We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibilities”

Pierpoint Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Pierpoint Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #684 of 2,016 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Possibilities”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great menu, most of our entrees were really good-there was one really overcooked steak-otherwise great flavors, as well as plating of the food. Staff was wonderful! Chef Longo just needs to bring this restaurant into the present; it is a little stuck in the past. Paint, redecorate, and find reliable parking. This place is too much of a gem for Baltimore to lose it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duckybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Odd experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We thought we would try Pierpoint on a Saturday evening. Our reservation was for 7:30; we were the only people dining the entire time. The place is in serious need of an update and appeared dirty. The ceiling has lots of brown spots on the white tiles and there is a very strong fried greasy odor to the place. There was a fruit fly around our table and the bathroom was very dirty appearing. The toilet had several flies on the seat! The hostess/waitress was very friendly and polite and told us the place is NEVER empty during a weekend night. The squash soup was fabulous. Our entrees were good (red snapper) but could have been warmer (cold potato wedges and green beans). My husband enjoyed the smoked crabcake but the brussel sprout slaw was odd. We did not have dessert or coffee. We had wine. Total bill $120. We don't plan on going again given the filthy appearance, the bugs and the the weird atomosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant in Fells Point”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Pierpoint is a small, intimate place with a great neighborhood feel. The food was excellent. Our table ordered the diver scallops, sea bass, and both the plain and smoked crab cakes. All were outstanding with ample portions. The prices were on the high side but the quality if the food justified the cost. Will definitely return to Pierpoint in the near future.




l food

Helpful?
1 Thank BarringtonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb preparation”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I am not a chef-obsesses foodie, but I travel on business 200 nights a year, so I am no stranger to fine dining. No matter where I go, a standard of excellence is Pierpoint, two blocks from my house in Fell's Point, Baltimore oldest (and still most interesting) neighborhood.

Owner/operator Nancy Longo has a reputation that far transcends Baltimore, and she has never steered me wrong.

First, I have long been a Chesapeake Bay purist about crab meat (the Chesapeake Bay produces more "beautiful swimmers" than any place in the world), so I struggled at first with the thought of a "smoked" crabcake. Forget tradition; either have a single smoked crabcake as an appetizer, or order the dual crabcake entrée, with one smoked and one in classic style.

All seafood in this cozy place (there might be ten tables in this old townhouse) is superb: fresh, prepared well, and delicious.

Yes, the service can appear spotty to the un-initiated, but that's part of the considerable appeal of us Fell's Point lovers: a bit quirky, sometimes weird, but always stimulating, and always a delight of eating.

Don't hesitate to engage Chef Nancy Longo in conversation, but really be prepared for an extraordinarily direct answer, if you ask about politics. If you are really lucky, Miss Ashlie will wait on you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BubastisSultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went here with a coupon (2 for 1 entree) to try in out. We came in a little before 6 and no one was there. The decor was dated and the bar looked like part office. But the owner and waitress were very friendly. The wines by the glass were all $8-9 which is typical but the selection was limited. We ordered vodka tonics which at $8 seemed pricey for a plain drink. I had the cioppino which was OK but no pasta and the scallops had an odd flavor. Bread was really good though, as were the side of veggies (carrots, snow peas, etc.). My wife had the scallops which were large and cooked well but the flavoring was a bit strange. The total (with $22 for the coupon came to about $50 before tips, typical for this area but seemed high for this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierpoint Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pierpoint Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing