We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for extended or short stays, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Recently stayed here for 2 weeks and had an overall excellent experience.

Location: Excellent. The hotel is 2 blocks from the bustling center of activity in the Inner Harbor (near the USS Constellation) and a block from the Charles Center Metro Subway stop (exit Calvert Street). There's a supermarket 3 blocks away (north) on Charles Street, a pharmacy half a block away, a convenience store across the street.

Room: Very good. The 1 bedroom studio was very comfortable and clean with modern amenities including two LCD TVs and a kitchen with stove, full size refrigerator with ice maker, dishwasher and a full set of dishware for four, and pots/pans and covered storage containers. There is a small dining table with chairs for two. I cooked on most nights and cleaned up but found that housekeeping was very attentive, sometimes even running my few remaining dishes and my through the dishwasher for me.
The workspace was adequate with a full table next to electrical outlets and the room had both wired and wireless connections (included in the room charge as usual for Residence Inn). Internet speed was a little slow averaging around 0.5 Mbps downstream.
The bed was a little soft for my taste and wasn't the full luxurious bedding offered at the flagship Marriott hotels, but otherwise was comfortable. There was generous closet space and separate sink from the toilet and shower/bath.

Bar/Restaurant: There is a small, pleasant bar/restaurant downstairs that offers specials on many nights of the week. I enjoyed a burger and sweet potato tots that were very good.
Breakfast was offered (also included in room rate) in a separate downstairs area that sometimes became crowded at peak times. The selections were quite varied with scrambled eggs, a breakfast meat, some type of potatoes and another hot item (sometimes breakfast sandwiches, etc), a variety of yogurts, breads, and two DIY waffle makers. Apple, orange, and cranberry juice cocktail were all available. There was ample coffee in the breakfast area as well as coffee and hot water available 24 hours near the elevators. Awesome! Staff at the restaurants were very friendly and welcoming.

Other amenities: Laundry room offered an ample number of modern front load washers and powerful dryers (able to dry two average sized wash loads in one machine on a single cycle). Quarters and detergent are available at the front desk for purchase.
The exercise room was small but available 24 hours and had modern treadmills with individual TVs and a small selection of dumb bell free weights. Business center/library offers free laser printing.

Safety: The hotel felt very safe and there were usually two door men present at the main entrance at all hours. The area immediately around the hotel also seemed fairly safe.

Overall, this is a very good hotel in an excellent location. I will stay here again for both business and pleasure and would gladly bring my family.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may experience less noise from the occasional ambulance/police/fire sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank run2sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 691 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

Excellent stay, 4 rooms, trade show week at Baltimore convention center. Hotel is in great shape, staff is friendly and helpful. It's really nice having a bar/restaurant in this hotel. Rooms are large and comfortable. Excellent security (needed in downtown Baltimore). Good cab service. Nice fitness room. Only one minor issue. The shampoo/conditioner that is normally replaced daily in all Marriott properties was overlooked. I had to make one small shampoo container last five days... this is the second year in a row my company has stayed at this hotel in early January. We will again next year.

Room Tip: I think they're all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Nice hotel right down the street from Inner Harbor. Parking is the only problem since this is a city hotel. Breakfast was delicious and varied. Right up to the Residence Inn standards.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarletman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was my first time at this hotel, 10th time in Baltimore, so I have stayed at others in the area. It doesnt have all the bells and whistles as some of the nicer places but it was great. Nice room, (ran out of toilet paper-no spare within), nice service at front desk, good breakfast (included with stay) and helpful service. Secure as well at night with key entry into the lobby area and elevators after a certain time, so that was nice. Parking garag across the street. Had to bring bags uo ourselves, a little surprised, but overall a good stay and would stay again. Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emstraveler349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This Residence Inn is very nice. I've stayed there three times and the staff has always been incredibly helpful and friendly. The last time we stayed there, there was a convention of high school kids staying on the floor we had planned on staying on and the staff moved us to a much larger, two bedroom suite upstairs.

I also love that all the rooms have a kitchen and sitting area separate from the bedrooms. It's nice to have someplace to relax in a hotel room and to know that you don't have to go out to eat for every meal.

In addition,the gym there is very well equipped. The only complaint I have is that the one time I had to use the laundry room there, you had to use coins and it was a huge pain.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Hi,

Good basic 3-star hotel with excellent interiors, recommended more from a business conference perspective. Room space was very good with kichenette, small lounge area with sofas, bed, dresser and washroom.

No porter or in-house F&B. You have to order food from outside - the reception has menus from neighbouring restaurants. Would recommend that you carry your own microwavable food and drinks.

Decent conferencing facility for 15-20 people.

Hotel is located in a quiet area, with not too many partying options around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahuldevmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Pros: Location - Helpful friendly staff - very clean - nice in house pub - all suite hotel - extremely comfortable

Cons: Parking is problematic - A little too much street noise (sirens) - sleep timers on the TV's were inoperative

Overall a great experience on this visit. The front staff recommended a very good seafood restaurant in the"Little Italy" that actually had a free shuttle (3 minute ride). The free breakfast was one of the better ones that I have had at Residence Inn properties and the dining room staff was very attentive to both guests and availability of food and beverage.
When I say that parking was problematic, I was referring to the fact that there was only valet parking available. I prefer to park my own car so that I can have it available immediately whenever I want it. That being said, other reviewers have indicated that the valet response is very timely. In addition to having a fine pub/bar in the hotel, right next door there is the Water Street Pub which offers a full menu of pub fare and more. They also have a have decent selection of beer on tap including Guinness and Yuengling. The evening manager's hors d'oeuvres get together was well attended and the food was reasonably tasty.
I would definitely use this hotel again as a base for business activities when visiting the Baltimore area. Business Center is 3 or 4 computers with printers in a really nice room right off the entrance of the hotel. No privacy in the business center and no business support activities available. Entire hotel offers high speed Wi-Fi which worked exceptionally well.

Room Tip: The higher the better as you are farther away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: $113 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is Baltimore, Maryland's premier, downtown all-suite hotel. Our hotel's Inner Harbor Baltimore, MD location is perfect for travelers visiting the city for work or leisure. We offer 188 studio, one, and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is the ideal choice among Baltimore hotels near Inner Harbor for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month, or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center and the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure guests can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront. Our hotel is situated perfectly for you to experience all of the best that Baltimore has to offer. If you are a sports enthusiasts, you may want to pre-game at our 17 Light on-site restaurant and lounge. Our guests love the fact that Oriole Park at Camden Yards is close by, and M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are within walking distance of our accommodations. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/ Inner Harbor is an excellent choice if you are planning a meeting or a group event as well. Our hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space, which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Should you want to eat at our hotel, our on-site restaurant and lounge is open for lunch and dinner, and for room service during limited hours. Our restaurant also features happy hour specials Monday through Friday. We invite you to come replenish in our hotel after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine as well as some Baltimore favorites too. Kick back, relax, and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail before taking the elevator home to your room. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge and stay in our Baltimore accommodations! We offer easy access to Baltimore’s top medical facilities, and Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers provide our guests with complimentary shuttle service to and from our hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also convenient to our accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing