We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and educational history museum”

Reginald F. Lewis Museum
Ranked #45 of 233 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Smithsonian affiliate, the museum is Maryland's largest African American museum. Besides rotating exhibitions, enjoy live musical performances from gospel jazz to steel drums. Films in our theater have enriched audiences on the history of soul food, civil rights, and more. For families, programs like art workshops and living history bring our mission to life. Lectures and our resource center enrich what you'll find in our permanent collection. We also nourish the body with the best soul food in Baltimore at our museum cafe. Visit our website for a full calendar of events.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent and educational history museum”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

The variety of displays and multiplicity of material covered does justice to the range of African-Americans' experiences in the United States. The presentation is multi-sensory and almost overwhelming. I consider this museum one of the must-see museums in Baltimore (also AVAM and the BMA).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must in Baltimore.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of viewing the Kinsey Collection exhibit at the Reginald F. Museum in Baltimore, MD. This collection was such a comprehensive collection of historical documents, paintings and sculptures. The Kinsey's collection has been on exhibit across the country including in the Smithsonian National Museum of American History and Walt Disney World. If you ever have the opportunity to view the exhibition, take the time to see it. It is definitely worth it.

The museum is full of American history focusing on African American contributions to our great country. The African American experience in Maryland is magnificently detail in this museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovelylanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional museum”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I went with a few friends and toured with a guide/docent. The stories and explanations really made the exhibits come alive. It was a moving and rewarding experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank robbieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
982 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“Took a lot longer than I planned”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Based on the website, I knew this would be a good place to go. What I did not count on was wanting to read every single exhibit. There was a lot more written than actual "things" but all of it was good and interesting. You need to allow more than an hour for this museum. And plan to visit the gift shop also.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Maryland - Home to Frederick Douglass, site of Alex Haley's Roots”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a beautiful museum and incorporates the very rich history of Maryland's African Americans to the nation's history. Everything is covered from the Eastern Shore to the Baltimore music scene of the 50s. The farming, fishing, urban education, church scene are all addressed. The "firsts" are handled with class and, there are rotating exhibits. One such exhibit focused on the Jews fleeing the holocaust who ended up teaching at historically Black colleges-including Einstein at Lincoln University--who knew? Reginald Lewis of Beatrice Foods is a Baltimore native, and he would have been proud of this contribution to the Baltimore "must see" list.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Del P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reginald F. Lewis Museum also viewed

 

Been to Reginald F. Lewis Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing