We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HIstoric Wilson House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HIstoric Wilson House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

The Wilson House was very convenient to the University of Baltimore. Nearby parking was readily available. Excellent breakfast. Spacious room (W.W. suite). Comfortable parlors. It's easy to picture the setting where the politiking occurred that led to Woodrow Wilson's nomination.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnsonv98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    42
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
85
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mid-Atlantic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2006

Instead of staying with their published schedule of breakfast at 7:45 AM, Guy and Clelia got up before the sun to help us Baltimore marathoners get off to a great start with a 6:00 AM customized breakfast (requested in advance). They are great hosts. Sincerely warm, friendly, but not intrusive, and obviously very caring of their guests. Furnishings are fascinating and accomodations are spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist37712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2006

Wilson House is a wonderful B&B in the Reservoir Hill section of Baltimore. My two night stay was great, due in part to the comfortable bedroom, delicious breakfasts, and lovely living rooms with Victorian period furnishings. The hosts are very friendly and eager to help with information and services to make the stay in Baltimore pleasant.

  • Liked — Great B&B atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Cabs don't always know where this address is. Know the way home!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

Wilson house is a beautiful example of period architecture that has clearly been lovingly restored without going overboard. Guy and Clelia are hosts extraordinaire. While en route to pick my husband up at the train station and whisk him away to Wilson house I was sideswiped by another car. I called Guy and Clelia to tell them we would be late. When they tried to check in with us about an hour later and could not reach us they got worried and came looking for us!!! It was so kind of them. When we met them back at the house they greeted us with warmth and relief and handed us each a glass of wine.

Our room was lovely, the sheets and towels smelled great, and breakfast was delicious. Guy is a great story teller. If you are looking for a more authentic experience than the hoopla of the Inner Harbor I highly reccomend Wilson House.

  • Liked — the historic nature of the property
  • Tips/Secrets — get in early so you can really enjoy the setting and conversation
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

We decided to spend the last weekend before school started with our 2 kids taking in an Orioles game and then the aquarium the next day. Not being hotel people, we found the Wilson House to be the perfect alternative. Although it was 2 miles north of Inner Harbor, it was still convenient to all the major attractions and very accessible to public transportation. The house itself was big and beautiful and the suite we stayed in was more than enough room for the 4 of us. The breakfast served to us Sunday morning was absolutely delicious and the innkeeper took the time to tell us all about the house's history and give us a small tour as well. Talk about hospitality! We loved this place and would definitely come back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — clean and beautiful rooms, great breakfast
  • Disliked — not in the heart of downtown
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E.M.90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2006

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Wilson House during our anniversary.

The house is fantastic, and is still in the process of being restored by the hosts. There is more more character and history here than in any hotel costing 2-3 times as much. The rooms are very nice, and there are a number of well-appointed sitting rooms. We stayed in the Master Suite, which was luxurious, spacious, and cool, even during the tremendously hot weekend we were in Balitmore.

The service was great. The hosts were friendly, and the breakfasts were great. We enjoyed having interesting breakfast conversation with the other guests, which is something else you usually don't get at a hotel.

The drawbacks are that the house is close to a freeway, and some of the surroundings aren't as pretty as the house itself. However, we didn't notice the traffic noise once inside.

We had a car, but also took the light rail a couple of times - the station is about a 5-minute walk. The location was convenient to all the touristy stuff in Baltimore, like the Inner Harbor.

We'll likely return if we visit Baltimore again.

Helpful?
Thank gkogut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2005

My daughter and I stayed at Wilson House for 2 nights. The house itself is unusual in design. It has a split staircase going to the upper floors with sitting areas on the second and third floors. We had 2 rooms, both of which were spacious and attractively decorated, with comfortable beds. The hosts were friendly and accomodating.

However, there were some problems. The house, although located on a quiet street, overlooks a freeway. Traffic noise is quite audible day and night, at least in the rooms facing the freeway. (I don't know if any rooms face the other way.) The advertised afternoon wine and cheese never materialized. Breakfast the first morning (a weekday) was much closer to continental than to the full meal that had been promised on the b&b's website. It consisted of fruit (plentiful and beautifully presented) and a muffin, juice and coffee. The second morning, a weekend, the hosts provided a hot breakfast, but it still didn't measure up to other b&b's we've visited.

More problems: after we had arrived and settled in, we wanted to go out for the evening. But there was no one to be found to ask for recommendations and directions, and the materials available for reading on the area didn't help. After some hunting around, I finally located one of our hosts in his private study and knocked on his door. He was very accomodating with my questions and even drove us to the area he suggested, but I felt uncomfortable coming into his personal living space.

Finally, we were in town to visit Johns Hopkins University. The location of this b&b is not especially convenient to the school, or to the Inner Harbor area.

Wilson House is a pretty place but I think that if we were returning to Baltimore, we'd stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mischiefmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGT_Baltimore, owner at Wilson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2008
People who are not used to living in a city might find the low murmur of the traffic a bother, but 5 of the 8 rooms here face away from the freeway and are very quiet.
We are about a mile from Johns Hopkins University and it takes less than five minutes to get there, which is about the same time it takes to get to the Inner Harbor. If you consider 5 minutes as too far away, then you should book at one of the hotels at Hopkins or on the waterfront, but you will pay well over twice what we charge for the same accommodations. Me, I am willing to drive five minutes to save $150 a night.
Suspect others feel the same way.
Cheers,
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
The Ivy Hotel
#1 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Brexton
#28 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wilson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2100 Mount Royal Ter, Baltimore, MD 21217-4848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to historic Wilson House Bed & Breakfast, the place where Wm Jennings Bryan made the deals that gave Woodrow Wilson the presidency. Catering to vacationers and business travelers alike, this grand home is among the finest Victorian era homes in Maryland. Stop by and let our hospitable hosts show you why Wilson House was named “Best B&B in Baltimore” for 5 years in a row (2012-2015). We specialize in historic, elegant lodging at affordable prices. Wilson House, 40 rooms with ten bedrooms and baths, eight fireplaces, twin parlors, a library and den with sunroom, is uniquely decorated with numerous antiques. An elegant full breakfast is included, and guests are welcome to join us for a glass of wine and bit of cheese in the Parlor each night. Conveniently located near MICA, Penn Station (Amtrak) and the Cultural District (Opera, Symphony, Theater.) Centrally located near restaurants, movie theaters, museums, stadiums and many universities. The Light Rail is 250 yards away and offers easy access to the Inner Harbor, both ball parks, and BWI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Wilson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing