We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Fish Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roy's Baltimore

Roy's Baltimore
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Baltimore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 2,006 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Hawaiian, American, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Cross street: President Street
Transit: MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Fish Experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My daughter finally outgrew her fish allergy and tasted the black cod at Roy's. Unfortunately we had to break the news that all fish does not taste as amazing as the cod. We were very discreet and only ordered one molten lava cake for dessert for three of us - another reason to go to Roy's - its cake is better than others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank erednew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    152
    57
    26
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, MD
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Friends recommended Roy's...so we decided to give it a try for our 40th anniversary dinner.
We could not have been more pleased. We were warmly welcomed...and service was superb throughout. we enjoyed fantastic Mai Tai cocktails, appetizers of sushi and lobster potstickers., Roy's fish trio for dinner...molton chocolate lava souffle for dessert...a perfect sparkling moscato as a dessert wine. They even took a picture and presented it to us !
A lovely evening...can't wait to go back...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiniAbingdonMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Fortunately we had been forewarned to make a reservation because the place was packed. Our table was decorated with streamers and a personalized birthday card - very nice touch. We tried selections from every course and from land and sea and we were all very pleased with our selections. The Parmesan encrusted hake, recommended by our engaging waiter, was especially delicious. Great evening overall!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparrows Point , MD
Level Contributor
175 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always our place to celebrate special occasions”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoy celebrating our anniversary here at Roy's. We always receive amazing service a wonderful meal and that special little picture they take and present to us as a memory of our evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious Delights!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I made the reservation at Roy’s before arriving in Baltimore based on a few exceptional reviews on another site. Although it was jumping that Saturday night—as it is every Saturday night, according to our waiter—and we had to wait in the busy bar before being seated—with only one barstool available—we were actually served immediately! A big plus in my opinion. At the table, we were so intrigued by the appetizer menu that we decided to forgo the entrees in favor of ordering lots of appetizers. Everything we ordered was outstanding from the pot stickers, to the Lakanilau sushi roll to the Crab Pretzel—my favorite!—to the Sweet & Sour Crisped Calamari. We topped it off by sharing the Bread Pudding (a la mode) desert! Scrumptious! We’ll definitely return the next time we visit Baltimore.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Baltimore also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing