We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Baltimore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the pre-pay rate of $189 + tax booked off the Marriott website.

It's a great location down near the inner harbor and an easy walk to everywhere. My convention was at the Hyatt a few blocks down the road. There are plenty of food and beverage outlets in the immediate vicinity.

If you are arriving by train the free Baltimore 'Charm City Circulator' Purple bus route goes from just outside the station right past the hotel and stops ~250 yds down River Street.

The hotel itself had decent rooms with a small kitchenette and fridge, etc. Free wifi worked well, if a little slow at times.

Gym was basic but adequate with two X-trainers, two joggers and a bike and some free weights.

Breakfast (free) was the standard fare but did include a hot buffet option of scrambled eggs, sausage paties and a couple of other options.

Good stay and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott.

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 687 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

After a short trip to Hershey, PA, we decided to visit Baltiore. I used TripAdvisor to decide on this hotel, in addition to the fact that I had learned about Residence Inn's 2-bedroom suites. Their suites are the way to go if you're traveling with family. I was traveling with my 2yo son and two adult sisters. They each had a queen bed in one room and my son had a crib in another room with my king size bed. It was perfect to put him to bed in the crib and close the door and then enjoy more of our evening in the huge living area. There is also a full kitchen which was nice. Although we didn't cook, it was nice to have the freezer to restcok our cooler for our road trip home to Chicago.

Upon arrival, a nice guy came right out and explained many aspects of the hotel, including valet service. I know some complained about the cost but I thought it was great....especially the in/out privileges (maybe that's because I'm from Chicago and $50 or more is the norm). While he was explaining that, another nice guy was unloading our luggage and was very happy about it....even though we had a lot of purchases from Hershey. Check in was a breeze and I think we even checked in about 2 hours early. Our suite was on the top floor (15th I think). There was some street noise, but again, we live right downtown in Chicago so we had no trouble sleepig...including the toddler. The bell guy unloaded our luggage and offered several restaurants and other attractions in the area. Within minutes of arriving in our room, the crib was delivered. And about an hour after check in, we received a phone call from the front desk asking if the room was ok. What?!?!?!? I couldn't believe it. That was a really nice touch.

We had breakfast one day in the hotel. It was great and staff was very attentive and friendly. We used the laudry facilities as well which was pretty nice. Although, there is no change machine (front desk will provide change without a problem) and no detergent for purchase...which is no big deal. I was just happy to not have so much laundry to do when I returned home.

If ever in Baltimore again, we know exactly where we will stay and will definitely stay at a Residence Inn in the future.

Room Tip: Again the 2br suite is great with kids. Beds were comfy. I think we were in 1506.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary5984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for the Amazing review! We appreciate your business and enjoyed hearing about your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Due to an early medical appointment, we chose this Marriott property to stay at overnight. It was well staffed with friendly and helpful employees, it was very clean and well kept, it had an interesting architectural structure in the lobby and great room, and it had a nice little bar and restaurant as part of the building. We had a very good stay for one night.

Be aware, though, parking in this part of Baltimore is expensive. The hotel does not offer free parking and the closest garage is about a block away and costs $19 overnight. They do offer valet service, however, which was very convenient for us. However, it did cost $30 plus tip for one night.

This hotel is close to the Inner Harbor and all the entertainment and restaurants in that area, including Little Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepoint1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for the great review. Next time your travels bring you back to Baltimore, stay a couple of days and go to an Orioles game, see the National Aquarium, visit the Science Center, or go to Ripley's Believe It or Not. There is a lot to do in Baltimore.

Parking Suggestion: If you use an area garage, please find out when they start their new day. (Most are at 7am). You will end up paying over $40 for one night. Our valet parking charge ($32) includes in and out privileges and you can leave your car in our garage until 5pm the next day without an additional charge.

Most people do not use their car once they arrive to the Residence Inn by Marriott. If you can take Amtrak or a cab from the airport, you may be able to save some money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent location - great price for Inner harbour Baltimore when booked (and prepayed) on their website. Full kitchen, great breakfast included with room fee. Only 2 blocks from Inner harbour - but parking is $24/night so leave the car at home! Staff is eager to help and provided directions to everywhere we asked. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverhome407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott-Baltimore Inner Harbor. I am happy you found our hotel to be a great value.

Parking in Downtown Baltimore is very expensive. At the Residence Inn by Marriott-Inner Harbor, we only offer valet parking at $32 per day. This includes in and out priveleges and you can leave your car at the hotel until 5pm. Area garages are less per night (around $24), however, most of them start their new day at 7AM. They also charge you every time you go in and out of the garage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We (myself and 2 pre-teens) visited the Inner Harbor for 2 nights during Spring Break. We chose the Residence Inn here because of positive reviews on this site, and for its location and amenities offered. The free Charm City Circulator bus brought us within a block of the hotel from Penn (Amtrak) Station (short ride, 10 minutes or less). We did not use the valet parking, so cannot comment on that amenity.

Check in was a breeze and our room was ready, even though we arrived at noon (official check in time is 4pm). My online request for a room on a high floor was accommodated. We felt safe here, as a cardkey must be swiped in the elevator before it will take you anywhere. Our room, a Queen (2 bed) studio was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We loved it. The free wifi was dependable. When the room felt too warm for us, we simply turned off the heat and were fine. Water pressure was fabulous, and the bed was comfortable. We did hear many sirens at night which were very loud. There are no in room safes, but we were told the front desk had ones for guests to use that could hold small items (not laptops, etc.) Requests from housekeeping (extra shampoo, luggage rack, bathroom tissue) were attended to within minutes, and we found everything in the room to be clean and in order. The furniture and bathroom vanity could use some updating, as they appeared tired and a little worn. In the lobby, there is a 24 hour coffee/tea counter which I used often. The morning breakfast is very well attended to by pleasant and helpful staff who we observed were constantly restocking, cleaning, and wiping down tables. We found the food very adequate; we did not partake in the 3 hot offerings (biscuit sandwiches, potatoes, eggs). Other items offered were yogurt parfaits, various other yogurt cups, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins and a make-your-own waffle station. Beverages were plentiful: coffee, hot cocoa mix, milk, assorted juices in a fountain dispenser. On the Monday and Tuesday mornings we were there, we had no trouble finding seats in the comfortable, cozy seating area. The hotel is a short easy walk to the Harbor, just 2 easy blocks away. A few feet away on the same side of the street are Dunkin Donuts, and a CVS (note, this store closes at 6pm on Sundays). Directly across the street is 7-11. We stocked our full size refrigerator with beverages from these stores and found it very convenient.

The front desk and everyone else we encountered were pleasant, helpful and accommodating. When we departed, we simply exited the hotel doors, crossed the street and waited once again for the free Charm City Circulator bus to return us to Penn Station. We were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel and, although there were less expensive options, we would stay here again when visiting Baltimore.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Baltimore. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This Residence Inn has a great location: just a short walk to the Inner Harbor attractions: The Aquarium is amazing and the water taxi a good way to see the city from the water while traveling between interesting sites. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Our room was very spacious, light, bright, and clean, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was more generous than many hotels of this kind, and served in a pleasant and attractive setting: two rooms are available, so despite a busy weekend day, it was easy to find a table.

Only downside is parking: $32 overnight valet parking. Service was prompt and good, but in late afternoon, there was a little wait and a very congested areas for cars coming and going.

Room Tip: We like rooms away from elevator, but were given a room very close to the elevator. It was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartsoSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for comments. Feedback such as yours really do make all the difference. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance to everything Inner Harbor has to offer. The rooms are inviting and comfortable and the staff is eager to help in any way they can. Valet parking makes everything easy. Restraunts are abundant also within walking distance, almond with a pharmacy for any forgotten items.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelofsin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $136 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is Baltimore, Maryland's premier, downtown all-suite hotel. Our hotel's Inner Harbor Baltimore, MD location is perfect for travelers visiting the city for work or leisure. We offer 188 studio, one, and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is the ideal choice among Baltimore hotels near Inner Harbor for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month, or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center and the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure guests can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront. Our hotel is situated perfectly for you to experience all of the best that Baltimore has to offer. If you are a sports enthusiasts, you may want to pre-game at our 17 Light on-site restaurant and lounge. Our guests love the fact that Oriole Park at Camden Yards is close by, and M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are within walking distance of our accommodations. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/ Inner Harbor is an excellent choice if you are planning a meeting or a group event as well. Our hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space, which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Should you want to eat at our hotel, our on-site restaurant and lounge is open for lunch and dinner, and for room service during limited hours. Our restaurant also features happy hour specials Monday through Friday. We invite you to come replenish in our hotel after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine as well as some Baltimore favorites too. Kick back, relax, and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail before taking the elevator home to your room. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge and stay in our Baltimore accommodations! We offer easy access to Baltimore’s top medical facilities, and Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers provide our guests with complimentary shuttle service to and from our hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also convenient to our accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing