice and went extra mile in ensuring that I was comfortable and that I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kweku M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnmd, General Manager at Midtown Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you Mr Kweku. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will be glad to have you again when next you visit Baltimore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, New York, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Date of Stay 12/15/11 Room 121 4th Floor 1. Was offered a room with a dangerous space heater, small and smell of urine, they later moved me to the 4th floor with a promise of central air/heat that worked . 2. Public restroom was absolutly filthly, reaked with urine on entire first floor 3. shower had a curtain with mildew and black growth on the bottom 4. Room telephone didn't work (couldn't call front desk) 5. Low water preasure, in the tiny shower 6. Windows were screwed shut, thus failing to provide a second exit in case of an emergency 7. After a promise by staff that there was heat on room 121, there was NO HEAT in the room and staff made no apologies or offered any further assistance. (the evening staff member) 8. Loose handrails leading up winding stairs 9. Broken last step beneath carpet leading to the second floor 10. Bedding had stains, appeared to either be old food or stains from bugs 11. Extension electric cords used in room, a fire hazard 12. Evening desk clerk refused to issue a receipt for cash paid for the room or offer any documentation or a copy of the document I signed upon paying for the room. 13. Customer service was very poor. Evening clerk displayed little concern to my complaints, offered no resolution, no refund or assistance with accomendations. He simply looked at me with no reply or response. I will also forward a copy of this complaint to the Baltimore Fire Department and the online engine used to locate this hotel.

Room Tip: Any hotel but this one should be a good choice, please don't make the drastic mistake that I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnmd, Guest Relations Manager at Midtown Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear valued guest, we are pleased that you chose to stay in our hotel. Have read your comments, we are sorry for some discomforts you experienced during your stay. In as much as some issues raised by you are questionable, we will still like to apologise for inconveniences you laid claim to. We strive hard to satisfy all our customer. We promise that a wonderful experience awaits you next time you stay stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Very good quality/price, nice location, kind personel! I will return if I go Baltimore next time~~

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acat_young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnmd, General Manager at Midtown Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thanks for your nice comment about Rodeway Inn Baltimore. We are highly humbled for the opportunity you and your group gave us to serve you. We wont relent in our efforts in providing unrivalled services to our customers. When next you visit baltimore, we will be more than happy to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Well, any visit to Baltimore is not complete until you visit the inner harbor and all it has to offer. This hotel is ideally situated for doing just that. The staff were warm and friendly and were also quite knowledgablle about the historical landmarks and places of interest in the area. I'd recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank All F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnmd, General Manager at Midtown Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Hello. Thanks for your comments about Rodeway Inn baltimore, especially its locaton and how conspicuous it was! We will continue to render excellent services and treat our esteemed guest as an individual by providing personalized services. Please, include a visit to the hotel in your itinerary next time you visit baltimore! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
#54 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Hotel Brexton
#27 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#49 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Inn

Property: Midtown Inn
Address: 723 Saint Paul St, Baltimore, MD 21202-2311 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Mid Town)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Midtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Baltimore, Maryland's legendary Mid Town, and only moments away from many of the Nation's most popular attractions, is where you will find this charming historic hotel. The Mid Towne Suites, originally built in 1862, are ideally located only a short distance away from a number of sites and attractions. There are several museums, shopping districts and restaurants only moments away. After a restful night of sleep, guests at the Mid Towne Baltimore can start their morning with a complimentary continental breakfast, or check their email with the hotel's free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Midtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Mid Town Hotel Baltimore
Midtown Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing