We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute due to finding out the Tremont was undergoing extensive renovations and we were so glad! Everyone there was incredibly nice and helpful. The valet parking is fantastic and worth the extra charge. Our 2 bedroom suite was huge, I think I read somewhere it was over 900 sq. ft. While we only stayed for a few nights, I can see it being a very comfortable place for an extended stay. There was a full kitchen with dishes, pots and pans, silverware, dishwashing detergent, everything! The continental breakfast was completely unexpected...we thought we'd be getting bagels and fruit but in addition to that there was a different selection of hot foods every day from eggs florentine to french toast to sausage scramble, it was so good!. The location was great, just a short walk to the inner harbor and next door to a CVS. The beds were pretty uncomfortable, but I find it difficult to sleep away from my own bed. The essentials for purchase in the small shop in the lobby are ridiculously over-priced($14 for a 6 pack of water), but being next door to a CVS is great, just get your things there. After having a terrific stay at the Residence Inn in both Baltimore and Chicago, we will be making this our hotel of choice. For a family of 6 you cannot beat the size of the rooms, the amenities and the price.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and had no problems, heard nothing outside of our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    256
    66
    14
    6
See reviews for
256
142
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Difficult to find fault in what is meant to be more at the budget end of Marriott chain. Location and staff were great, breakfast more than adequate and room was large with great kitchenette. Highly recommended for any type of traveller.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denzil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My sister and I recently traveled to Baltimore with my two young children (3 years old, and 2 months old) because my husband is being treated at Johns Hopkins. We chose this hotel because of the location (we knew inner harbor area was safe, and lots of stores/restaurants within walking distance) and because of the full kitchen that was offered, but we had no idea how wonderful the hotel would actually be!
First of all, the staff is fantastic. They were very willing to help and were extremely courteous. After finding out why we were traveling, they upgraded us to a larger room. I couldn't be more grateful, because the extra space made for a much easier trip. Late one night, my daughter had a very messy "accident" (she is 3, use your imaginations!) and the staff was up in a matter of minutes to help us clean up.
Secondly, the rooms themselves are extremely clean and well kept. Beds were very comfortable.
Finally, the hotel breakfast was very, very nice. I've stayed at quite a few places that offered free breakfast, but this was by far the best that I have experienced. This is much more than your typical continental breakfast.
For those visiting family members at Johns Hopkins, there is a free shuttle service that will bring you there and back for free. Ask the front desk for the phone number. It is very convenient.
Overall, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again, and recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Baltimore with or without children.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel. The studio room we stayed in was immaculately clean and everything in it was as though it was brand new. The high-speed internet is really high-speed. Every employee that we encountered, no matter what part of the hotel we were in, were fantastic. They couldn't do enough for us. It really seems like a family-oriented hotel. We have two children and they love the hotel. Also, the breakfast (included) was great. They had a buffet style setup with eggs, hash browns, sausage, pancakes, oatmeal, cereals, bagels, breads, muffins, fresh fruit (actually fresh) and even make-your-own Belgian waffles and that is not an all-inclusive list. The hotel is just a two block walk to the harbor. I could go on and on, but I think you get the idea. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Studio rooms have a full kitchen, dinette table, two queen beds and a sofa. They are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromDelcoPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I recently stayed one night at the Residence Inn when I had a meeting to attend at another nearby hotel. The Residence Inn was half the cost of the other chain and every bit as nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were helpful even after I had checked out and allowed me to use the computers to check on getting an earlier flight home.

The room was gigantic. I stayed in a one-bedroom suite that was about the size of my first apartment. The kitchenette had 2 electric burners, a large refrigerator, a full sized microwave and even a dishwasher. Everything was immaculate and the bed was nice, just the right firmness for me. Both the sitting area and bedroom had a large flat screen TV.

The breakfast buffet looked amazing. While I stuck with the freshly made oatmeal (which was great) they offered about everything you might want, including grits pancakes, sausage, potatoes and cereals. They even had a make your own waffle station. The only thing missing was the man in the chef hat making omelets to order (they may actually offer this, I didn't ask).

The bar/restaurant was also great. When I couldn't find anything I really wanted on the menu for a snack, the waitress offered to make me a bowl of chips and salsa. The chips were great and the salsa was clearly freshly made in their kitchen, not from a jar.

As this was a 24 hour in-meet-and-out trip, I didn't explore much, but the Inner Harbor, Camden Yards and the convention center were all within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again if I was coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel offers affordable and convenient valet parking when you pull into the inviting hotel entrance on Light Street. The valet parking offers fast in and out parking throughout the day and night, which works out cheaper and safer than using one of the nearby parking garages. Location is great -- just a short 2 block walk to all the Inner Harbor attractions. Staff was friendly and accommodating. My King Suite was super spacious, organized and clean, plus a full kitchen. Free breakfast had just about anything you could desire and it was kept fresh by pleasant staff that called you "Hon".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchardist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
418 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

When traveling, if we don't stay at an inn or B&B, we prefer Marriott hotels. We have never been disappointed with any of their hotels, but we both have to admit that this was one of THE best Marriott hotels we have visited.

What immediately grabbed our attention was the wonderful friendliness/efficiency of all the staff members that we encountered there..........from the valet staff to the front desk people to the VERY helpful breakfast staff. They couldn't do enough for us to ensure our satisfaction with our stay there.

First of all, the location of this hotel is ideal.............just a short walk to anywhere in the Inner Harbor area, but just far enough removed to leave the craziness of the area behind when entering the front doors of the Residence Inn.

Our room was spacious and had a great view. Too many rooms that we have visited in the past needed to have a re-do of both furniture and accommodations, but we were very happy with this one. Very clean, contemporary in styling, and complete with all the Residence Inn's extra ammenities.

Valet parking was $32/day..............it may sound pricey, but it was very convenient to have them park our car, rather than us having to look for available parking at local lots. When we needed to have our car, we had it within 5-10 minutes. When we wanted a cab, it was there in less than 5 minutes. Our $32/day was definitely worth it!

To be honest, we were planning to leave the hotel to search out breakfast places, but after hearing the description of the breakfast, we decided to give it a try...........SO glad that we did! A full assortment of both hot and cold entrees....including a "make your own" Belgian Waffle station. The breakfast staff was constantly on the go....... cleaning tables, replenishing foods, etc. They were terrific!

Trust me, whenever we return to the Inner Harbor area, there is NO other place in which we will stay...........that is how great our experience was there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is Baltimore, Maryland's premier, downtown all-suite hotel. Our hotel's Inner Harbor Baltimore, MD location is perfect for travelers visiting the city for work or leisure. We offer 188 studio, one, and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is the ideal choice among Baltimore hotels near Inner Harbor for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month, or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center and the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure guests can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront. Our hotel is situated perfectly for you to experience all of the best that Baltimore has to offer. If you are a sports enthusiasts, you may want to pre-game at our 17 Light on-site restaurant and lounge. Our guests love the fact that Oriole Park at Camden Yards is close by, and M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are within walking distance of our accommodations. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/ Inner Harbor is an excellent choice if you are planning a meeting or a group event as well. Our hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space, which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Should you want to eat at our hotel, our on-site restaurant and lounge is open for lunch and dinner, and for room service during limited hours. Our restaurant also features happy hour specials Monday through Friday. We invite you to come replenish in our hotel after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine as well as some Baltimore favorites too. Kick back, relax, and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail before taking the elevator home to your room. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge and stay in our Baltimore accommodations! We offer easy access to Baltimore’s top medical facilities, and Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers provide our guests with complimentary shuttle service to and from our hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also convenient to our accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing