We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot for an Overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Hagerstown, MD
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Spot for an Overnighter”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Due to an early medical appointment, we chose this Marriott property to stay at overnight. It was well staffed with friendly and helpful employees, it was very clean and well kept, it had an interesting architectural structure in the lobby and great room, and it had a nice little bar and restaurant as part of the building. We had a very good stay for one night.

Be aware, though, parking in this part of Baltimore is expensive. The hotel does not offer free parking and the closest garage is about a block away and costs $19 overnight. They do offer valet service, however, which was very convenient for us. However, it did cost $30 plus tip for one night.

This hotel is close to the Inner Harbor and all the entertainment and restaurants in that area, including Little Italy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepoint1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Next time your travels bring you back to Baltimore, stay a couple of days and go to an Orioles game, see the National Aquarium, visit the Science Center, or go to Ripley's Believe It or Not. There is a lot to do in Baltimore.

Parking Suggestion: If you use an area garage, please find out when they start their new day. (Most are at 7am). You will end up paying over $40 for one night. Our valet parking charge ($32) includes in and out privileges and you can leave your car in our garage until 5pm the next day without an additional charge.

Most people do not use their car once they arrive to the Residence Inn by Marriott. If you can take Amtrak or a cab from the airport, you may be able to save some money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    259
    72
    16
    7
See reviews for
266
145
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent location - great price for Inner harbour Baltimore when booked (and prepayed) on their website. Full kitchen, great breakfast included with room fee. Only 2 blocks from Inner harbour - but parking is $24/night so leave the car at home! Staff is eager to help and provided directions to everywhere we asked. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverhome407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott-Baltimore Inner Harbor. I am happy you found our hotel to be a great value.

Parking in Downtown Baltimore is very expensive. At the Residence Inn by Marriott-Inner Harbor, we only offer valet parking at $32 per day. This includes in and out priveleges and you can leave your car at the hotel until 5pm. Area garages are less per night (around $24), however, most of them start their new day at 7AM. They also charge you every time you go in and out of the garage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, NY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We (myself and 2 pre-teens) visited the Inner Harbor for 2 nights during Spring Break. We chose the Residence Inn here because of positive reviews on this site, and for its location and amenities offered. The free Charm City Circulator bus brought us within a block of the hotel from Penn (Amtrak) Station (short ride, 10 minutes or less). We did not use the valet parking, so cannot comment on that amenity.

Check in was a breeze and our room was ready, even though we arrived at noon (official check in time is 4pm). My online request for a room on a high floor was accommodated. We felt safe here, as a cardkey must be swiped in the elevator before it will take you anywhere. Our room, a Queen (2 bed) studio was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We loved it. The free wifi was dependable. When the room felt too warm for us, we simply turned off the heat and were fine. Water pressure was fabulous, and the bed was comfortable. We did hear many sirens at night which were very loud. There are no in room safes, but we were told the front desk had ones for guests to use that could hold small items (not laptops, etc.) Requests from housekeeping (extra shampoo, luggage rack, bathroom tissue) were attended to within minutes, and we found everything in the room to be clean and in order. The furniture and bathroom vanity could use some updating, as they appeared tired and a little worn. In the lobby, there is a 24 hour coffee/tea counter which I used often. The morning breakfast is very well attended to by pleasant and helpful staff who we observed were constantly restocking, cleaning, and wiping down tables. We found the food very adequate; we did not partake in the 3 hot offerings (biscuit sandwiches, potatoes, eggs). Other items offered were yogurt parfaits, various other yogurt cups, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins and a make-your-own waffle station. Beverages were plentiful: coffee, hot cocoa mix, milk, assorted juices in a fountain dispenser. On the Monday and Tuesday mornings we were there, we had no trouble finding seats in the comfortable, cozy seating area. The hotel is a short easy walk to the Harbor, just 2 easy blocks away. A few feet away on the same side of the street are Dunkin Donuts, and a CVS (note, this store closes at 6pm on Sundays). Directly across the street is 7-11. We stocked our full size refrigerator with beverages from these stores and found it very convenient.

The front desk and everyone else we encountered were pleasant, helpful and accommodating. When we departed, we simply exited the hotel doors, crossed the street and waited once again for the free Charm City Circulator bus to return us to Penn Station. We were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel and, although there were less expensive options, we would stay here again when visiting Baltimore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Baltimore. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This Residence Inn has a great location: just a short walk to the Inner Harbor attractions: The Aquarium is amazing and the water taxi a good way to see the city from the water while traveling between interesting sites. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Our room was very spacious, light, bright, and clean, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was more generous than many hotels of this kind, and served in a pleasant and attractive setting: two rooms are available, so despite a busy weekend day, it was easy to find a table.

Only downside is parking: $32 overnight valet parking. Service was prompt and good, but in late afternoon, there was a little wait and a very congested areas for cars coming and going.

Room Tip: We like rooms away from elevator, but were given a room very close to the elevator. It was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartsoSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for comments. Feedback such as yours really do make all the difference. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilkes-barre, pa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance to everything Inner Harbor has to offer. The rooms are inviting and comfortable and the staff is eager to help in any way they can. Valet parking makes everything easy. Restraunts are abundant also within walking distance, almond with a pharmacy for any forgotten items.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelofsin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The price, location and very nice staff made this hotel a perfect getaway for a quick weekend away with the kids. The breakfast, "welcome" dinner and great location made it a great place for quick walking trips with the kids to the exellent Aquarium, Science Museum and the Orioles game. Couldn't say enough about the staff....Betty, you're great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and recognizing Betty. My staff loves when they make Trip Advisor comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my little dog when we lost power during the storm Sandy. The hotel was wonderful and the restaurant in the hotel was terrific. The rooms were very clean and the little kitchen was fully equipped with everything you need .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanjax49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Downtown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is Baltimore, Maryland's premier, downtown all-suite hotel. Our hotel's Inner Harbor Baltimore, MD location is perfect for travelers visiting the city for work or leisure. We offer 188 studio, one, and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is the ideal choice among Baltimore hotels near Inner Harbor for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month, or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center and the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure guests can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront. Our hotel is situated perfectly for you to experience all of the best that Baltimore has to offer. If you are a sports enthusiasts, you may want to pre-game at our 17 Light on-site restaurant and lounge. Our guests love the fact that Oriole Park at Camden Yards is close by, and M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are within walking distance of our accommodations. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/ Inner Harbor is an excellent choice if you are planning a meeting or a group event as well. Our hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space, which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Should you want to eat at our hotel, our on-site restaurant and lounge is open for lunch and dinner, and for room service during limited hours. Our restaurant also features happy hour specials Monday through Friday. We invite you to come replenish in our hotel after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine as well as some Baltimore favorites too. Kick back, relax, and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail before taking the elevator home to your room. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge and stay in our Baltimore accommodations! We offer easy access to Baltimore’s top medical facilities, and Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers provide our guests with complimentary shuttle service to and from our hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also convenient to our accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing