We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delish Dinner with a View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rusty Scupper

Rusty Scupper
Reserve with OpenTable
Rusty Scupper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Water Taxi Stop
Description: When in Baltimore enjoy the city's freshest seafood along with Inner Harbor's best view. The Rusty Scupper offers a tempting array of local seafood specialties from Maryland Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes to pan-seared Rockfish with Lobster. You can also enjoy classic dishes such as Beef Tenderloin & Grilled Atlantic Salmon, all served in a spectacular waterfront setting.
chagrin falls
Level Contributor
254 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Delish Dinner with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Debated about going here since reviews were a mixed bag, but glad we went. Arrived at 5.30, when sun just setting. Given a perfect table overlooking the harbor. Restaurant dimly lit with understated nautical theme. Initially, there was quiet vibe, but the noise level picked up as patrons arrived and the pianist began his set. Varied seafood choices and other items for non-seafood lovers. I ordered the prix fixe menu (soup or salad, select entrees and dessert for $38). I selected the Maryland crab soup (red based), which the server said was a house specialty. Mildy spicy with a couple of large bits of crab. Entree was crab stuffed shrimp (5), served with veg du jour (green beans) and mashed herb potatoes. Very tasty. My husband selected the field green salad with pear and candied walnuts in a toasted onion vinagerette ($8). Salad also came with goat cheese but my husband asked to omit. No problems with having dairy-free meal (unlike previous poster). Server was accomodating. My husband had applewood bacon wrapped trout with green beans and fries ($24). He raved about the trout. Good selection of wines by glass and bottle. Bread was fabulous and they serve it with this spicy aoli - OMG so good! I had key lime pie for dessert. Not the best ever (light on the key lime) - but nice cap to the meal. Would recommend if looking for good seafood meal overlooking harbor. Accomodates small and large groups. By the time we left, almost every table was full - looked like the type of place people go to celebrate - lots of multi generational tables. If looking for quiet spot, ask for table overlooking water to the immediate left of the hostess stand. A romantic little nook out of the hustle and bustle of the main restaurant.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank islandjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    454
    183
    77
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Spectacular view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a birthday party for our Dad at lunchtime. The room was great, waitstaff very good and the view was unbelievable! The food was only OK. I had the crab cake. The cake was smallish. It was served with green beans. They were both pretty good, just not great.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank augustamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“special evening meal/view/service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I'm a CA resident, was in Baltimore/Inner Harbor area for business, which gave me a chance to have dinner with a family member who lives in DC...I turned to Trip Adviser and Yelp for restaurant reviews and chose the Rusty Scupper based on mostly strong reviews. GREAT CHOICE! First, if you are staying at an Inner Harbor area hotel, the Rusty Scupper has a shuttle arrangement (free/tips welcomed of course) and they will pick you up at your hotel in time for your reservation and they will take you back to your hotel (typical 5-15 min wait). Then there's the site: gorgeous views of Inner Harbor, especially lights at night...there are many window tables (we had one) but the windows are huge and inner tables are tiered in a way that every table is harbor view...settings are white linen classic but not stuffy; attire and attitude of patrons ranged from nice casual to cocktail/somewhat dressy; wait service was immediate, personable, knowledgeable about the food (we were unfamiliar with some Atlantic seafood preparations), and he anticipated when we might want attention but didn't "hover" and we were never rushed in any way (we were seated at 6:15, left at 8:30) Fresh seafood was outstanding: we had the "chilled" fresh seafood platter to start...both oysters and shrimp were as fresh as possible/best I've had of either recently and I'm a fan of both, crab claw was sweet. Then the perfect crab bisque: plenty of crab in delicately balanced blend of cream, broth, sherry.
Entrees we chose were more basic items (grilled rock fish and crab cakes) but again the quality of the seafood in both made them outstanding: fresh, good cuts/pieces, and good-sized portions, set off with fresh green beans and country mashed potatoes. Dessert we shared two: the "chocolate indulgence" is a very dark "lava cake" style dessert, intensely chocolate but not unduly rich...and the special Maryland cake (can't remember the name of it but it is stated as a Maryland classic on the menu) is a hearty slice of a very moist golden cake with a thick but not overly sweet medium chocolate fudge frosting...like the best of homemade birthday cakes. And the price for all was very fair: all the above for two plus two glasses of a nice sauvignon blanc = $124 bottomline. Highly recommend and if we are ever back in Inner Harbor again, we will not miss the chance for another evening at the Rusty Scupper

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spasungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eh.....View is great, not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

My hubby and I ate at the Rusty Scupper for dinner in October. The food was average.....I tried the cream of crab soup, which was, unfortunately, full of crab shell. Dinner was average, I had a crab cake and stuffed shrimp....my hubby tried the salmon. The roasted red pepper dipping sauce that came out with the bread was very good though. Not sure if we got them on an off night, but it seemed more dine and dash over a dining experience. They do have a courtesy shuttle to take you back to the hotels in the inner harbor area which was very nice!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TAD913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Delicious - And With A View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

The hotel concierge warned us that this restaurant was "touristy" and that the food wasn't very good. She was wrong on both counts. The restaurant looked closed (or empty) as we approached at about 8 PM, but was quite busy when we went to the second floor.

Her Ladyship and I had four appetizers -- fresh Maryland oysters, crab cakes, calamari, and a Caesar salad. All were delicious, and our waitress was friendly and efficient.

We had a great dinner -- at a very affordable price -- with a table overlooking the harbor. In our experience this restaurant is definitely worth a visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Scupper also viewed

 

Been to Rusty Scupper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing