We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great stay at a very lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really great stay at a very lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed over the Veteran's Day weekend -- there were 7 of us (adult women) sharing 2 of the hotel's studio suites with 2 Queen beds in each. We loved this hotel - the staff were universally helpful, the morning breakfasts were generous and filling (only improvement possible would be to use better quality coffee), and our rooms were especially spacious (over 400 sq ft) and lovely: there was a nice living area, the kitchen was more than adequate, the beds were comfy....and the decor was very classy. A very short (1 1/2 block) walk to the harbor, as well as the various attractions and restaurants around it, make the location really great (and slightly less expensive than hotels immediately on the harbor-front).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishfulThinkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    256
    66
    14
    6
See reviews for
256
142
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 queen studio on 8th floor. Clean and comfortable with kitchenette and large flat screen tv. The short walk to the Inner Harbor and the baseball/football stadiums make this hotel a deal compared to hotels right on the Harbor...not to mention the free hot breakfast. We did lots of shopping and ran out of time to see everything we wanted...next time! Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Loved the convenience of the next door CVS and Dunkin Donuts. The hotel bar and restaurant is a great place for a nightcap. Only negative is the $32 valet parking fee but this is standard for Marriott properties. We have stayed at the Renaissance and the Sheraton but for the value the Residence Inn is now our favorite when we visit Baltimore :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joalexajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We shared a 2 bedroom suite with another couple for two nights and had a great experience there. The rooms are clean and serviced well. We walked everywhere from there. Valet Parking is a bit expensive, but convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Ns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is located in a good area with easy walk to the Inner Harbour and about a mile walk to the stadiums (NFL/MLB) . Buffet breakfast is excellent , lineups tended to be lengthy after 8:30 . Several stroes nearby for day to day needs Several dining establishments within 3-4 blocks, Inner Harbour area. Room was tight for 5 of us when the sofa bed was pulled out. Kitchenette was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfeman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. We upgraded to a parlor suite. It had a dinning area, wet bar & beautiful view. The kids enjoyed the pool. I loved being connected to the mall. Great location. Very clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginacolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Residence Inn gave us great value. We booked the hotel online and took advantage of the pre-pay rate for 3 nights in a one bedroom suite. The hotel is well located for tourists and convention goers, clean facilities, friendly and informative staff and breakfast is included. We had two problems and that was with housekeeping...they opened but didn't make up the convertible bed when requested and we couldn't get ice delivered to the room since everyone told us that there was an ice maker in the room. True there was an ice maker in the room which was not working. Parking is pricey but less than some of the neighboring hotels and includes unlimited in and out. We recommend a stay here if visiting Baltimore's Inner Harbor area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue30350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have nothing but nice things to say about this Residence Inn. There are a ton of hotel choices in the inner harbor area of Baltimore but a combination of great price and decent reviews led me here--and am I glad my research paid off.

The hotel at first doesn't seem fancy--no huge atrium to wow you when you walk in or anything like that--but what it could lose in initial impression, is more than made up in spades with exceptional service and quality.

We stayed in a king bed studio room and it was impressively spacious. I've paid more than double at other hotels for a room that size or smaller. The room itself was immaculate with updated decor and a nice little kitchenette with a schedule of "daily events" held at the hotel, useful bits of information (i.e. when the breakfast buffet was open), and how to have groceries picked up/delivered. The bed was comfortable and everything was functional in the room. My only possible criticism is there wasn't a full length mirror in the room with the only one being over the bathroom sink area. Being female, a final head-to-toe check of the outfit before going out is something I rather like to do, but that's more a personal preference than a true flaw of the hotel.

The front desk staff was pleasant, kind, efficient, and helpful. Two other couples went with us to Baltimore and the front desk happily placed all our rooms together in addition to giving us directions to the closest shoe store (oops....forgot something), got us another key when we left it in the room (oops again) without fuss, and quickly located a cab for our night out. Overall, that was probably the best thing about our stay--every staff member we came across from the valets, to servers running the breakfast buffet, to housekeeping--were exceptionally friendly and helpful. No forced smiles here.

The onsite bar/restaurant was another lovely point. The bartender and serving staff upheld the entire experience of great service. The food was decently priced and though not something I'd go out for specifically if I knew the area better, it was solidly good. Definitely no complaints.

The breakfast buffet (included with stay) is a high point--no lame stale pastries, sad fruit, and cereal here. It was a full hot buffet with sausage gravy over biscuits, mini potato pancakes, make-yourself Belgian waffles, and a ton of other choices. Total win.

In terms of convenience, the hotel is only a couple blocks away from the inner harbor and all its attractions. Easily walkable to everything.

Overall, next time I'm in the area I'm skipping the research and just staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is Baltimore, Maryland's premier, downtown all-suite hotel. Our hotel's Inner Harbor Baltimore, MD location is perfect for travelers visiting the city for work or leisure. We offer 188 studio, one, and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is the ideal choice among Baltimore hotels near Inner Harbor for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month, or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center and the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure guests can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront. Our hotel is situated perfectly for you to experience all of the best that Baltimore has to offer. If you are a sports enthusiasts, you may want to pre-game at our 17 Light on-site restaurant and lounge. Our guests love the fact that Oriole Park at Camden Yards is close by, and M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are within walking distance of our accommodations. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/ Inner Harbor is an excellent choice if you are planning a meeting or a group event as well. Our hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space, which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Should you want to eat at our hotel, our on-site restaurant and lounge is open for lunch and dinner, and for room service during limited hours. Our restaurant also features happy hour specials Monday through Friday. We invite you to come replenish in our hotel after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine as well as some Baltimore favorites too. Kick back, relax, and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail before taking the elevator home to your room. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge and stay in our Baltimore accommodations! We offer easy access to Baltimore’s top medical facilities, and Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers provide our guests with complimentary shuttle service to and from our hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also convenient to our accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing