We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent experience”
Review of The Black Olive

The Black Olive
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Olive is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #201 of 2,026 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Cross street: Shakespeare
Description: A classic Greek Psarotaverna (fish tavern) set in the charming Fell's Point historic district since 1997. Serving world class seafood and Greek specialties using the finest organic ingredients. Specializing in whole fish filleted table side. Extensive wine list selections and private wine cellar dining to complement the bold flavors of Executive chef Pauline Spiliadis who bakes the best bread daily. You will be transformed from the cobblestone streets of one of America's first seaports to a a Greek island. The tender octopus and the grilled stuffed calamari have developed a cult like following. It is clear that the special relationships with the world of winemakers brings selections that are not found many places in the world. The first to introduce farm to table and organic ingredients to Baltimore. Serving lunch and dinner daily.
Townsville
1 review
“Excellent food, excellent experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Based on trip advisor ratings my wife and 5 year old son went to the Black Olive for dinner. Nancy the server was very attentive, knew the menu inside out and went out of her way to look after Jordan our son.

The owner went around every table and spoke to all his customers, thanking them for coming. Jordan can be a bit fussy on food but the owner went to the kitchen and came back with a lovely fruit platter for him which he tucked in to.

Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Baltimore

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoffyTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    82
    25
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“First rate restaurant”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This restaurant is in the Fells Point section of Baltimore, a little off the main drag. It is expensive but worth every penny.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pp21401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant Coasting on its Rep....Beware the $10 Valet Fee”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Black Olive has been a special occasion favorite for a long time. At $30+ for entrees, it's hard on the wallet. The food is all organic. Our wine was a glass of Santorini white, and it was excellent. Our food choices were excellent. We had two appetizers, Stuffed calamari on the Grill and Melitzana (grilled eggplant, garlic, blasamic vineragr, and olive oil). We both chose the wonderful Kakavia soup, a concotion of red snapper, lobster, mussels, shrimp and clams. Desert was a flourless chocolate cake, good but not exceptional. Service was attentive. I have one gripe, but it is a big one....$10 valet parking. Around the corner in Fells Point, it is $5. This is inexcusable. It may be a long, long while before we return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockyTopEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orlenas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh fish!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

WE enjoyed delicious grilled octopus salad, crab cakes and fresh whole Mediterranean sea bass and scallops which were well cooked and served. The service was a little slow but the food was very good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cd3803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dover Sole”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband wanted dover sole. I called several restaurants but no one was serving this fish. The Black Olive was recommended by another restaurant. Their preparation of the sole was excellent! My selection was grilled and both were deboned at the table. The grilled calamari and the avocado salad were wonderful, as well. Nice service and lovely restaurant. We also enjoyed the martinis, wine and dessert. Valet parking was very convenient. Will definitely go back and bring friends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Olive also viewed

 

Been to The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing