We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food & Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Olive

The Black Olive
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Olive is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #180 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Cross street: Shakespeare
Description: A classic Greek Psarotaverna (fish tavern) set in the charming Fell's Point historic district since 1997. Serving world class seafood and Greek specialties using the finest organic ingredients. Specializing in whole fish filleted table side. Extensive wine list selections and private wine cellar dining to complement the bold flavors of Executive chef Pauline Spiliadis who bakes the best bread daily. You will be transformed from the cobblestone streets of one of America's first seaports to a a Greek island. The tender octopus and the grilled stuffed calamari have developed a cult like following. It is clear that the special relationships with the world of winemakers brings selections that are not found many places in the world. The first to introduce farm to table and organic ingredients to Baltimore. Serving lunch and dinner daily.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Black Olive is located right in the heart of Fell's Point, a fun market area right on the water. The food is great. They give a 'tour' of the fish they are serving for the evening which is neat to see! I recommend the stuffed calamari appetizer. One member of our party had to leave soon after arriving and when told the situation, the entire staff made sure we received apps quickly so he could enjoy before leaving. Very fun spot!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cwark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    79
    24
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A bit overated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Not as good as the reviews. Food was ok. Service was good and atmosphere was very nice but for the money it was not a great value.
There are better choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davey385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great seafood & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Excellent selection of fresh, local seafood. Seafood is simply prepared with the proper amount of seasoning so that you can still taste the fish. Service was courteous and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clyde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“My favorite let me down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

First I have to say that this is my favorite restaurant in Baltimore. Our group went last night at my request. The food is, as always, delicious. Fantastic fish, delicious lamb chops, great appetizers.....
But our wonderful evening was somewhat spoiled by a bad experience with the "manager". While we were eating dessert, and before we had been served our (multi-times requested ) coffee, the manager threw the check on the table and said---"I am giving you the check because we need this table." We were actually stunned into silence.

After a few more minutes, he came over again and said " you have to leave now---I need this table". Shocked again--then he came back and offered us some dessert wine if we would
move to another table. By this time,it was too late, as he had already embarrassed and offended us.
It is this simple---if he had come over and said---we have a problem, could you mind helping us, and we would really appreciate it if you could move--we would have done so immediately.
Flinging the check on the table and demanding just doesn't do it.
It is a shame that such a wonderful restaurant would let something like this happen.
Thanks to Neil and Micki, our servers, who tried to smooth things over!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PikesvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous Seafood and Gluten-free Crabcakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

After reading the reviews I was initially reluctant to have dinner here, but I am glad we did. The seafood soup was probably the best soup I have ever had, and the crab cakes were perfect and gluten and filler free. That is extremely difficult to find in a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Olive also viewed

 
Baltimore, MD
 

Been to The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing