We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I had high hopes”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Magerk's Pub

Magerk's Pub
Ranked #643 of 2,006 Restaurants in Baltimore
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“I had high hopes”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went here for an early lunch and really wanted to like this place. I got a beer and the grilled chicken tenders. They looked boiled, not grilled, they were very dry and cold in the center. I just gtot a refund and left. Good service!

I am not a picky eater, but this really turned me off. I will go back for a second try later

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AudiConvS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
206 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“GREAT BARTENDER!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

hung out saturday afternoon , Novemeber 3rd,to watch football...11 of us from Philly were hanging out in a Baltimore Philly bar...The bartender was amazing. She covered the whole bar and all the tables in the bar...pretty crowded but she was on it the whole time...food was good, drinks were good. great experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent care during a hectic lunch”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had to leave this review about our dining/drinking experience on a busy Saturday morning of the Liverpool/Tottenham futbol fixture. The gentelman bartender went out of his way to tend to our table even though the Pub wasn't quite ready for the influx/overflow of people from the supporter's bar down the street. The food was excellent, when my fiance's eyes were larger than her stomach on ordering, he suggested that we would not be able to eat all of the food, which was much appreciated honesty. And he was right. Cold beers, reasonably priced food. Would definitely go back when we return. Thanks!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great cheesesteaks”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Best Cheesesteaks outside of Philly...try the pizza cheesesteak with pepperoni for something different. Also great finger foods and sushi.

Great place to watch a game and always plenty of Philly and Baltimore fans.

Food and drinks prices are pretty cheap

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly-Lexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“If you can't get to Philly...”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Magerk's is a superb stand-in. The 9th and Passyunk cheesesteak at Magerk's will fill that craving for the real deal if you can't make it up to Philly. And no pressure to order properly in the 3-word format.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sollycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magerk's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Magerk's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing