We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shucks, the oysters are gone!”
Review of Ryleigh's Oyster

Ryleigh's Oyster
Ranked #119 of 2,039 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Description: With locations in Historic Federal Hill and Padonia Road in Hunt Valley, Ryleigh's Oyster specializes in only the freshest seafood, meats, poultry and produce. Combining excellent service in a relaxed but vibrant Oyster Bar atmosphere, Ryleigh's Oyster has become recognized as one of the Nation's and Baltimore's best.
Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Shucks, the oysters are gone!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We happened to stop in during happy hour. The 1$ an oyster specials were awesome. 6 dozen oysters were devoured. We had several local varieties and enjoyed them tremendously. During a great happy hour like this you would expect slower service, however they kept the oysters coming at a quick pace. The music was a great mix of enjoyable tunes. We will return to this great find on months with "R"!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndBmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    70
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently amazing”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Everything here is amazing; seriously. Although parking is tricky, we ride down on our motorcycle each summer and enjoy delicate raw oysters from the west coast, a cold beer and a few of their delicious appetizers. Their sandwiches are top notch and the service is great too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baltimorejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty Oysters!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Small place relatively close to Baltimore's harbor area. Fresh "dollar oysters" available during the weekdays (evening only). Their "Crab and Lobster Mac & Cheese" is just delicious!. Nice place to eat and have some drinks with friends while in Baltimore.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PPG_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley NJ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great selection of food, great atmosphere and great service”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a great place to eat and have some fun in Baltimore. It looks a bit like an english pub. Has a great selection of seafood and oysters and they serve them correctly with all the fixins. Had the fish taco's and loved them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimLongValleyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everything was Great...But The Crab Cakes”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel recommended this spot as a great place for a crab cake dinner. My hubby and I loved the outdoor seating area and the general laid back, casual atmosphere. Service was good and friendly. Cocktails were well prepared with generous amounts of liquor. I had oysters on the half shell which were sweet and melt in your mouth delicious. My hubby had the calamari as an appetizer. Again this was superb-- nicely breaded and not chewy. So, by the time our main course of crab cakes came, our mouths were set for gastronomical utopia. Boy...We were disappointed. While nice in size, the crab cakes had no seasoning. Not even Old Bay. They were moist and you could see the lump crab meat but basically they were tasteless. What a let down.

We will return to this nice restaurant but will avoid the crab cakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryleigh's Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing