We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service, Great food! A New B'More Favorite!”
Review of Ryleigh's Oyster

Ryleigh's Oyster
Ranked #119 of 2,037 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Description: With locations in Historic Federal Hill and Padonia Road in Hunt Valley, Ryleigh's Oyster specializes in only the freshest seafood, meats, poultry and produce. Combining excellent service in a relaxed but vibrant Oyster Bar atmosphere, Ryleigh's Oyster has become recognized as one of the Nation's and Baltimore's best.
silver spring, md
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Great food! A New B'More Favorite!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Attractive bar and dining area in the heart of Federal Hill. Food is quite good and a good value - as is the alcohol. The jambalaya, scallops, fish and chips, crabcake and oysters were excellent. Beer selection is good, and they also offer three different oyster shooters.
They let us make a reservation for 8 people because we were a larger party celebrating a birthday. Unlike many restaurants, they allowed us to bring in our own cake, stored it for us, and brought out plates, forks and napkins for us at no extra charge!
Location is convenient to the Inner Harbor, and just a couple of blocks from "federal hill", the Visionary Art Museum, and right next door to the Cross Street Market.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank citygirl4evah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    70
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Was walking around looking for a restaurant. Stopped a couple of locals and asked them where they would recommend we eat dinner. They pointed us to Ryleigh's.

The place was packed and we had to wait 20+ minutes at the bar, which was OK since we were not in a hurry. This is more of a sport's bar and not some fancy dinner restaurant.

While the ambiance was not great and the service was just OK, the food and energy in this place was great. I would highly recommend Ryleigh's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ABC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
1,037 reviews
790 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Absolutely superb!

Obviously, you can't miss out on the $1 raw oyster bar for happy hour. But, man! The other stuff here is amazing too!

The cast-iron crab pot is, hands down, the most delicious crab dip in Baltimore. The pound o' mussels are also the largest quality mussels I've had. I swear most other places serve mussels where the circumference and thickness of the meat is only half that of Ryleigh's. In addition, the pork belly with the mussels is a genius recipe. The cream of crab is rich and tasty and the crab cake sandwich is great. HOWEVER, the lobster roll is to die for. I was speechless after one bite of that goodness.

Prices here are comparatively reasonable and on the more inexpensive end. Definitely a great place to bring visiting friends and family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must do while in Baltimore!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place was "highly" recommended to us by our friends. We were visiting the inner harbor and made our way to Ryleigh's. The food, service and atmosphere is great. The oysters were fresh and the pretzels covered in crab is a must! Close to the inner harbor as well as Camden Yards. The kids even had a great time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Fun for Oysters and Beer”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stopped by here for Happy Hour and enjoyed a plate of three different types of $1 oysters paired with Flat Tire beer. Heaven! Tried their mussels too which were tasty and ample. If you are looking for a laidback atmosphere, good service, a diverse beer selection on tap and fresh seafood, this is an excellent choice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janiewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryleigh's Oyster also viewed

 

Been to Ryleigh's Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing