We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Mexican”
Review of Don Pablo's

Don Pablo's
Ranked #860 of 2,037 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mediocre Mexican”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went for the Tuesday special: all-you-can-eat tacos for $7. The expansive decor wowed me, but the food certainly didn't. At a time when so many Mexican restaurants make delicious homemade salsas with chunks of fresh vegetables, Don Pablo's was a throwback to the bland stuff that comes out of a jar and looks like ketchup. The tacos didn't taste well spiced either. On the plus side, the prices were good, and it looks like a fun place to socialize with friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelnutandlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    17
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Dan Pablos is a bit on the noisey side but they have great food. There is a small bar area and a large open dining room. They have nightly specials several evenings a week. Tuesday is the "all you can eat tacos (chicken or beef) which is the night we usually go. They have a good taco salad. I am not a rice or bean eater so I always ask for those staples to be substituted for something else and they are very accomodating.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank duckiebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun, good value”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I'm always a little leery of Mexican restaurants as they so little resemble the food I loved while living in Mexico. Nevertheless, Don Pablo's does a pretty good job, given that many authentic Mexican ingredients are unavailable in the U.S. Portions were a good size, not overwhelming, and not covered in too much gooey cheese. The food was flavorful, especially the tamales which were particularly authentic. Service was great! Very good atmosphere. Really enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cadbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc ut
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

When you see them making the tortillas fresh, your in the right place. I have eaten here several times and its always good. They have a different special every night for under $10.00. Great place to get quality food everytime. It's always busy but seem to get you in. Small outdoor seating area, nothing to brag about. Inside is busy but very open feel. Bar area also nice to sit down and no waiting.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationsamany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“meh”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Now I know why all Don Pablos closed in my hometown. Food is marginal at best (I had fish tacos,, which smelled a little "fishy")... top shelf margs were good, I had two, but they could have used another shot of tequilla.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Don Pablo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing