We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, plenty of room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia area
Level Contributor
343 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Good location, plenty of room”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for only one night with our 4 kids when they had a random long weekend. It's within easy walking distance of the Inner Harbor (and that's with a lazy 4-year-old in tow) and close to TONS of shopping and restaurants.
We usually stay at Residence Inns because we need the room and this one had plenty of space for us. We didn't use the kitchen since we were only there one night and breakfast was included but we have in other hotels.
Breakfast had enough choices for us but we aren't picky. What I loved is that their breakfast room had plenty of tables...especially tables for more than 4. Nothing is harder than having a bigger group with little kids and a) not finding any tables or b) finding two tables for three. This room had tables for eight (at least 4 sets). That made my life SO much easier than pretty much every other hotel I've ever stayed at. It could be because were there on a quiet Monday morning but no one was bumping into each other or waiting in line for the waffle maker.
The downside of the hotel is that you have to play over $30 for parking. And then you have to wait for the valet to get your car. It didn't make us miserable but for suburbanites (remember, 4 kids to corral) it was a little inconvenient.
We also had to use the pull-out couch which was fine except the linens weren't in the bag. Only the comforter was stuffed in so when we got home late, I had to call down for the sheets.
When we made the reservation, I asked for extra towels and a crib in the room. That wasn't there either. So they lost a star for those minor annoyances.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    258
    68
    15
    7
See reviews for
260
143
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great choice for families wanting to be in walking distance to the harbor. We have 3 kids and found sleeping arrangements to be well planned out. The room was not tight and the front desk staff as well as the breakfast staff were friendly. The cons included some noise from local emergency vehicles and TV placement on a small side table making it difficult to view from the beds in the 2 bed/couch rooms. Would suggest looking for parking options before you go as valet is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family Tr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights after spending time in DC and Virginia. I called the hotel on my way up and said that we will be taking light rail from Penn Station to the hotel and asked what stop we should get off at. The person I spoke with told me the stop, but neglected to tell me that the light rail was not running because of the Grand Prix.

We arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a staff member -- there seemed to always be someone by the door outside. The front desk staff was not rude, but not friendly either. Whenever we asked someone at the front desk a question, they were polite but acted like we had interrupted them from doing something important.

The hotel itself was clean and pleasant. Our room was spacious -- we had a living room and a seperate bedroom. I wasn't crazy about the bathroom setup -- the sink was outside of the bathroom and was kind of in the bedroom area. We could hear the Grand Prix from our room but did not hear other street noise.

On our first full day in Baltimore, we came back to our room at about 4:00 p.m to find that housekeeping had not made up our room. We had our do not disturb sign on until about 10:30 a.m., but took it off around that time when we left for the day. We were irritated but didn't do anything about it. At about 4:30, housekeeping knocked on our door and asked if they could make up the room. At that point, we had been out all day and just wanted to relax, so we told them no and just asked for more towels. I thought this was poor service -- I stay at a lot of hotels and typically rooms are made up in the late morning or early afternoon when most guests are out.

The location of the hotel is nice. It is a very short walk to the Inner Harbor and Power Plant Live. You can also walk to Harbor East. I believe that public transportation is available around the hotel, but it's hard for me to speak definitively because a lot of the routes were screwed up for the Grand Prix.

The breakfast was above average with a lot of hot and cold options. There was plenty of seating in the breakfast room. The bar "17 Light" had great drink specials. The staff at the bar/restaurant was similar to the front desk staff -- not rude, but not friendly either.

The fitness center was ok -- the machines were pretty modern and had an iPod/iPhone dock. The wifi worked well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melhojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything is excellent here....service, cleanliness, rooms are huge and spacious, complimentary breakfast every morning that's delicious, location, everything is a quick walk. We will always stay here when we visit Baltimore!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a family trip to Baltimore -- we chose a two bedroom suite -- very reasonably priced, spacious, two bathrooms, and a small kitchen. The hotel was very clean, the free breakfast was excellent, and the employees of the hotel were all very friendly. Not the most romantic spot for couples, but perfect for families looking for a clean nice location that is walking distance to the harbor and Baltimore attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, as the city is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel under my platinum Elite membership, and it was perfect. They upgraded me to a large room with a pleasant view of downtown. The concierge suit was well maintained. 2 of the 3 evenings they left a bag of goodies at my bedside. The hotel was across the street from the conventions center, near a conference I had gone to.
A few hairs on the floor of the bathroom that weren't mine, but I was too preoccupied with the huge room to care much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Checked into the Residence Inn Inner Harbor for a mini family reunion, was immediately greated at the curb by a smiling helpful doorman and the service got better from there. We were very early for check in and the front desk went out of their way to have a room ready for us so early. We reserved a two bedrom suite which was perfect for my husband and I and two grown sons. Bedrooms were seperated by living space with a full kitchen and each had it's own bath. Really great location two blocks from the inner harbor and it has a really good restaurant and bar in the lobby. We ate dinner there one night and the boys could not stop raving about the food. Nice to come back to also and have a night cap before taking an elevator home!.. We slept in for breakfast the first day and there was a dunkin donuts next door where we could buy something cheap and bring it up to the room for two sleeping adolescents . Did make it for breakfast during our stay and the breakfast was perfect with sausage, eggs, make your own waffles, bagels all included in the price of the room. Great hotel, service and value.

Room Tip: Very spacious rooms and all sizes, studios, one bedroom and two bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is Baltimore, Maryland's premier, downtown all-suite hotel. Our hotel's Inner Harbor Baltimore, MD location is perfect for travelers visiting the city for work or leisure. We offer 188 studio, one, and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is the ideal choice among Baltimore hotels near Inner Harbor for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month, or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center and the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure guests can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront. Our hotel is situated perfectly for you to experience all of the best that Baltimore has to offer. If you are a sports enthusiasts, you may want to pre-game at our 17 Light on-site restaurant and lounge. Our guests love the fact that Oriole Park at Camden Yards is close by, and M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are within walking distance of our accommodations. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/ Inner Harbor is an excellent choice if you are planning a meeting or a group event as well. Our hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space, which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Should you want to eat at our hotel, our on-site restaurant and lounge is open for lunch and dinner, and for room service during limited hours. Our restaurant also features happy hour specials Monday through Friday. We invite you to come replenish in our hotel after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine as well as some Baltimore favorites too. Kick back, relax, and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail before taking the elevator home to your room. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge and stay in our Baltimore accommodations! We offer easy access to Baltimore’s top medical facilities, and Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers provide our guests with complimentary shuttle service to and from our hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also convenient to our accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing