We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast, huge portions”
Review of Miss Shirley's

Miss Shirley's
Ranked #10 of 2,026 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast, huge portions”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Miss Shirley's was not far from my harbour front hotel and it was an easy walk. It's a warm, friendly cafe with some interesting breakfast/brunch options on the menu, and huge portions. I ordered the cinnamon roll French toast - three large cinnamon rolls, dipped in an almond egg mix and cooked French toast style, drizzled with icing and dusted with cinnamon and icing sugar, and served with a jug of syrup on the side. I have a very sweet tooth, but not a big enough appetite for all that, so I loved the breakfast but couldn't eat more than half. It was a lovely way to start the morning and I definitely recommend it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileycat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    249
    112
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a twist”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great all across the board. Food was fresh and with some great combinations. Miss Shirleys affair with Oscar was fantastic. Crab meat was lump and delicious. And how can you go wrong with their Bloody Mary...You can't.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Selliboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast/brunch”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Miss Shirley's was a highly rated restaurant in Baltimore, MD according to Tripadvisor and not for no reason. The place is always busy but it is worth the wait. The breakfast they serve is by far the best I've ever had. They have the fluffiest of waffles and awesome custom omelets. The staff is friendly and attentive and there is something on the menu for almost anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4figgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Birthday Breakfast...”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

After dropping the kids at school, my wife took me out for breakfast. Miss Shirley's was a great way to start my 45th birthday celebration. I had the Bayou Omelet and my wife had the Shrimp & Grits. The food was very good and the service was, too. If I had to complain about anything, it would be that the coffee wasn't HOT!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for breakfast”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Even before this restaurant opened at 7:30 am, there were people lining up. I was with a party of six and the breakfast was delicious. There was such a wide variety in the menu that it was difficult to make a choice. The only problem was that the sun moved to our table, blinding one of our party. Unfortunately, the tall trees in the restaurant could not block the light out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Shirley's also viewed

 

Been to Miss Shirley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing