We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I traveled to Baltimore for a quick weekend getaway from Philadelphia. We had a great experience at this hotel. Great value for the cost, room was very clean and had a nice, functional small kitchen area. Studio room was spacious with a nice sitting area and very comfortable king size bed. Front desk staff were courteous and very helpful. Hotel offers valet for $32/day including overnight parking and you can leave your vehicle until 5PM on the day of checkout. Valet services retrieved our vehicle in a timely manner and staff was extremely friendly. This hotel is a great location, easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants on the Inner Harbor. Overall a great experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaritaJA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerryg, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    256
    66
    15
    6
See reviews for
257
142
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We found this hotel very comfortable and loved the location to the Inner Harbor and Fell's Point. If you stay here during warmer times, you could take in all the local sights by foot. Because it was only 15-degrees when we were there, we took a cab to Fell's Point, and it was very reasonable ($6+tip). We were told that valet parking at the hotel is $32/day, but if you don't need to get your car out, you can park across the street for $10/day. The complimentary breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank degirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerryg, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your review!

Bill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I can't speak to the regular prices for this place, but I found a deal for a king size room for $84 a night. I'd have paid $150 a night for this quality of hotel. Marriott should be proud to have this in their repertoire. The service is great, the rooms are clean, nice and have EVERYTHING you'd expect of a very expensive counterpart.

The breakfast is also the best I've experienced in all my stays. They have the usuals, like cereal, eggs, sausage, waffles, etc. But the little additions make a world of difference. For example, the waffle toppings consist of warm maple syrup, sugar free syrup, chocolate syrup, caramel, fresh blueberries, strawberry sauce, whipped cream, walnuts and more. It was great! Not to mention, they keep coffee available for free all day.

These may seem like small things to many, but they are deal makers for us. Not to mention, the location is excellent for anyone looking to tour the inner harbor. It's so conveniently located. I loved it!

Room Tip: The king size room we had had a full kitchen, with a fridge, stove, and dishwasher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mehands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. Our goal is to provide service so memorable that our guests will tell stories about us. Thank you for the great story!

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Went out for a friend's birthday party and we rented a room for the evening. Very clean and included a kitchenette which was great! We were a little too loud at one point and the hotel was polite enough to call and ask us to turn down our music. Other hotels will kick you out on a dime. Check out was easy and it felt like a safe, convenient location. Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott.
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I love great service, and this place had it. Everyone I came across was very nice and helpful. The location of the hotel was within walking distance of all the inner harbor sights and numerous restaurants. I will definitely stay here again when I go back to baltimore.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank J0ng0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for recognizing the service that my staff provides. They work extremely hard and truely care about people. They make my job very easy.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Excellence is depicted in every area at this hotel. First of all, the staff does whatever they can to ensure that everone has a pleasant resident eperience. Hats off to Chastity and Howard who are exceptionally sensitive to customers' needs! Problems are solved quickly and accurately. The restaurant, 17 Light, provides a good variety of food on Monday-Saturday. However, the front desk provides two menus from local restaurants on Sundays. Customers can either order carry out from the menus or be taken to the locations by the restaurant drivers. The free breakfast buffet is organized and convenient. In the area, there are several places to eat. Rhoyal Farms has great sandwiches, chicken and snacks. McDonalds and Dunking Donuts are in walking distance. CVS and Wells Fargo Bank are also close by. The free Purple Circulator bus is available for transportation to the train station and other local sights such as the Inner Harbor. It runs approx. evey fifteen minutes. An amazing, colorful, updated decor really makes the hotel stand out. The decor creates a beautiful, pleasant, relaxing atmosphere. It is just what is needed on a short term get away or a long term stay! The caliber of this hotel is impressive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for such a great review! Not only did you give my staff some recognition, but you gave out some very good tips as well. Thank you!

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The scene is a midday Sunday with a threat of snow, the Raven's are playing a 1pm home game in downtown Baltimore. If the weathermen are right, the roads will be atrocious after the game, and the fans rowdy and maybe slightly tipsy if the Raven's win. Who wants to be stuck in traffic, skidding and sliding all the way home.

We decide to pack an overnight bag just in case the moon and stars align. As we trek into Baltimore, we realized that packing work clothes for Monday morning was the right choice. Snow was flying as we arrived at our parking garage.

As we meandered to the stadium in ankle deep snow, decided to make a hotel reservation, called the Residence Inn on Light Street in Baltimore, and lone behold they had rooms available and for a special rate, too! Secured our reservation, as the room rate was definitely less than the insurance deductible if something were to happen heading home from the game.

The Ravens having won, feeling good, too good to drive ourselves, we were thankful we had a hotel reservation. Friends at the game were envious of our choice to stay overnight and not drive home in the mess.

We arrived at the Residence Inn, to a friendly front desk clerk who checked us in and kindly upgraded us from a standard room to a deluxe room without asking. We settled in, and watched the snow fall. Once warm, we headed out for dinner and enjoy the solitude of Baltimore during a snowfall. Amazing how snow clears the streets of cars, and the sidewalks of people. It was eerily quiet and rather enjoyable.

Our stay at the Residence Inn was quite enjoyable, while no 5-star luxury resort hotel, the Residence Inn met our expectations for a modern, clean, comfortable hotel with space to stretch out, and a full breakfast the following morning, plus the added convenience of being downtown, center city Baltimore, within walking distance of the Inner Harbor, and many parking garages.

We would return if not for anything but a romantic overnight getaway to our city! Many fine restaurants to choose from and quite a few establishments to enjoy adult beverages at. Again, the room rate was definitely less than the insurance deductible if something were to happen heading home. And we awoke feeling refreshed, and energized!

Room Tip: Rooms in Baltimore that front any street are prone to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WaterMark67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for the great review. I really appreciate the detailed feedback.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is Baltimore, Maryland's premier, downtown all-suite hotel. Our hotel's Inner Harbor Baltimore, MD location is perfect for travelers visiting the city for work or leisure. We offer 188 studio, one, and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is the ideal choice among Baltimore hotels near Inner Harbor for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month, or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center and the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure guests can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront. Our hotel is situated perfectly for you to experience all of the best that Baltimore has to offer. If you are a sports enthusiasts, you may want to pre-game at our 17 Light on-site restaurant and lounge. Our guests love the fact that Oriole Park at Camden Yards is close by, and M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are within walking distance of our accommodations. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/ Inner Harbor is an excellent choice if you are planning a meeting or a group event as well. Our hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space, which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Should you want to eat at our hotel, our on-site restaurant and lounge is open for lunch and dinner, and for room service during limited hours. Our restaurant also features happy hour specials Monday through Friday. We invite you to come replenish in our hotel after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine as well as some Baltimore favorites too. Kick back, relax, and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail before taking the elevator home to your room. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge and stay in our Baltimore accommodations! We offer easy access to Baltimore’s top medical facilities, and Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers provide our guests with complimentary shuttle service to and from our hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also convenient to our accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing